We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the ABSOLUTE BEST burger in Texas!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix Saloon

Phoenix Saloon
Ranked #24 of 260 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
the woodlands, tx
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the ABSOLUTE BEST burger in Texas!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My fiance' and I have been actively searching for the BEST BURGER in Texas. And we've eaten SOME GREAT BURGERS. But hands down - the Phoenix Saloon's blue cheese burger is THE BEST!! They even beat out Austin's Hopdoddy's (which is considered a gourmet burger joint). We went twice. First time on April Fool's day. Mario, the bartender on duty was warm, friendly and super knowledgeable about his brew. My sweetheart hails from Yorkshire and was delighted to see Newcastle Brown Ale on tap. We had great fun pranking the day's chef. Peach cobbler with blue bell ice cream ------ Sigh. We stopped in on our way back to Houston for one last meal. Would love to visit on a busy night with music. A great place with the feel of a pub - in New Braunfels !!!?!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ksareyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    45
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have to stop here EVERYTIME we're in town!! LOVE the blue cheese & the white collar burger! Husband loves the chili - double at it's best. Beware of anything hotter! I warned you!! :)
Family friendly during the day. Haven't been at night but, thank you for not smoking!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyJoJo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
146 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great building - better for beer and music than food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Lots of history in this building in downtown New Braunfels.

Great beer selection. Typical pub grub.

They claim their chili wins awards - not from this chili head.

I recommend eating elsewhere & coming here for the weekend entertainment and beverages. Entertainment is top notch & rarely a cover charge. If there is a small cover charge do not let that keep you away - usually means a memorable artist is performing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Texasleaguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stopped here between Austin and San Antonio in search of a little history and we got it! Had lunch here so can't comment on the entertainment. No table service which was okay because it wasn't busy - wouldn't want to be there in a crowd with no wait staff. Food good - sweet potato fries great! The greatest thing about this place is the history - you can visualize this saloon in the roaring 20's with cowboys and barmaids.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nloughead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool place with good beer and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on a saturday for an early dinner and drinks, so cannot comment on the entertainment, but the place was really cool and we had a great experience. Lots of local beers to sample and choose from. Good menu- my grilled chicken sandwich and sweet potato fries were great and my husband got the famous chili and was not disappointed! Historical building and friendly helpful staff made it memorable.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ultrafittraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Phoenix Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing