We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing Children's Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McKenna Children's Museum

McKenna Children's Museum
801 West San Antonio Street, New Braunfels, TX 78130
(830) 606-9525
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Children's Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

While Austin has a respectable children's museum, the McKenna Children's Museum in New Braunfels is by far superior. My son is 2 1/2 and was on the young side for the visit. He was completely overwhelmed (in a good way) by all their was to see and explore. The facility was clean and had helpers come pick up and organize after the kids have displaced everything. The exhibits include a grocery store, space ship, science lab, doctor's office, art room, toddler area, bank, home living, bat cave, out door climbing structure and water play. We spent 2 hours there with my two year old and we didn't spend much time at each exhibit because he was so excited to go onto the next one. Definitely worth the short drive from Austin or surrounding areas to experience this place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    29
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hands On Fun & Education”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Cool place to be in the Summer or on a rainy day. All of a child's senses are explored and the adults have fun too.

Helpful?
Thank Biscuithill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luling, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to take the grandkids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

it's a great place for kids to explore and learn and have fun with their grandparents

Helpful?
Thank psnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fun place to take the little ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I admit, I felt compelled to try some of the fun and games in this gem of a children's museum, but mostly sat around and watched the grandkids enjoy themselves. There is so much to do, and the museum is incredibly well laid out. My only warning would be to use common sense...bring hand sanitizer and use it often. On our last visit, my granddaughter brought a case of pinkeye home as an unwelcome souvenir, but this could happen anywhere that kids frequent. Altogether a charming place!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RedPondRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to take kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Fun for kids of all ages. Lots to do and very entertaining.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Caryn1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKenna Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to McKenna Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing