We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun Weekend”
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We took our kids to New Braunfels for a long weekend last summer and stayed at the T-Bar Ranch, all of us loved it. The kids had a blast at the pool, playing a little putt-putt, the outdoor movies under the stars with popcorn and smores. The rooms were very nice and roomy, just as represented on their website. Breakfast was wonderful on Saturday – homemade waffles and breakfast tacos along with cereal and sweet roll choices. Sunday breakfast though wasn’t mush to talk about – just cold sweet rolls and cereal. Not sure why we received so vastly different meals on the two days – Sunday was a disappointment. But overall we loved the stay.

  • Liked — That it wasn't a chain hotel / motel.
  • Disliked — No restaurant on site
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose6689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    42
    27
    25
    14
See reviews for
82
15
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san antonio, tx
Level Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

we had a small conference for 150 people at this resort. it was very nice, but expensive. we paid $98 per night plus tax - the rooms were nice, the conference facilities nice, and the included breakfast was nice - but i would have been happy to have it at a place where the room rate was $60 or so a night - say on i35

it's a great place if you like to do resort like activities, but a little expensive for a conference

also, the conference organizers told us that the rooms lock at 11 am on your last day - but our meetings ran until noon, forcing us to pack our bags early before our meetings - definitely a minus

  • Liked — the surrounding were very nice
  • Disliked — having to be out before our meetings were concluded
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trinity-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2007

We recently stayed at the T and M Bar Ranch resort. Being lured by their attractive internet site boasting many amenties and recreational activities, we thought it would be a fun place for our four childen ages 6 - 13. We ended up renting a 2 bedroom villa unit to accomodate all of us. It slept 4 comfortably, two of my children ended up sleeping on a sectional sofa. Extra sheets were not provided in the unit. The villa was clean but hasn't been updated since the1980's when it appeared to be built. It seemed a bit in disrepair. Some of the amenities advertised were bikes, 3 swimming pools on property, hot tub and breakfast. The whole resort had a total of 5 bikes. Some of which seats were wobbly and handle bars broken. The swimming pools were dirty, the one with 2 tube slides we were told was not open during the week(it was and we found out the evening of our 2nd day of stay). The hot tub was broken. The breakfast was marginal. On the positive side, they did have numerous tennis courts on the property which were very nice. New Braunfels is charming.

  • Liked — Tennis Courts
  • Disliked — condition of property
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtripsareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

World Traveler settled in Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2007

I can only write about the accomodations. I did not use the resort facilities.

I chose the T Bar M because it is just down the road from where my daughter lives and because they were running a fantastic special ($59) in February for a two double bed room. The desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. Cleaning crew did a great job.

The hotel room was very large and would easily accomodate four people. Nothing was fancy, but the unit had Texas decor which gave it a little character. Everything was in good repair. The AC unit vibrated the first night but was fixed by the second night. The view toward the west was beautiful.

This place is very quiet on the weekdays but on the weekends and in the summers, it gets busier because of classes and clinics. The weekend I was there a lot of teenagers moved in on Friday night but there was almost no increase in the noise level. I was pleasantly surprised.

Only a few minuses. 1. The outside door was not kept locked. 2. There were no instructions on how to use the phone system.
3. Housekeeping did not turn the alarms off on the clock radios of empty rooms, even when I told the desk clerk about it. I could hear at least 4 alarms going on and on for two or three mornings.

Would I book here again ? If I could get the same rates, I certainly would.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank LBobina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

Although the property was full of amenities and very convenient to the local attractions, we had items taken from our locked hotel room and the management will not acknowledge the incident. Customer service while there was friendly and helpful, but the refusal by the managers to communicate with us since we reported the incident has ruined an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor management
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2006

I took my wife and daughter on a short vacation to Sea World and Schlitterbahn this past week and we decided to stay at the T Bar M resort in New Braunfels. I'd say it was a mixed bag.

What we liked:

- Nice property with plenty of clean pools, including a one that is perfect for small children.
- Plenty of things to do for older kids including foosball tables, ping pong tables, and a full size indoor basketball court.
- No charge for high speed internet use in your room.

What we didn't:

- This is not a handicapped or luggage friendly facility whatsoever. What I mean by "luggage friendly" is there are no elevators to take your things to the 2nd floor. You have to make several trips back and forth to your car, lugging heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs to your room. If you're handicapped you either stay on the bottom floor if there is space available and if not, you stay at another resort or hotel.
- We paid for a room with queen beds and I believe what we really got were full sized. I mentioned this to the front desk attendant and his reply was "no all the rooms in the Comal building have queen sized beds in them." I sleep on a queen sized bed every night at home, I know what they look like. Maybe hotels have a different standard for their bed sizes than everyone else.
- The phones in rooms didn't work. They told me this happened due to a lightning strike the Wednesday night prior to our arrival. We left Saturday morning and they still weren't working.
- No on site restaraunt or food service available. This might not necessarily be a deal breaker but I just wanted to make everyone aware that when you get hungry, you'll have to make a trip into town to get something.

It probably sounds like we had a horrible experience and I would say no we really didn't. Most of what I have mentioned could easily be corrected with the exception of the no elevator thing. If we stayed at T Bar again, I'd just make sure we got a room on the bottom floor.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 10, 2006

Wonderful Vacation for my family. Great prices and you can do so much. If you like pools, sports, walking or relaxing this is the place!! We will go back! Very clean, friendly staff willing to go out of their way to help. The only hard part is that you can only eat at the resort if there is a group eating there that meal. Despite that minor inconvience we LOVED every moment. Swimming, Tennis, shuffleboard, playgrounds (my 3 young children were in heaven) trails, mini golf, putting green, soccer, football, basketball etc I could go on and on. I would recommend it for families or sports enthusiasts.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
4.7 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#3 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
5.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#8 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
6.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
5.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T Bar M Camps & Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T Bar M Camps & Retreats

Property: T Bar M Camps & Retreats
Address: 2549 W State Highway 46, New Braunfels, TX 78132-4731
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — T Bar M Camps & Retreats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T Bar M Camps & Retreats has a total of 74 country inn lodge rooms and 6 bungalows. The lodge consists of 34 rooms with two double beds, 34 rooms with two queen beds, and 6 rooms with one king bed. To compliment the lodge, the 6 bungalows all have one queen bed and a private porch for relaxing on your own set of rocking chairs. All of our lodge rooms have free wi-fi, iPod/iPhone docking stations or MP3 players, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, four cup coffee pot with Starbucks coffee, ironing boards with irons, cable television, free local and room to room calls, mini-refrigerators, and combination safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your T Bar M Camps & Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Bar m Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing