We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay on the Comal River”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cool Comal Cottage

Beautiful new pool and hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful new pool and hot tub
Beautiful new pool! Beautiful trees
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Beautiful new pool and hot tub
Beautiful new pool!
Beautiful trees
There are 2 sets of stairs for river access
The amazing spring fed Comal River
The view downstream
Bring your pick-a-nic basket
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
New Braunfels, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
madeluia
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay on the Comal River”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This condo was a wonderful place to stay on the Comal River. It was really clean. Had all the things that you need for your stay and had comfortable beds to sleep 6 of us. The owner provided us with all the information you would need to know for floating down the river including maps. He also provides tubes for you so you do not have to rent them. The location was also great because you can walk to town. Also the pool and hot tub was also great for relaxing after tubing all day. I would highly recommend this place and I can't wait until we can return for another visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Well said my friend! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your experiences here so future travelers can see what to expect from the COOL COMAL COTTAGE!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward R
1 review
“Great Getaway Spot!”
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We truly had a great experience with our stay at the Cottage. The room was fully stocked with everything we could possible need, from kitchen supplies to floats for the river. Our host was very attentive and made sure we had all the information we need to make our arrival as smooth as possible. The customized entry code was AWESOME!! No keys to worry about. The property is literally a stones throw away from the Comal River which we loved!! Pool, jacuzzi, grill and the river... what more do you need?! We are already planning out next trip and the Cool Cottage will be our spot.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
Hi Edward, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We really strive to make your vacation easy by having all the things on hand that you are going to need. It makes me feel good when we are able to do this and provide you with a wonderful vacation. We look forward to your return! -Reed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GirlsTou...
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location on Comal River”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This 2 Bedroom 2 Full Bathroom unit on the top floor of well kept, resort condominium is in a great location right on the Comal River. With tubes and a compressor in the unit, you can tube all day on River without the cost or the wait from renting at one of the many local tubing operations, The unit is clean with a top floor balcony overlooking the large swimming pool with hot tub and picnic area with grills on the edge of the river. A great spot for your morning coffee, although there are many restaurants, cafes and bars nearby as well. The kitchen is well equipped with the necessary equipment to make family meals, The famous Schlitterbauhn Water Park is less than 10 minutes but check the park hours as they are seasonal. Downtown New Braunfels is historic and quaint with lots of shops and restaurants and the historic dance hall where whether you have boots or not you can do the "boot scootin boogie" with everyone else!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Sounds like you and your group had a great time and were able to find all the wonderful things that attract visitors to our area. Most of all I am SO HAPPY THAT YOU FOUND ME and my special place on the river! I hope you find the opportunity to return soon. -Reed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rberumen
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect for our family!”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just back from Texas and we already miss it! Cool Comal Cottage was perfect for our family of 5. The kids loved the pool and the river. Everything was clean and in order. We could not ask for more!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ortizosca...
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

It was a very pleasant experience my stay in the Comal Cotage Condos. Reed Helmy was very helpful and always available during the whole process. Starting with the booking and all the way to my check out. We found everything needed in the unit to have a great stay and we really enjoyed our vacation at Comal River. I would recommend the stay 100% to my friends and family.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Hi Oscar,
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the COOL COMAL COTTAGE. It really is a fantastic location and best place to stay on the Comal River. I hope when you get ready to return, you will contact me again.
Reed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim F
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What a FANTASTIC place! We were pleasantly surprised at how charming and relaxing the Cool Comal Cottage was. Rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable, with good beds, TVs and plenty of storage. The kitchen had everything we could possibly need to cook a meal. The living area was cozy and had a nice fireplace for cooler evenings. We really enjoyed sitting out on the balcony each morning for coffee and each night relaxing with a glass of wine. The condo has a great view of the Comal River, as well as the pool and hot tub. If you are coming for Wurstfest, this is the perfect place, since it is within walking distance from the grounds. If you are coming to float the river, the location is right on the river, and tubes are even provided. The owner, Reed, was a pleasure to work with. He sent us very detailed information on the place, the area and answered every question we had. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
768oregon
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Days of Relaxing at the Cool Comal Cottage”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Cool Comal Cottage is a beautiful getaway vacation rental that not only offer's 'great riverside tranquility, but a super 'relaxed setting with wonderful amenities. The outdoor pool and hot spa are absolutely fantastic in their park-like setting within a perfect view of the Condo. Everything from tubing to biking, or just leisurely walks through the 'historical German town of New Braunfels is practically at your front door. Access to and from the Condo is effortless and parking is covered as well. Multiple BBQ pits are located throughout the premises with tables as well. Reed, the property owner is extremely hands on with ensuring your 'stay is a pleasant one! From supplying security access codes, arrival info. and all questions answered, Reed strives to make your stay one pleasant experience to be remembered! Just knowing how wonderful all of our 'stays have been here at this property, it's easy to see just why so many people wish to return and experience it again and again. The Condo itself, ( Cottage ) has wifi throughout with a new flat-screen in about every room. For 'summer months, the cool central A/C system creates a 'perfect climate for those indoor moments of relaxation. Reed even supplies a small air compressor and several float tubes for those tranquil day's of river floating. Don't forget! The world famous waterpark 'Schlitterbahn is only a short walk away and is a must do item on your list! Please 'enjoy this 'very special place,

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing