We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Schobels - CLOSED

Schobels
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Schobel’s Restaurant on the River serves home-cooked Southern food with a German flair. Whether it’s a quick trip through the buffet or a custom order from our menu, we’re certain you’re going to leave full and happy.We specialize in home cooked food! We have an in-house butcher, home-made sausages, farm fresh vegetables, and pride ourselves on friendly service. We are known for our buffet which is definitely not your typical buffet. Nothing is pre-breaded or out of a can – it’s grandmothers cooking on a larger scale. If buffets aren't your thing we also offer a full menu filled with Southern favorites and a few German dishes. Don’t forget to leave room for our delicious desserts! We have an assortment of homemade pies, with buttermilk being our specialty.Come check out our full bar! With some of the coldest beer in town along with a fabulous atmosphere, Schobel’s is a great place to meet friends and unwind after a long day. We have happy hour specials Monday-Thursday from 4-6 pm.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The breakfast buffet was excellent as usual and had their huge cheese block that you serve yourself with. This restaurant is quiet early in the morning (9:00) if you enjoy an atmosphere such as this. Once we found this restaraunt we have not gone any where else for breakfast.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sinbad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    42
    19
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Schobels”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great location and view of the Guadalupe River. You can dine inside or out. We enjoyed the exterior dining. Buffet setup is good and bar is well stocked. Friendly staff and beautifull building

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jattaschlegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Many thanks for writing us a fantastic review! It's wonderful to hear you were pleased with our food, our staff, and most importantly, our view! Although, how could you not be impressed with the majesty of the Guadalupe River?! Hopefully you got to sample a little portion of all our home-cooked southern treats! You didn't seem to have any complaints so I'd love to get a little more information about your rating. Customer review sites are tremendously important to our success so we always try to use them as a source of feedback. Thanks again for the kind words and please feel free to reach out to us with any questions or concerns.

All the best,
The Schobel Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good Breakfast”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The breakfast sausage is made by their own butcher and is very good. The family photos on the wall showing the rather large family as children and then as adults is a nice touch

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RitaJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved the food, extremely large portions for very reasonable prices, definitely would go back. Food was very good and I know they have an amazing buffet as well!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bvanderloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Home Cookin'”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stopped by for lunch, fresh cooked vegetables, corn, green beans, cabbage, carrots, large salad bar with lots of toppings, pea salad, carrot salad, several soups to choose from, and the desserts. We tried peach cobbler and buttermilk pie.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Many thanks for the glowing review, Sherry! We're thrilled that you chose to dine with us while in the neighborhood and that you enjoyed our many home-cooked offerings! Isn't the Buttermilk Pie just phenomenal? It's one of our favorites around here. Did you get to enjoy the view from the patio while you were here? If not, you'll have to come back in the fall when the leaves are changing. Thanks again for the kind words and we hope to see you again when you're in the area!

All the best,
The Schobel Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schobels also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing