We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small details disappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Have stayed here several times, but increasingly less impressed on subsequent stays. Hotel has a lovely setting, welcoming surroundings & eager & pleasant staff. Unfortunately, details are being overlooked, which have a negative impact, especially related to housekeeping. Shower had small spots of mold -- use bleach. Balcony funiture was dirty with bird droppings --- housekeeping should wipe off daily, rather than the guest having to do it. Dirty dishes & bottles from previous guests still remaining on balcony. Broken lamp shade & light bulb laying on desk. Dirty dishes on outside furniture & in hallway, left overnight & remaining the following morning. Cold coffee at the business center at 9:00AM, needs replenishing after original service earlier in the morning. Had to wash "whatever" off the TV remote before use. All little items, but unacceptable lapses for a quality facility. Get your eye back on the ball Courtyard New Braunfels. You could be the #1 spot in the area with improved attention to detail. And am I the only one surprised/disappointed by the hard mattresses, when compared to other Marriott-family hotels?

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the river --- 01-13 or 31 & higher are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyrv-gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear SMVHOU,

Thank you so much for remaining loyal to our hotel and choosing to stay with us several times. We appreciate all of the feedback we can get and are continually striving to improve, so thank you for taking to time to leave us a detailed review.

As a hotel in the top 3% of the brand for guest satisfaction and top 9% for cleanliness, we pride ourselves on the level of service we provide as well as the cleanliness of our rooms and general areas. A few new additions to our housekeeping staff may have affected the quality of your room and I greatly apologize for this. We have addressed this with the staff to have any inconsistencies corrected.

While you are here at our hotel in the future, please feel free to contact our front desk at any time about problems or concerns that you may have, so that we have the chance to address and correct them for you immediately, to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

Sincerely,
The Courtyard by Marriott Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 465 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night just to get away from the world and had a wonderful time. From the time you walk in you know you are at a great place. The receptionist was amazing very nice and took care of all of our needs including extra pillows and towles. The property was beautiful with a great pool, green yard and walk way all the way down to the great crystal clear river. We took a swim and layed out and enjoyed an adult beverage for a few hours then headed to eat at the Gristmill and then to Tavern on the Gruene.

Room was clean with extra pillows great AC, Water was hot, no noise and bed was very soft and comfy. The only thing I wish they had was a shuttle to Gruene Back and Forth so we did not have to cab it down there.

Like I said if you are looking for a hotel to get away from the world for a good price you can not beat this one. All the people were friendly, great room and amazing property to enjoy. We will be back here soon!!

Room Tip: Get ready because the water is cold and if you are not ready it will surprise you. Feels amazing onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

You don't normally find a 'chain' hotel' like this on the river. Very clean, nice rooms, great balconies. We booked a 2 room, 1 bed suite with a sofa hide-away. It had a huge balcony overlooking the pool and river.
Sorry, but we arrived late and left mid-day and really didn't get to enjoy the place very much. My wife says she wants to stay here again when we have a little more time. I'm looking forward to that as well!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

From the accommodations to the exceptional staff to the beautiful outdoor setting...very happy! Only thing I would recommend would be one morirror...only ones were in the bathroom. Maybe the full length could be repositioned into the entry,

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneoftheSistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Clean rooms, nice staff, pool and river. I highly recommend this hotel as you feel like you are staying at a Ritz but paying for a Courtyard. People are friendly and are very proud of their hotel and it shows.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matwen920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights. The surroundings are beautiful. We had a river view room which was lovely. The actual accommodations were small, clean and comfortable, but nothing extra special. We took a walk down to the river after dark, but there is no lighting to illuminate the path.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnetteSanAntonio_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We spent the weekend with two independent / older teenagers. I chose this property because it seemed to have more of a resort like atmosphere.

Each person we interacted with on the staff was pleasant and greeted us - if even just passing in the halls.

The property is so lush and pretty. It is surrounded by large trees including many trees shading most sections of the parking lot - and with the temperature hovering around 100 degrees, the shade helped!

The hotel lobby is not appointed to my taste, but, was nice, spacious and well maintained. The front desk is very minimalistic. It's not the traditional long, high check-in counter. Envision 2 small disconnected work stations. Check in was efficient and helpful. There is a small area set aside adjacent to the front desk which sells refrigerated drinks and some frozen food. The area has microwave.

The lobby is very spacious and open with little clusters of furniture and tables. There is a bar area which has a very limited light menu. There is a huge flat screen tv tucked away in one of the furniture clusters - which was great for watching some of the Olympics after breakfast. There is a small business center with two computers near the elevators.

The best part of this hotel is the large, lush, shaded area surrounding the pool. The property extends down to the river. It's very pretty. There is a small little beach by the dock with a few *free* tubes to float in. In addition, there are a couple of kayaks to rent or you can purchase a guided river cruise. ( I think it's approximately $25 per person for approximately an hour.) There is a large outdoor fireplace and a horse shoe game near the pool.

We had a queen suite on the second floor - it was a very large, spacious room with two queen beds and a pull out sofa. (About 11 pm we realized there weren't any linens for the sofa...so the boys went down to the front desk.) In addition, the room had two flat screen televisions and a small fridge. There was a large desk/shelf area and a very small closet type armoire.

The room was large enough to accomodate 4 adult size people adequately. The decor was not my taste, but is simply a subjective opinion - it's too modern!

WiFi worked great in the room.

The real test is the bathroom and the beds. The bathroom appeared to be immaculate and well stocked. No complaints there. I had requested extra towels and they were provided. Each bed had plenty of bedpillows. The linens, although freshly laundered, were a detraction. One of the sheets had a few small drops of blood stained on them. The bedskirt also had a couple of small stains. I guess I'm really picky - that bothered me. In my opinion, the mattress was sufficient but not very comfortable.

I included the hot/cold buffet breakfast in our stay. It's available until about 10:30 a.m. I believe you can purchase it for $11.95 per person. Cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, orange / apple juice, mini pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, biscuits & gravy, and bread for toast. My husband wasn't crazy about the food preparation but it satisfied the boys.

I feel that the front entrance to the lobby needs attention. The porte-cachere appears to have some light colored / industrial type coating covering the cement. It appeared dirty from all the foot traffic going through the doors and as a direct result was unsightly.

We would *probably* stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river / pool side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CtYankee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyrv-gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear flyhoney,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review, we appreciate all the feedback we can get!

Thank you for letting us know that you were pleased with our staff. We are known for our outstanding guest service so I am glad to know that our staff was friendly and accommodating to your family.

Since this is the busiest time of year we do get a lot of foot traffic entering and departing our hotel through the main entrance and we have let our team know to pay special attention to keeping that area clean and welcoming. I would also like to apologize for your room having a stained sheet. As a Marriott Gold Circle Award Winner, Herald-Zeitung Reader’s Choice Award Winner for Best Place to Stay in Comal County and Trip Advisor 2012 Certificate of Excellence Honoree, we pride ourselves on quality and take care to provide clean and comfortable bedding. This issue has been addressed with our housekeeping department.

One of the highlights of our hotel is our back courtyard area and I am so glad that you found it enjoyable. If you are in New Braunfels in the Fall, make sure to stay with us and relax by the fireplace while it is lit.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
The Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 33 in New Braunfels
565 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New Braunfels
1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
#6 of 33 in New Braunfels
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village

Address: 750 N Interstate 35, New Braunfels, TX 78130-7853 (Formerly Courtyard New Braunfels River Village)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Braunfels
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Braunfels
#2 Family Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range: $124 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a unique location and well rounded contemporary accommodations, the Courtyard New Braunfels River Village is the ideal backdrop for business travelers and vacationing families. Perched on the Guadalupe River and surrounded by century-old pecan trees, our hotel greets you with relaxed sophistication for your New Braunfels visit. Immaculately appointed rooms offer perks to make your stay a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New Braunfels River Village Hotel New Braunfels
Courtyard New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing