We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time staying at KL Ranch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KL Ranch Camp Cliffside
Bullard
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“first time staying at KL Ranch”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My group has been going to our adult river trip for over 15 years. This was the first time we stayed at KL Ranch. The restrooms were cleaned several times a day and the campground was groomed nicely. It doesn't bother us that you have to pay for showers, it's just part of the deal. I think having some sort of shut off system for the showers is a great idea because what if people just left the showers running? Waste of money for the owner and water. You are there to camp and it's not a hotel. There is more room on each campsite than what we were used to. Nice grass to go barefoot on. We stayed on the river side. Some sites don't have trees but we had an Easy Up and we were barely there in the heat of the day when we weren't in the water. I would have liked to see the grass along the bank where we got into the river to hang out trimmed up,,,,,,kind of scary for me. Didn't want to see a snake, but that's just me!! So KL Ranch if you are reading this, please weed eat the bank, pretty please! LOL. They do lock the gate at midnight and we had people driving in after work that were over 5 hours away and they had to park outside and then walk in and find us with all of there tent stuff and set up camp but we dealt with it. I see a lot of people complaining about even though it's not your camper and you are staying on the campsite and someone else already paid for it that you don't think you need to pay? How would the campground make money? One person pay and then you pile as many people as you can on that same camp site for free? That doesn't make sense. As far as the prices being to high, they are not. They are pretty much within a couple of dollars of everyone elses pricing.We did have a neighbor that was very crazy drunk last year but the campground can't control people's actions. The campground staff did however make a visit to the neighbors and they calmed down. We are coming back again this summer. I polled my group and they all agreed they liked it. We didn't hav eany trouble with the service.

Room Tip: Even though it says it's a family campground, during the weekends, I wouldn't bring my kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ApeyBullard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

we had a friend already camping when we arrived, so they charged us extra to camp on his site. i hear people complain of the rates but not to bad you have to pay to play. there is defiantly partying going on but nobody got to loud. if you plan on camping along river road, expect lots of drinking, smoking, and partying to go down! we had a good time floating and partying in the river, this part of the river is a great spot. being my first time to camp along river road i had a great time and will defiantly be back to KL.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westtxriverat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

just returned from trip to this park, stayed June 6-10th; park was clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. Kinda pricey for a park with no sewer hookups; could use some TLC on the restrooms and having to pay $1/6 minutes in the shower is crazy. Fortunately we had our 5th wheel and holding tanks. Overall, due to LOCATION, the park is good and I would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gdu1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richwood, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

One of the best locations to camp on the river. One of the most expensive as well. The worst customer service imaginable. Give them a call and see what I mean.They don't answer the phone and you get a message telling you their rules on phone calls.Small example of how K&L is.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Weekend of July 29,30, and 31, My oldest son organized a First Ever Father / Son Camp out...He choose KL Ranch Camp for our camp out...First at this time the river was some what low, but setting in the water by these water falls it was wonderful....Toobs are sky high no matter where you go, so we bought a couple for the kids, at Wal Mart....The camp was clean, hot and dry, but we had a great camp site with trees and a good table....If all you want to complain about the bathrooms, then go check in at a Holiday Inn, but if you are looking to just camp out and either set in the shade or get in the River this is the place...The staff were "Johnny on the spot" keeping the trash hauled away and the bathroom where we were camped clean....Just wish some men would stand closer, So wearing shoes to the mens room was a great idea !!!!..Security came by a few times and since we were following camp rules we had no problems, however there was group that had an "Ice Chest Boom box" that they did play till about 9PM, we had no one playing loud music, drunks, nudity, nor any of the other things that could have made our visit bad....Now finally item, we were in a camp site that was by the road, first night it did bother us some but not enough to keep me from sleeping real well...A day playing in the river, and having a small A/C unit blowing in my tent, made the nights nice.....We will be going back in cooler weather....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbaron572000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I have read this from another review actually all that i am going to list are in the other reviews. this place is HORRIFIC. it states quiet time from 11-7am the people at the site next to us were partying till 4am shining there lantern in our tent since we are all packed like sardines needless to say we didnt get any sleep!! i learned from other campers that we grossly over paid for one night of camping. not to mention they robbed us 80$ on tubes we paid in cash and they charged our card anyways. So disgusted with the way these "people" do business. should have known the quality of this place when one of the employess asked me to donate beer to them smh.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldlyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

K&L Ranch Camp is one of the BEST campgrounds off River Road. They are always very friendly and want to help out anyway they can. We have stayed on the cliff side and the river side, both nice camp sites and easy access to the river. We get a group together every year and have been going to K&L for 4 years now. You do have to pay $1 in quarters for the shower which is not stated on their website. This past trip our A/C units kicked on and off a couple of times but since the flooding they have had some electrical difficulties that they are working through. I would strongly recommend them if you want a fun, relaxing, good camping experience!

Room Tip: Both cliff and river sites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carollyn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
3.7 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#23 of 32 in New Braunfels
109 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#11 of 32 in New Braunfels
370 reviews
5.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#9 of 32 in New Braunfels
659 reviews
5.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
5.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KL Ranch Camp Cliffside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KL Ranch Camp Cliffside

Property: KL Ranch Camp Cliffside
Address: 5300 River Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3020
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Specialty Lodging in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer vacations, tubing, and camping. We have tube rentals, showers, and a camp store. We accept reservations and welcome RV's, trailers, pop-ups, and tent campers. Day picnic is also available. Join us for a day of fun in the sun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kl Ranch Camp Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing