We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick one-day birthday trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
GreenLeadersSilver level
SAN ANGELO
1 review
“Quick one-day birthday trip”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Service was good. Price was good for how clean and updated the rooms are. Good visit all around. I would definitely stay there again being so close to Gruene.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank ADAM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VINAY P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank You, for your time and effort in reviewing us. We strive to do our best day in and day out. And would like to welcome you back for your next visti to New Braunfels. Thanks again! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    178
    124
    50
    44
See reviews for
262
114
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thus far, this is the worse review I wrote. I checked into the hotel, went in the room and immediately left. Honestly, I do not have anything positive to say about this place. The staff are unfamiliar with their jobs, the non-smoking room smelled like an ashtray, the decor appeared to be purchased from a 1970's Howard Johnson, the room was filthy, and management... non-existent. If you don't mind sleazy, keep driving to a cheaper motel and save some money.

Room Tip: Find another hotel, there are plenty to choose from in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO201, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I appreciate your time and review but it looks like you might have confused another hotel with us. Our hotel was constructed two years ago and therefore all the decor and furnishings are up to date. You mentioned HOJO which is located right next our property, maybe you might have stayed there?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

sugar land
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here during a trip to Schlitterbahn. It is a short drive to the park.
First impression was not good. When I arrived hotel clerk acted like I was inconveniencing her by making her get up out of her chair and help me. What hotel do you go to where the front desk person is sitting? She did not look very presentable, almost like she just woke up. Also, she didn't not greet me, more of a look of "What?"
Room is smaller than they look in photos. As mentioned hotel is off busy road so noise was present but not enough to keep you from sleeping.
Our room did have trash peeking out from under the bed. Pool was an odd color that my kids were quick to point out looked gross.
When we came downstairs for the standard free breakfast, there we no plates! And no one was clearing tables for others to eat.
Spend a few bucks more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarlandmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO201, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I would like to thank you for your review and time. And would like to assure you that issue you have brought has been addressed immediately. We strive for our guests best experiance possible, we do not practice subpar level service but your concern has been addressed and would like to welcome you back. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THE COLONY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The best thing about this is the value. There are some expensive places to stay in the area, and we got a good deal here. Room size was good and it was clean, which was nice because with the rain, we spent more time here than expected.

The breakfast had a decent amount of offerings, but was very crowded. We had just stayed at the San Antonio Microtel and they had two waffle irons, while this had one, and there was a long line and seating was full, so we ate in our room. But if you don't mind the wait, it's a decent breakfast. We also didn't get enough towels in the room, but I got them immediately when I went to the front desk. I'd stay here again, mostly because of the value and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neoncactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO201, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for time to review our hotel. We are reorganizing our breakfast program and second Waffle iron is coming very soon. It is review like this that gives us the chance to improve our service and quality. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our family stayed at the Microtel in New Braufels two nights while visiting Schlitterbahn. We chose this hotel because it was realativley inexpensive, fairly new, not on I-35, and as close as any of the name brand hotels to the water park.

The hotel was fine. Not great, not bad, just fine. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable enough (I was SO tired, probably could have slept ANYwhere), the little cushioned window seat was fun for the kids, and there was plenty of room. Some of the sheets had stains, there were only three towels (asked for and got more both nights - no problem), room was surprisingly noisy (traffic outside and adjacent rooms), and the space alotted for breakfast was too small.

Overall, it was okay. The staff was nice, and it was an inexpesive place to sleep with plenty of space...

Room Tip: Somebody else mentioned asking for an odd number room to minimize traffic noise; that sounds like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MkBibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO201, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thanks, for you time and review. We appreciate your input as the guest of our property you experience first hand and give us chance to improve day in and day out. Once again, Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
211 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We chose the Microtel mainly due to trip advisor reviews. It's a small place about 1 block from I35 on the road to Schlitterbahn. Less road noise, but still on a busy street, so request an odd-numbered room to cut down on the street noise.

Our room was sparkling clean with 2 queen beds, micro, fridge and flat screen tv. The space isn't large, but offers a comfy window seat, A little more storage would be helpful - the small closet is crowded with an ironing board. The beds are very comfortable as are the pillows. Decent shampoo, soap,and towels for 3 are provided.

The staff is a plus - friendly and helpful. The desk clerk hustled up to help up hook up a DVD player to the TV and the breakfast server cheerfully offered to bring fresh coffee to our room when it was brewed. It must have been a lull, because the small serving area is generally overwhelmed with long waits and shortages. We snagged a banana and an apple, but nothing else during our 2-night stay. Personally, I'd like to see them cut back on the current items and instead provide fresh bread and pastries from some of the wonderful nearby bakeries.

The Microtel is very reasonably priced and I would choose it again but would be prepared to get breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s2mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO201, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
I would like to thank you for time and review. We are in process of reorganizing our breakfast as this is our first year of management and learning the needs of our valuable guests. I would like to welcome you back to experience the diffrence on your next stay. Once again, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We decided to go tubing last weekend and chose this hotel becasue of the great location and good deal I got on Wyndham.com (I guess this is what I get for trying to save a few bucks!) First, we were given a handicapped room. The room was fine, but we felt wrong about taking it as we were not handicapped. We asked for another room, which we were told was available, but they refused to give it to us. (By the way, why on Earth would you put a handicapped room on the 3rd floor?! In case of fire, how is someone in a wheelchair supposed to go down the stairs? Still scratching our heads on that one...) We also shared our room with a family of crickets, which kept us up all night! Flooded bathroom because there was no bathtub, only a wheel-in shower stall. Sink in wet bar leaked. The next day, after my husband tried to address the problem again with now the morning manager, we were given the same refusal. However, they called us 45 minutes later and said we could have the available room if we move our stuff immediately. Well, we were already getting in the river by then!!! In a nutshell, the problem should have been handled the night before. When we returned home on Monday, we realized that they had authorized the WRONG credit card, and now our bank account is tied up!!!!! Aaaaauuggghhh! We travel a lot, and this is the worst experience we have had in several years. If you want a cheap place in a good location, be my guest, I'm sure there are worse places to stay. But please be aware of the incompetent staff!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank travel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO201, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
First, I would like to apologize for your experience. But as we spoke and explained before you booked a handicapped room over the interenet and on your arrival we were completely booked so, it was not possible for us to move you to diffrent room type. We moved our regular customer for you to have two beds but you had left hotel and we need to get you moved so we can clean your room and get it ready for other guests before they arrive. We try to resolve every issue with appropirate time and manner but sometime if you have to realize that we accomodate 97% in the peak season and if you book specific room type and don't change in timely manner it is hard for us to move around when we are booked. We treat all of our guest equally. Once again, I apologize for any convenience you may have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#8 of 32 in New Braunfels
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada New Braunfels
Ramada New Braunfels
#13 of 32 in New Braunfels
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#4 of 32 in New Braunfels
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in New Braunfels
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 32 in New Braunfels
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Address: 1175 N Business Ih 35, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Downtown, Restaurants, Gruene Hall and Golf Courses Treat yourself to a quality, pleasant stay when you make a reservation at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels hotel. Located close to Interstate 35, our New Braunfels hotel near Schlitterbahn Water Park is less than an hour from San Antonio. Spring out of bed for our free continental breakfast, then connect to your friends and family with free Wi-Fi Internet access. Enjoy a swim in our outdoor pool or unwind in your room watching your favorite programs on a 32-inch flat screen TV. Microwaves and refrigerators are available on request at our hotel in New Braunfels. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Just a short distance from our New Braunfels hotel, Schlitterbahn Water Park features miles of tube chutes, endless rivers, up-hill water coasters, waves for surfing, splashing, and relaxing, and kid-friendly water playgrounds. Trade water slides for the real thing during a white water rafting trip on the Guadalupe River with Amigo Mel's, or enjoy a nice nature hike through Canyon Lake park. For a quiet day of fun on the greens, book a tee time at the Bandit Golf Club. DINING OPTIONS Treat yourself to a mountain of onion rings and fall-off-the-bone baby back ribs when you sit down at Montana Mike's Steakhouse. Choose from beef, pork, poultry, jerky, sausage and more while at the New Braunfels Smokehouse. If you are in the mood for authentic German food, pay a visit to Oma's Haus Restaurant, which is close to our New Braunfels hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing