We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German food not as good as we'd hoped for”
Review of Schobels - CLOSED

Schobels
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Schobel’s Restaurant on the River serves home-cooked Southern food with a German flair. Whether it’s a quick trip through the buffet or a custom order from our menu, we’re certain you’re going to leave full and happy.We specialize in home cooked food! We have an in-house butcher, home-made sausages, farm fresh vegetables, and pride ourselves on friendly service. We are known for our buffet which is definitely not your typical buffet. Nothing is pre-breaded or out of a can – it’s grandmothers cooking on a larger scale. If buffets aren't your thing we also offer a full menu filled with Southern favorites and a few German dishes. Don’t forget to leave room for our delicious desserts! We have an assortment of homemade pies, with buttermilk being our specialty.Come check out our full bar! With some of the coldest beer in town along with a fabulous atmosphere, Schobel’s is a great place to meet friends and unwind after a long day. We have happy hour specials Monday-Thursday from 4-6 pm.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The atmosphere, including the wood fire on a very chilly day, was welcoming. The staff were very pleasant and efficient. It was too chilly to enjoy the river view and we were there for food, not alcohol.

We come from an area with good variety of German food, so have experience and expectations. We had 2 jaegerschnitzels and 1 jalapenoschnitzel. The brown gravy was "like out of a can" said both who had it. They eyed my jalapeno version with envy, and tat dish was very good. The buttermilk french fries were very good (and very rich). The German potatoes were a bit bland; the red cabbage was overspiced--one said too much vinegar, another said maybe jalapeno in it. Rolls were good.

Could and should have been better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Edge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

We’re very sorry to hear that the German fare did not live up to your expectations, but we are glad that you enjoyed the Jalapeno Schnitzel and we’re always pleased when our restaurant is described with words like “welcoming”, “pleasant”, and “efficient”. Thank you for the review. All the Best from The Schobel Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 130 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

I don't ever go into restaurants that serve "home cooked" meals but I am very glad I stepped into Schobels. I was interested in the German fare they may have. Surprisingly enough the buffet style food was fantastic. Every dish was delish. I even tasted the dessert and was pleased. Everything was fresh and tasty. The iced tea was even better than I've tasted before.

The service was especially nice. The smiling waitress checked on me when she felt I needed her. She did not do like some who catch you with food in your mouth or in deep conversation. The entire visit seemed just like that... a visit with good service in mind.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 301SueB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you Sue for the wonderful review! Yes, we definitely try to focus on great service as well as great food. We’re very pleased that you experienced both and we hope you’ll come back for more “home cooked” meals. All the Best from The Schobel Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Really bad buffet. Everything dry. Fish real dry. Pork dry. Chicken dry. Really unpleasant. I would not recommend the place.

1  Thank arravelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

It’s interesting that the only review you’ve ever left on Trip Advisor would be so harsh. We’re sorry that you found our food to be dry and not to your liking, but we noticed that you’re from Monterrey Mexico and so perhaps American “home style” cooking is different than what you’re accustomed to. We can assure you that we put out fresh food routinely throughout the day so we have no idea why you thought it was so “dry”. Did you talk to the wait staff or a manager about it? We stand behind the quality of our food and are thankful that most of our reviews are very positive and complimentary. All the Best from The Schobel Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The restaurant is ok. nothing special. Food is decent and the price is alright. The building inside is very beautiful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Jeremy, we appreciate the review, but we regret that you didn’t have a better overall experience. If there’s any constructive feedback you might have to help us improve, please let us know. Thanks! All the Best from The Schobel Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This restaurant is right off Interstate 35 in New Braunfels. We stopped by for lunch this afternoon after shopping at the outlet malls. I was so excited to see that it was on the river. We chose to sit outside on the patio and enjoy the gorgeous day and watch boats, canoes and kayaks go by on the river. We were given a menu but decided to go with the buffet for 9.99 which included baked chicken, chicken fried steak with gravy, pork chops, mashed potatoes, broccoli cheese casserole, steamed carrots, steamed green beans, steamed cabbage wedges with cubes of corned beef, and other selections. Also a salad bar, soup, hot rolls and 3 or 4 different desserts. I must say, the food was hot and delicious and that chocolate chip bread pudding was outstanding! The service was fantastic. Abigail was very attentive and kept out table tidy and our drinks refreshed. The restaurant was spic and span, the restrooms were very clean and well kept. We will definitely be going back to Schobels.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank You Susan for that fantastic review! We look forward to serving you again next time you’re in town or passing through. All the Best from The Schobel Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schobels also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing