We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a group function”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
370 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Good place for a group function”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I spent about 5 days here in March 2012, at a quilting retreat. I was in the Country Inn part (Guadalupe? wing). The room was OK, but tired and the a/c was VERY noisy. Even after turning my a/c off, I could still hear the a/cs in the rooms surrounding me and had to wear ear plugs every night. I'm not sure why people had their a/cs on as the weather was really pleasant.

The free WiFi took some fiddling with settings etc. to get working and while the desk staff were helpful, I had to find out how to get it working myself (it worked for my phone but not my laptop; see here for details on how to get it working: http://cybertext.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/more-internet-woes-and-solutions/)

The function rooms we used were great, especially the one upstairs over the dining room -- it had excellent lighting, and was big enough for our subgroup. Tea, coffee, water, ice and fresh fruit were available outside the function room at all times.

The food we had for our group of about 60 was great. We had lots of choices and everything was pretty much separate, which meant you could have dressing or not on your salad, sauce or not on your meat, etc. There was plenty of food and it was tasty and healthy. We had a package that included three meals a day.

We were in a group deal so I'm not sure what the room/food component was, but considering I paid $80 to $110 for some very nice hotels (Hyatts etc.) on the rest of my trip, I hope that their prices were much less to reflect the ordinariness of the rooms.

I think 'resort' might be a little over the top for this place. It was OK, but not what I would expect from a 'resort'. And while we were there, a large group of kids arrived for some sort of Church camp. The staff were good about staggering the meal sittings so we were rarely in the dining room at the same time, but I was surprised by the presence of all these campers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelleh277, Manager at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hi Rhonda B.,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate having your quilting group back year after year. It is such a joy to see all the splendid work you all do in the week you are on property.
We love to hear customer criticisms, good and bad. That is after all the only way to improve or to continue on a job well done. T Bar M is a rustic resort and does provide accommodations for all types of groups.
We look forward to seeing you again in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    42
    27
    25
    14
See reviews for
82
15
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
OVILLA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here for a meeting, and oh my. The bedding was "new", but the pillow was so firm that i just couldn't find a decent position. My A/C stopped about 2 hours after I went to bed. As I remember, the same thing happened last year. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are spartan and rustic. But not in a good way.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rgentrydal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelleh277, Manager at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of T Bar M.
We appreciate all of our customer feedback and will take note of your review for future visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I stayed at this facility for wedding in November 2011. During the winter months the hotel has no accomadations, no continental breakfeast,no lounge. The hotel rooms are outdated and the beds are horrible, its like sleeping on concrete. The air conditoners are noisy the lighting in the parking lot is poor. There where no elevators in our building and the service is sub par. I would not recomend this Resort at all. As a experienced business traveler please take my advise do not stay here for any type of event. It is in the middle of no where and you have to drive a distance just to get to anything. My advise, stay in San Antonio!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelleh277, Guest Relations Manager at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Seasoned Business Traveler,
Thank you for your feedback. We always encourage our visitors to write reviews and give feedback; good and bad so that we may continually improve our resort. Since you have visited T Bar M, we have updated all of our bedding in the hotel to make it feel more up to date; clean, fresh and ready. Service is number one T Bar M's list and I apologize if you feel you got sub par treatment. If there is anything we can do to bring you back to T Bar M to give us another chance to make your stay most enjoyable please contact our sales office at xt 270.
Again, thank you for the feedback.
T Bar M Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
387 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay at T Bar M last weekend. We spent a lot of time in the gym playing basketball, ping pong and shuffle board. Great family time! We also went for a walk and sat outside under the trees. The property is very well landscaped and maintained.

Our hotel room was comfortable. Decorated with a rustic Texas decor. The room needs some updating especially in the bathroom. The wi fi was intermittent while we were there for 3 nights. Breakfast is only available during the summer months.

We ate breakfast twice at Union Street Station on San Antonio St. near Schlitterbahn. Great food and atmosphere! We really enjoyed our get-away to T Bar M - we made reservations for same time next year!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Great property with many unexpected surprises. We thought we were at the wrong place when we arrived. Beautiful, well landscaped grounds, plenty of activities. The grazing deer were a bonus. Great value!
Super nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortworthorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Horrible experience with the staff at T bar M. Front desk staff is very rude to their guests! Asking for a simple favor seemed to be a burden to them. The housekeeping staff in charge of our unit was lazy and not very good at cleaning. Some of them can even be considered thieves! Unfortunately, after check out, I forgot a couple of shirts. After, many calls and even going back to stay there for a second week and repeatedly asking for help locating the items both housekeeping staff and the front desk staff were very very unhelpful !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdeanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelleh277, Public Relations Manager at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear cdeanda,
We certainly appreciate your feedback. We are truly sorry for the misplacement of your items while staying with us at T Bar M. We have addressed the issue of rude staff at our front desk and can assure you that is not our standard practice. We generally receive very good comments about our level of customer service and continue to strive for the best! We are aware of your sister personally coming back to T Bar M to look for your belongings. Our housekeeping manager met her in the lobby and she was escorted to the condo you stayed in to double check for the items misplaced, of which they still did not find. Just for extra reassurance our housekeeping manager even took your sister up to her office and showed her the procedure for “lost and found” items that our guests leave behind. Everything is reported and logged appropriately for when the guest calls to claim the item. According to our housekeeping manager your sister was pleased with the way we handle that process and appreciated all the help she received while being on property. Again, we truly apologize for the misunderstanding and would love to earn your business again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback as we will address and fix any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Registration hostess was poorly trained and bordered on being rude. Absolutely no concept of quality customer service. Only one of two villas I rented was ready when we arrived at 2:30pm. The hostess said we could wait in villa that was ready and "check with housekeeping periodically." She then told us we were lucky she was letting us in the one villa as she didn't have to let us in until the official check-in at 4:00pm. She also made a very big deal about how much they would charge us if we lost a villa key or pool key. She was either very poorly trained or incompetent; no other way to put it.

Later, we called the same hostess about the broken ironing board and iron in the villa. She said "those are privately owned villas." We repeatedly explained that we didn't care who owned the villas, we were paying $250/night for a certain set of amenities and expected them to be present and working. She finally talked to someone else and they promptly replaced both the ironing board and iron.

At breafast the next morning, which was included in the price of the villa, we discovered scrambled eggs, under-cooked potato cakes (inedible), pigs in a blanket and cereal. It was very disappointing so we cooked our own or ate out the rest of the time.

On our second morning, a plumber showed up and turned off the water to one of our villas with no notice and without even checking in with the resort. When we reported it, one of the pool boys came out and turned the water back on promptly flooding one of the other villas where the plumber had disconnected a line. This was symptomatic of how poorly managed the resort is.

The housekeeping crew was very helpful and professional. The pool was very nice and very well maintained. Seeing all the deer (50+) during the mornings and evenings was a neat experience. However, it's just a poorly managed resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank None7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
5.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#3 of 32 in New Braunfels
509 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#23 of 32 in New Braunfels
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#8 of 32 in New Braunfels
363 reviews
5.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
6.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T Bar M Camps & Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T Bar M Camps & Retreats

Property: T Bar M Camps & Retreats
Address: 2549 W State Highway 46, New Braunfels, TX 78132-4731
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — T Bar M Camps & Retreats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T Bar M Camps & Retreats has a total of 74 country inn lodge rooms and 6 bungalows. The lodge consists of 34 rooms with two double beds, 34 rooms with two queen beds, and 6 rooms with one king bed. To compliment the lodge, the 6 bungalows all have one queen bed and a private porch for relaxing on your own set of rocking chairs. All of our lodge rooms have free wi-fi, iPod/iPhone docking stations or MP3 players, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, four cup coffee pot with Starbucks coffee, ironing boards with irons, cable television, free local and room to room calls, mini-refrigerators, and combination safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your T Bar M Camps & Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Bar m Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing