We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Place for the Price, Rooms are Not so clean nor Up to Date”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
Baytown, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average Place for the Price, Rooms are Not so clean nor Up to Date”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I brought my 3 children the week of 4th of July. I was expecting a lot more activities for the kids to do, they are 15, 15, and 12. All for them to do was watch a nightly cartoon movie and play in the activity center for a little while. Most of the resort is closed off for the camps only, so that was a little disappointing. The resturants are not open during the week, and when trying to get food one night the staff was rude stating they were closing early and we needed to hurry and order. The toilet in my hotel room was broken and I had to fix it several times. The kids wanted to play baseball, but no-one on the property could find any bats. Although the grounds are beautiful, and the deer are pleasant to look at, the next time I would rather just stay at a hotel with a pool for the same price and cleaner rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBar M, Public Relations Manager at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear cmclain, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we always appreciate feedback. We greatly apologize there was a misunderstanding regarding our two properties. While they sit side by side, our Resort and Conference Center is a separate property than our Camp property and we do our best to make no advertisements that our Camp property is available to our Resort guests. Your review has been handed over to the head of our Management to insure all issues notated are resolved immediately.

We strive to make each guests experience enjoyable and would be honored to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel so we can show you the customer service that we are known for.

We hope to serve you in the future again,

T Bar M Resort | Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    43
    27
    25
    14
See reviews for
83
15
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, TX
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I agree with the other reviewers, this was a great choice for a family of seven! We were in a 2 bedroom condo which was very comfortable. The condo was stocked with plenty of linens and everything we needed in the kitchen. The coffee pots (2!) didn't work and the management wasn't able to help, but on the third day my Father in law joined us and was able to fix one. There are a lot of deer on the property and the kids LOVED that they would come so close to our condo. We fed the deer some lettuce the first night we got there, and the next morning when we opened our condo door, the deer were back! There are two pools and we were given a key to the closest one, but the key didn't work so we had a child hop the fence and let us in to the pool (the front office was far away from our condo!) This is very close to Schlitterbahn and for the price, we couldn't beat it. Especially being able to cook a simple dinner each night in the condo! Breakfast was included every morning and although we were too tired to take advantage of it, there was a family friendly movie outside each night. Breakfast was simple: coffee, juice, two cereal options, eggs, one breakfast meat (sausage), muffins... but it was good enough! Breakfast is served outside which the kids really enjoyed. One morning summer camp got out and it was really confusing as there were a ton of people there - they knew what they were doing so they didn't bother us - it was just strange to see so many people on the grounds! Other than that it was a very quiet, peaceful, wonderful place to stay. I recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTrainer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBar M, Public Relations Manager at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear LTrainer77,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and would consider returning. We apologize for the broken coffee pot and have made sure our Housekeeping Management is made aware so it can be replaced. We have also informed our Front Desk Manager about the wrong pool key and will insure that is looked into.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the future!

Best Regards,

T Bar M Resort | Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The grounds are beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful! Highly recommend this resort, plus it's close to Gruene! One option that would be helpful to us would be to have some rooms that are pet-friendly.

Room Tip: We like the cottages best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This very reasonably priced resort surprised me. I was impressed with all the different activities planned daily. Their breakfast was expectional and different each day. Bar service was fantastic along with many choices of finger foods. While there were several conferences going on I still felt there was plenty of space & privacy to enjoy the premise. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLee_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardson
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a lovely time! The kids loved watching the deer and fawns that roamed freely about the place. We had the 2 bedroom condo....it was perfect! The 3 girls 8, 10 and 14 had the double room and the two boys [12] slept in the large living area on a cot and the sofa bed, and we had the king room. The patio was huge and overlooked the forest. We cooked in the well-stocked kitchen - which saved us some money. The "complimentary' breakfasts under the gazebo by the pool, were terrific and the lady attendant was so precious. We had a few hitches with housekeeping the first couple of days [don't think they knew there were 7 of us], but all went very well the rest of the trip. The sports center was a lot of fun, as were the two pools that we had keys to. The sports center had shuffleboard, pool, foosball, ping pong and billiards along with a nice exercise room and basketball court. The gift shop kept them shopping, and they left with some real "treasures." One pool had a beach type access - which is great for old folks. It had water volleyball and basketball along with a hot tub. The other pool was closer to the condo and it was more of a lap pool - with a deep end. We didn't play frisbee golf or ride the bicycles, but plan to do that on our next visit. Every night, we watched a movie under the stars and ate popcorn, free ice cream and drank ice cold water that was provided. One night we did the s'mores. T Bar M is close to town - just a 10 minute drive to Schlitterbahn [we did all 3 parts], and Texas Tubes and Natural Bridge Caverns and WIld Life Park. Cheap tickets for Schlitterbahn are at the HEB just a little bit from T Bar M. We had a great time! The pool food at the resort is delicious - my granddaughter had the pulled pork nachos. It was huge! Their burgers and wings are good, too. We will return!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the hotel accomodations before, and they are a bit cramped, but the condo was wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBar M, Public Relations Manager at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Cindy M,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, I am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay overall and would consider returning. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly environment, with plenty of actives to keep the family entertained and are so glad you were able to enjoy those amenities offered.

We look forward to welcoming your family back in the future,

T Bar M Resort | Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

As a family with two young kids, we were looking for a place to relax for a reasonable price. T Bar M was perfect for that.

Room was average, but certainly nice enough. Service was amazing, as was the food.

If your looking for a place in new Braunfels where you can relax and your kids can stay busy and have fun, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimotetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just left T Bar M Resort and we had the best time. Right when you drive up to check in there is someone greeting you with a smile. Everyone there was so nice and very helpful. We stayed in the condos which were very nice and clean. We loved the pool area. The breakfast was great and the face painting for the kids at breakfast was so fun. There were bikes to ride the trails and the resort felt very safe. The sports center was fabulous. The location was great because everyone was coming from all around and it was such a great location for everyone to meet. The Overall experience was GREAT!! I am already looking into sending my kid there for camp. There are so many activities there, they cannot wait!!! Thank you so much for giving my Family a great experience there. Family Reunion was a HIT!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
5.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
4.7 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#23 of 32 in New Braunfels
109 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#4 of 32 in New Braunfels
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#11 of 32 in New Braunfels
370 reviews
6.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
5.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T Bar M Camps & Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T Bar M Camps & Retreats

Property: T Bar M Camps & Retreats
Address: 2549 W State Highway 46, New Braunfels, TX 78132-4731
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — T Bar M Camps & Retreats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T Bar M Camps & Retreats has a total of 74 country inn lodge rooms and 6 bungalows. The lodge consists of 34 rooms with two double beds, 34 rooms with two queen beds, and 6 rooms with one king bed. To compliment the lodge, the 6 bungalows all have one queen bed and a private porch for relaxing on your own set of rocking chairs. All of our lodge rooms have free wi-fi, iPod/iPhone docking stations or MP3 players, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, four cup coffee pot with Starbucks coffee, ironing boards with irons, cable television, free local and room to room calls, mini-refrigerators, and combination safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your T Bar M Camps & Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Bar m Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing