We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently wonderful”
Review of The Gruene Door

The Gruene Door
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gruene Door is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 271 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Gruene Road
Description: The Gruene Door Restaurant is located in beautiful Gruene Lake Village in New Braunfels, Texas. We are Gruene’s only casual, fine dining restaurant combining the best in food, service, and atmosphere. Every menu item is prepared 100% in house by our chefs. Open for lunch and dinner, we are the perfect destination for a romantic dinner, birthday celebration, private party, lunch with friends, or just a casual night out.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We visited the Gruene Door again last night and were impressed as usual. Great food, great service and a wonderful evening for my wife and I.
Keep up the good work!
thanks!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thefamilythattravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    44
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An intimate escape for two”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

With the lights turned low and with more modern surroundings it's almost hard to believe you're still in Gruene anymore. It was just what I wanted to kick off the flip flops & casual ware and slip into something more date-like to impress the one you're with. I love how the food was more complex than anything we'd had in Gruene and I even savored every sip of their signature martini. Somehow the cold metal martini glass was almost more distracting than the loud large group that didn't get the message about how the floor reverberates sound. A tasty candlelight dinner with an attentive waitress is a sure win in my book, even if you have to walk directly through the outdoor seating to get to it, (a definite route that I didn't like).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have eaten at the Gruene Door twice and both times have been satisfactory but not exceptional. The Cobb salad was more like a chef salad. Stuffed mushrooms were a bit slimey and the spinach inside was almost a puree. No complaints with service. I thought the chairs were a bit uncomfortable. Very few vegetarian options.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2texanstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best wine choices in the area”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I love this place, not only for the food, but for the superb wine menu. The only place I have been that serves Stag's Leap except for the Elkridge Furnace Inn out by the San Antonio Airport. I'll have to rate that place sometime, but for now let me recommend the Gruene Door. Make reservations!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank naomi_T852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good service and casual, intimate setting”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The Gruene Door on Gruene Road is a nice escape from some of the other popular but overcrowded eating places in New Braunfels. The service is always friendly and good and the food is fresh, well prepared, and tasty. The menu is interesting and ever changing. The little street of shops in The Village of Cotton Crossing adds to the charm.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gruene Door also viewed

 

Been to The Gruene Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing