We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME PLACE, LOVED IT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of T Bar M Camps & Retreats

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in New Braunfels
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“AWESOME PLACE, LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Although I am not 100% certain how to categorize T Bar M resort, I know how to categorize my opinion of it: It was fantastic! It is not exactly a ranch nor a resort really; it's a huge rambling expanse of land which holds guest accomodation as well as residential homes (and some of them were very plush looking houses indeed, not sure if they were rentals or if people own these houses & apartments, it was all a little mysterious. There were no clear boundaries between 'vacation' accomodation and 'residential' so we weren't sure what the setup was.) So some of the facilities are not for visitors. We were stunned by how big it is, we took a walk around the grounds and counted about 6 (more?) swimming pools, countless tennis courts, football pitches, rope swings, a putting green, swings & slides, wood climbing frames....they provide free bicycles for guests to pedal around the grounds too, how cool is that? It seemed to be a very out-doorsy place, wonderful for families. There are individual cablins as well as lodge-style rooms. It is not a dude ranch so not the kind of place to come for horse-riding etc. It is also not some sort of luxury serenity spa. It seems to be a popular place for conferences, weekend getaways, family trips, groups of kids on sports events, that sort of thing. We thought it was wonderful and the price was very reasonable.

We travelled as a couple for 2 nights and visited ew Braunfels and Gruene nearby. The grounds were full of deer and other furry friends scampering around. It is peaceful and relaxing. They serve a hot breakfast every day included in the price; we are lazy and slept in too late to sample it but apparently the food is excellent. Our room was great! Comfy beds, a nice big bath, a sizeable desk for any work that needs to be done, a fridge, large flat screen TV - what more could you ask for? Would love to return in the summer and actually swim in the pool. Thank you for a delightful stay!! We love Texas!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elise252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBar M, T Bar M Resort & Conference Team at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Elise252,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate that you took the time to let others know how much you enjoyed our property. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future!

Best Regards,

T Bar M Resort | Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    41
    26
    25
    14
See reviews for
82
15
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our organization holds meetings at T Bar M. The food is wonderful, the staff great to work with. It's a peaceful and pretty place to meet. Conference room and accommodations work well for groups of various sizes. Fun to have the gym for after hours team building activities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBar M, T Bar M Resort & Conference Team at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Gwen K,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience during your groups stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your group back in the future!

Best Regards,
T Bar M Resort & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We attended a weekend class here and when I checked on rooms online it said to call. Tried for 2 days to get a person to talk to and left messages each time. Finally talked to someone who told me they were "sold out", had to ask if they took a waiting list, gave my name, number and email and never heard back. I went online the day before the event and saw there were rooms available! I called, left messages, no response, finally booked online. Upon arrival asked if I could get the special rate they offered the group - NO, I didn't reserve soon enough (well I sure tried). Housekeeping failed to clean our room (and we paid more than the other 100 people attending), when we discovered and told front desk they said crew already gone, we asked for clean towels and coffee, upon return to room later the towels were dumped in sink (so bottom one wet) 2 coffee packs but no cups were left. On departure day asked for check out at 12 rather than 11-NO, they are a hotel and have to get ready for new guests. I sat in lobby until 5pm (cold, cloudy, windy, classrooms all occupied) and I overheard desk attendents say nobody was checking in-so they could have let me stay in the room while they cleaned ones that the 100 other attendees checked out of: Lacks customer service training! There was a computer in lobby I tried to use but desk clerks didn't know how to "get access". Guess they are so busy they don't need to make customers happy.

The kitchen and dining area staff were all friendly and effecient and the food was good. Staff at gym, pool, grounds keepers also were friendly.

Room Tip: Could hear people talking/walking in halls, baby crying. Possibly condo's and Sunday Houses woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kariesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBar M, T Bar M Resort & Conference Team at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear KarieSue,
We appreciate that you took the time to review your stay. We share in your disappointment with the service you received from our front desk staff. Your review has been sent to our General Manager so this can be investigated and the appropriate action will take place. As mentioned in our private message sent to you, we want to do everything we can to rectify your experience.
Please contact me personally should you decide to come back. We would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back and show you the service and experience we strive to give each one of our guests.
Best Regards,
Sarah Persyn
T Bar M Resort
sarah@tbarm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a great family vacation spot! We've stayed here on 3 different occasions and have thoroughly enjoyed it each time. Beautiful grounds, nice pool, great food at the outdoor grill. So much to do -- putting green, bikes, lawn games, tennis, rec center. Rates are reasonable and a full hot breakfast is included. They usually serve eggs, bacon or sausage, sometimes biscuits and gravy, sometimes waffles. It's usually all good, but I'm not a big fan of the Kolaches. Overall, a great value and a wonderful place to make fun family memories!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBar M, T Bar M Resort & Conference Team at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Jennifer A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you keep coming back year after year.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,

T Bar M Resort & Conference
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This place is a little jewel! We have boys and between the pool, sports/game center, biking, and hiking they were never bored! The Condo was very spacious, and accommodating. It does need a little updating inside the bathrooms though. The staff were very welcoming, friendly, and attentive. They had a different hot breakfast every morning! Overall it was a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmmerryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBar M, T Bar M Resort & Conference Team at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Mmmerryman,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all of our amenities we offer.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Best,

T Bar M Resort & Conference Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

It's called a resort, but they won't even check you in until 4pm, there were a few couples and all had to wait until 4. Coffee pot in the room didn't work, so I called the lobby. They said there is no room service, but I could come to the lobby for coffee. The 1 restaurant on site doesn't open until 5.
A ton of kids staying here and they were running all around the room above us, so you know how noisy that is? Rooms are dated, looks like it was built in the 70's and never updated. Very pricey for what you get.
I will never come back!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBar M, T Bar M Resort & Conference Team at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Bill B,

Thank you for submitting a review of our resort. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our guaranteed check-in is in fact 4pm which is mentioned to all of our guests when reservations are made. If the room is available earlier, we do everything we can to get our guests in sooner. During Spring Break and Summer Seasons, our Lone Star grill hours are Sunday-Thursday 5-10pm and Friday and Saturdays 11am-2pm and 5pm-midnight.
Spring Break does bring a lot of families with children and I am sorry that you had an issues with noise. If a complaint is made while the noise is occurring, we do make sure to help intervene so that everyone may enjoy their stay.

Thank you,
T Bar M Resort & Conference Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I know the owner of this resort, so this is a difficult review to write. Despite their "guaranteed" 4PM check in, we were not able to check in until after 5 PM (while we waited around). No one offered any type of apology or complimentary pass to anything. The room was clean, but overall the property needs an update. Check out was bad, with only one person at the desk to check out. That person had no understanding of prioritizing people at checkout, getting bogged down with one couple, who were not even checking out, on the charges they would receive on their bill, totally ignoring people that needed to check out for 10 minutes. Finally, I left my key and asked that they email me my bill. I was assured that would happen. Did it? NOOOOOOO! I have stayed at Newk's resort next door and its a better place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBar M, T Bar M Resort & Conference Team at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Rodarby,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your check-in and check-out experience and do apologize. Our front desk manager has been made aware of your experience and insures that this will be corrected with the staff.

Best Regards,
T Bar M Resort & Conference
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
4.6 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#23 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#1 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
5.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#6 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
6.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
6.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#10 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T Bar M Camps & Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T Bar M Camps & Retreats

Property: T Bar M Camps & Retreats
Address: 2549 W State Highway 46, New Braunfels, TX 78132-4731
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — T Bar M Camps & Retreats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T Bar M Camps & Retreats has a total of 74 country inn lodge rooms and 6 bungalows. The lodge consists of 34 rooms with two double beds, 34 rooms with two queen beds, and 6 rooms with one king bed. To compliment the lodge, the 6 bungalows all have one queen bed and a private porch for relaxing on your own set of rocking chairs. All of our lodge rooms have free wi-fi, iPod/iPhone docking stations or MP3 players, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, four cup coffee pot with Starbucks coffee, ironing boards with irons, cable television, free local and room to room calls, mini-refrigerators, and combination safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your T Bar M Camps & Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Bar m Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing