We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Could Stay Here For Weeks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2009

After a bad experience of this kind of accommodation in nearby Fredericksburg the night before, we were wary of this one. It was one of the best B & Bs we have ever stayed in. Despite the pouring rain, the receptionist insisted on taking us over to our room, even though she got wet! The room was actually in four parts, bedroom, little sitting room area, kitchen and bathroom and it was immculately clean. There was a microwave, fridge, coffee machine etc. and a lovely little sitting area out front, surrounded by flowers. An antique warehouse and the Gruene Mansion Grill and Bar are just steps away. For later night entertainment, Oma's Secret Garden has live music, beer and wine until midnight. Ask for a room called "Jackie's Hideaway" it has a ceiling where the stars come out at night - it really does, and it's on the ground floor!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JstarkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 342 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2009

We visit here twice a year and love it. Many rooms overlook the Guadalupe River. It is a bit pricey, but worth it. It is in the middle of Gruene with everything in walking distance!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lafayette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

I read a recent negative review and had to write in... My husband and I discovered The Gruene Mansion Inn several years ago and we love the rustic feel. Some of the property is made from original structures which lends to the overall "step back in time" theme. We've stayed in several rooms which are well displayed on their website and have enjoyed all. However, I do get what one of the negative comments are getting at...there is a place that is not on the property that can get loud unless you are in the back. They do not play past 10pm though. Hopefully, that place will change - the food was bad there too. This music scenario was pretty new to us because our last visit was the first time we heard the music there. In the past, we could just barely hear music from Gruene Hall but always enjoyed sitting on our balcony in the evening to listen.

Gruene Mansion Inn is a great place to getaway, but get a spot on the river if you want complete quiet. We love it and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasSoup24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

My then-boyfriend (now fiance') is from San Antonio and we had visited Gruene for the day back in July. When it was time for me to visit again, we decided to check the prices of the Gruene Mansion Inn just to dream. Well, we were floored with how reasonable the prices were and how beautiful the rooms looked, so we booked a night. It was the most magical time, such beautiful property! We stayed in one of the Sunday Haus' and it is 2 story, with a gorgeous spiral staircase and a private porch on the second floor. We felt like we were in the guest suite of a grandma's house. Not our normal decorating "taste" but absolutely perfect for the atmosphere of the entire place. Attention to detail was the key here. From the real front doors (wooden with a key) to the clawfoot tub, the wood and bolt TP holder, and the HUGE beautiful canopy bed!...it was something out of a movie. So romantic and quiet. We walked the grounds and any of the antique shops, restaraunts, and even the river were all just steps away. After a delicious dinner at the Grist Mill next door, we made our way to the alcove on the mansion property with a wooden swing. There he proposed! It could not have been a more perfect place. And the weather was fabulous. As we ooohed and ahhhed over the out of this world breakfast the next day, we made plans to come back for our honeymoon and for years of anniversaries to come.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mrs_lazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

The stay was a joke. We stayed in a "Suite" that was run down and not comfortable whatsoever.

$186.00 PLUS TAX?????

The bed had PLYWOOD under the mattress and nothing was comfortable. There was no where to set your luggage, and the room just 'looked" pieced together...Early Garage Sale? I guess is the best way to describe it.

Do yourself a FAVOR and get a room at another place. $55.00 a night is probably more than this is worth...much less $186.00 Plus TAX!

The music in Gruene is Great, unless the Hotel where you are staying has three bands blasting music within hearing distance of your room. You cannot sit outside your room, and you can hear the bands inside it.

To top everything off, my wife cut her foot on a piece of glass. The room, evidently had not been cleaned sufficiently. I guess someone broke something in there at some point, but the floor was "ROCK" and was uncomfortable, and evidently hard to clean. This is fact...not JUST opinion.

These are only a few of the problems...The Hotel offered us a $19.95 candle at the last minute as we were going out the door. We didn't bother.

Stayed: August 2008
8  Thank Zani57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

My husband and I wanted to take a little break 4th of July Weekend. The first thing I noticed was how pretty much every hotel and airline had marked up their price. Then I thought of New Braunfels which is an easy 4 hour drive from our home. I selected the Gruene Mansion Inn and it turns out the place is wildly popular, but they had a cancellation on July 5th and 6th, which was perfect for us since we were having a pool party on the 4th.

We booked Fireside Lodge 2 which is a 2 room suite. It is centrally located on the property and also has its own little front porch with two rockers. The first room of the suite contains a twin bed with trundle - which would have been perfect had we been traveling with one or two children. The only issue with this part of the room is that the airconditioner is in the main bedroom - but even in 100 degree weather, this room was never hot. The main bedroom contains a queen size bed, two antique chairs, antique furniture and a stone fireplace. There is a refrigerator and coffee maker as well. It's a very charming, rustic room (the photos on the website do not do this room justice) with reclaimed lumber paneling and wood floors. The bathroom features a restored antique claw foot tub with shower, toilet and a pedestal sink. They give you really nice bath amenities including bath gel. The inn is located in the middle of Gruene, right next to the Gruene Dance Hall, The Grist Mill restaurant and one block from Adobe Verde. Old downtown Gruene shops are just across the street and you can walk to a river outfitter (about 3 - 4 blocks) to rent a tube, canoe or raft for the river. There are several other great restaurants within walking distance. The fact of the matter is, this is the best located inn in Gruene/New Braunfels. We just parked our car and walked everywhere. At night, we sat on our porch with a bottle of wine and listened to the live band in the holding pen at the Grist Mill. People would walk by on their way to/from dinner. It's a real casual, kick back and relax kind of place. Many people stopped to say hello and asked how much the rooms were, if they were nice (YES!!!!!) and looked envious that we were staying in such a great place. In the morning, the inn has a buffet breakfast. There are scrambled eggs, sausages, fruit, yogurt, cereal, sweet rolls and then they vary one or two items from day to day so one day we had pancakes and another a Tex Mex Egg Casserole. The staff is friendly and eager to please. I cannot recommend this place highly enough for a fun, relaxing getaway from the city. We liked it so much, we booked another stay in a couple of months. This time we're trying the room called Hayloft.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrincessRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

Once again our stay at the Gruene Mansion Inn was wonderful. Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The staff was so friendly and helpful with anything we needed. There was so much to eat at the breakfast and it was all yummy! Restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance and the Gruene Hall is next door. We can now say that we have danced at Gruene Hall! The river tube float was lots of fun, too. This is our 2nd time to stay at the Inn and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 33 in New Braunfels
575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#27 of 33 in New Braunfels
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gruene Homestead Inn
Gruene Homestead Inn
#4 of 12 in New Braunfels
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lamb's Rest Inn
Lamb's Rest Inn
#6 of 12 in New Braunfels
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gruene River Inn
Gruene River Inn
#7 of 12 in New Braunfels
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1275 Gruene Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3003
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range: $155 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is made up of cottages filled with antiques overlooking the Guadalupe River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene Mansion Hotel New Braunfels
Gruene Mansion Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing