We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable but forget breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plano, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable but forget breakfast”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We chose the Microtel mainly due to trip advisor reviews. It's a small place about 1 block from I35 on the road to Schlitterbahn. Less road noise, but still on a busy street, so request an odd-numbered room to cut down on the street noise.

Our room was sparkling clean with 2 queen beds, micro, fridge and flat screen tv. The space isn't large, but offers a comfy window seat, A little more storage would be helpful - the small closet is crowded with an ironing board. The beds are very comfortable as are the pillows. Decent shampoo, soap,and towels for 3 are provided.

The staff is a plus - friendly and helpful. The desk clerk hustled up to help up hook up a DVD player to the TV and the breakfast server cheerfully offered to bring fresh coffee to our room when it was brewed. It must have been a lull, because the small serving area is generally overwhelmed with long waits and shortages. We snagged a banana and an apple, but nothing else during our 2-night stay. Personally, I'd like to see them cut back on the current items and instead provide fresh bread and pastries from some of the wonderful nearby bakeries.

The Microtel is very reasonably priced and I would choose it again but would be prepared to get breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s2mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO201, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
I would like to thank you for time and review. We are in process of reorganizing our breakfast as this is our first year of management and learning the needs of our valuable guests. I would like to welcome you back to experience the diffrence on your next stay. Once again, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    186
    130
    58
    49
See reviews for
287
117
25
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We decided to go tubing last weekend and chose this hotel becasue of the great location and good deal I got on Wyndham.com (I guess this is what I get for trying to save a few bucks!) First, we were given a handicapped room. The room was fine, but we felt wrong about taking it as we were not handicapped. We asked for another room, which we were told was available, but they refused to give it to us. (By the way, why on Earth would you put a handicapped room on the 3rd floor?! In case of fire, how is someone in a wheelchair supposed to go down the stairs? Still scratching our heads on that one...) We also shared our room with a family of crickets, which kept us up all night! Flooded bathroom because there was no bathtub, only a wheel-in shower stall. Sink in wet bar leaked. The next day, after my husband tried to address the problem again with now the morning manager, we were given the same refusal. However, they called us 45 minutes later and said we could have the available room if we move our stuff immediately. Well, we were already getting in the river by then!!! In a nutshell, the problem should have been handled the night before. When we returned home on Monday, we realized that they had authorized the WRONG credit card, and now our bank account is tied up!!!!! Aaaaauuggghhh! We travel a lot, and this is the worst experience we have had in several years. If you want a cheap place in a good location, be my guest, I'm sure there are worse places to stay. But please be aware of the incompetent staff!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank travel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO201, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
First, I would like to apologize for your experience. But as we spoke and explained before you booked a handicapped room over the interenet and on your arrival we were completely booked so, it was not possible for us to move you to diffrent room type. We moved our regular customer for you to have two beds but you had left hotel and we need to get you moved so we can clean your room and get it ready for other guests before they arrive. We try to resolve every issue with appropirate time and manner but sometime if you have to realize that we accomodate 97% in the peak season and if you book specific room type and don't change in timely manner it is hard for us to move around when we are booked. We treat all of our guest equally. Once again, I apologize for any convenience you may have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

Keller, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My beautiful wife and I and our 3 kids (14, 14, & 15) stayed here last week for 3 nights while we were in the area toobing the Comal and enjoying Schlitterbaun. The hotel location is great; it is in a nice area, very close to the river and the waterpark, with several restaurants within walking distance, and it is far enough from the highway so there's no real noise from traffic. The front desk attendants were good, but could have come across more friendly to their customers- they just seemed a bit overwhelmed on the phone and especially during the breakfast hours. The breakfast was good each morning, but it is in a small space and gets very crowded, and if you want to get the good stuff you better get up early cuz' by 8:30a-9a most of it is gone. The rooms were comfortable, we had 2 queen beds and added a roll away and the 5 of us did fine in there during our stay. The price was reasonable and overall it was a good hotel for this type of trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigcoolchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

While the hotel itself is clean, well kept and in a decent location I found the staff to be aloof and unfriendly. I called the hotel directly to book because we needed connecting rooms since we had three children who wanted to stay together. I was guaranteed these rooms on the phone, but when we got there no connecting rooms were available. The girl at the front desk even said it was possible to have held the rooms when I booked but that was not done and she blamed another employee. We ended up side by side (sort of) however, one adult had to sleep in the kid room each night for safety reasons. Also, because of the casing they use to prevent bed bugs the pillows are terribly uncomfortable. Way too puffy with no give, my neck still hurts. Bring your own pillows. The AC in one of the rooms did not work, nor did the refridgerator. The pool is tiny and has a sign that says the maximum number of bathers (swimmers) is 15. The website said there was a fitness center but there is not. I personally will find another hotel for our NB girls trip next summer.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO201, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
I am sorry that you did not have great stay with us. I would like to thank you for your time to review us and apologize for any front desk micommunication they might have done. But I would assure you that issue is being handled already appropriately, I think we two new hire employees and they might have misinformed you. nontheless, it is not excusable and would like to welcome you back to give us another chance to show you our best hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Traveling as a couple, my partner and I recently booked a room at the Microtel Inn & Suites during a quick trip to New Braunfels. We didn't stay long. The room we were given was extremely small, which doesn't really bother me, but it wasn't clean - some kind of dried liquid on the wall, an indeterminable black clump on the floor under the bed, etc. The electrical outlets were also grimy and yellowed. Rather than take our chances we decided to leave. Cleanliness is a huge factor for me anywhere I choose to stay and I wouldn't recommend the Microtel to anyone who feels the same way. I understand not to expect the same level of service I would at a 4 star hotel, but at the price they were charging I expected more.

I want to note that one of the reasons we picked this hotel was because of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Even now I can see that many other people had a very different experience. Maybe we just caught them on an off time, but I was truly disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank widening8horizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO201, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
I would like to thank you for your time to review us. And would like to assure you that what you experience is not what we strive for. Our employees are trained well to do their job for best customer satisfaction possible. I would like apologize for your less satisfactory experience. Please note that I will definately look in to the situation and get to bottom of it. There should be no off days for our employees!.
I would like to welcome you back for give us another chance and assure you that it will not same as last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Very clean hotel, good breakfast (make your own waffles - standard fare). Pool was nice, though somewhat small. Would stay here again for the price for a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanette_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO201, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We value your opinion and your time. We strive to do the best service possible for our guest. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Nice room. Comfortable beds. Intriguing decor. The breakfast was better than expected. The staff were friendly and helpful. Montana Mikes is out the back door and delicious. Great location and I don't see how they can be beat in that area.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO201, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your time to review our hotel. It is guest like you who gives insight to us and other guest in helping make dicision and opporunity for us to make our staff and property to be the best. Once again, we appreciate your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada New Braunfels
Ramada New Braunfels
#16 of 33 in New Braunfels
352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#11 of 33 in New Braunfels
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 33 in New Braunfels
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 33 in New Braunfels
252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Address: 1175 N Business Ih 35, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Downtown, Restaurants, Gruene Hall and Golf Courses Treat yourself to a quality, pleasant stay when you make a reservation at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels hotel. Located close to Interstate 35, our New Braunfels hotel near Schlitterbahn Water Park is less than an hour from San Antonio. Spring out of bed for our free continental breakfast, then connect to your friends and family with free Wi-Fi Internet access. Enjoy a swim in our outdoor pool or unwind in your room watching your favorite programs on a 32-inch flat screen TV. Microwaves and refrigerators are available on request at our hotel in New Braunfels. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Just a short distance from our New Braunfels hotel, Schlitterbahn Water Park features miles of tube chutes, endless rivers, up-hill water coasters, waves for surfing, splashing, and relaxing, and kid-friendly water playgrounds. Trade water slides for the real thing during a white water rafting trip on the Guadalupe River with Amigo Mel's, or enjoy a nice nature hike through Canyon Lake park. For a quiet day of fun on the greens, book a tee time at the Bandit Golf Club. DINING OPTIONS Treat yourself to a mountain of onion rings and fall-off-the-bone baby back ribs when you sit down at Montana Mike's Steakhouse. Choose from beef, pork, poultry, jerky, sausage and more while at the New Braunfels Smokehouse. If you are in the mood for authentic German food, pay a visit to Oma's Haus Restaurant, which is close to our New Braunfels hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing