We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy L and L Campground and Store
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We booked this place after looking at a lot of online reviews. We had no issues in finding in the campsite as it was not one of those busy weekends. We conveniently had a grill, water and electricity supply. The volleyball court was very nicely maintained. We enjoyed the tubing..The convenience store was really 'convenient'! They were open till 11 in the night, so we got stuff like lantern, tent nails, more water, ice etc....(yup u can forget a thing or two) We slept out in the open on the grass...and I am glad no one really bothered us about that as we slept in a safe spot.
There seems to be ample space for RV and Tent camping..all in all it seems like we did end up with a great choice when comparing to other resorts/sites at the river bend.

Room Tip: Most of the campsites have access to the river which is awesome. You can always call to see if you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DivyaGupta1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    7
    4
    22
See reviews for
22
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Diboll, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at LL2. It's the Lazy L&L satellite camp site, down the road from the Lazy L&L. It is smaller and more secluded. There is only one row of campsites. The river is down a small slope on one side and a small road on the other side. We reserved N-Q. There is only a port a potty at these sites, but you can drive to the Lazy L&L and use their bathroom and shower. The bathroom right beside the gift shop was the cleanest. There was electricity and water to all of our camp sites. We really liked it here and will be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifewithaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Campground was great, fishing and swimming was wonderful, but their lack of customer service was appalling! I have never been treated so poorly in all my 26 years! Not only that, it was WAY overpriced and they are NOT dog friendly! I will never be going back and will warn everyone I know never to step foot near their establishment, IF you can call it that! Horrible people!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KaraBee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice campground. Maintained Facilites. Both nights had loud parties but somewhat tolerable. Office staff were courteous and proactive. Camp store has just about anything you need in case you forget something. Suggest bringing your own firewood/charcoal as the camp store is a bit pricier.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is the nicest campground and RV park on River Road - hands down. We've stayed at this campground over Memorial Day, Fourth of July and Labor Day. We've been here when it was packed and we've been here during the week when it is very, very quiet.

The owners and staff make sure this campground is clean. There isn't any trash (or very little) during the rush and by Sunday afternoon the entire campground has been cleaned thoroughly - which is a feat in itself because there can be (literally) thousands of people here during the holidays and summer weekends. The owners are committed to providing a campground which is fun and yet not wild like many other river campgrounds in the area.

There are police officers on duty during the weekends and during the holidays to keep everyone safe and eliminate any problems. We've seen them break up fights at the tube rental area. We've seen them repeatedly ask campers with loud or vulgar music to turn it down and be respectful of their neighbors. If a group repeatedly refuses to do as asked - yes, they will be asked to leave.

The bands on the summer weekends are a nice treat and it's free for those of us who are campers. It's only $5 for outside guests. The food at the dance hall grill is a real surprise… It's excellent. The staff has always been very nice to us and to anyone else we've seen them work with - even those who are drunk and those who are a bit rude.

If you look at their campground map, they have 187 sites on the main campground. About 120 of those are RV sites and the other 60-70 are tent sites. It appears that most RV sites have an average of 2-6 people per site, but goodness knows how many are at the tent sites. Some look to have as many as 20-30 people per site (the larger sites) during the weekends and holidays. Do the math. That's a LOT of people and vehicles to check in through their gates and to do crowd control. In our opinion, they do an excellent job.

As far as dogs… It would be a bad mix to have those who have imbibed a bit too much, children and pets in close proximity to each other. Someone or someone's pet would most certainly be hurt. Besides, there aren't many campgrounds on the river that accepts pets and it's probably because of this reason. If you have a work dog, certainly there are exceptions (yes, it's the law) and we have seen a few at the campground during our stay. Most are well behaved but there have been a few VERY LARGE dogs that bark while the owners are gone and I would certainly have been afraid that they would bite.

We've been all over the country and have found very few campgrounds that are this pretty, clean, has this many amenities and has a staff that does an excellent job. Most campgrounds this large are either owned by corporations or city/county/state entities and have many resources for keeping the grounds clean and safe. Hats off to the owners and staff of this campground - They do an excellent job.

If you're one of those who are complaining, it is likely that you were one of the people who tried to break the rules, was thoughtless of your neighbors with your music, profanity or actions or was impatient and rude to the staff for whatever reason.

Room Tip: Book early for the summer weekends and holidays - at least a month or two in advance. They are alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

No doubt this is a beautiful campground, but very over priced, crowded, and noisey. We have camped at numerous campgrounds and have never paid this much for camping. I also have to agree with some of the reviews I read, there were lots of rowdy, noisey, obnoxious campers so if you have small children this probably is not the place for you. Everytime we left our site and came back later we had cars parked on our campsite. In my opinion, this is not a good location if you are interested in riding the river. The water is not flowing in this area and the ride to where they pick you up in the shuttle is only a mile down the road and takes 4 plus hours to get there in the river. If you are going to use the shower house, make sure you purchase tokens while the store is open. Yes, it cost extra to use the shower house. On a good note, the live band(s) that they have on the weekends is really nice and the park itself is very clean. This is a good place for all the younger and rowdy crowds to go, but not so much for families of small children or elderly folks.

If you have children, I would recommend staying at Jellystone park about 5 miles up the road. It is not located directly on the river, but there are alot of activities for the kids, great staff, and the camping doesn't cost near as much. If you are wanting to ride the river you might want to check some other campgrounds further down the road where the water is actually flowing a little bit. Like around the 2nd and 3rd crossover areas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexansLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Came down to spend a weekend with family. My sister was staying on the camp grounds so we went to visit her before we began the float. Upon visiting my sister we were asked to leave because we were not paying customers. We explained we would be renting tubes with the company later on when my sister was ready. They would not budge. They told us to pay or leave the campsite. We were them escorted to the tube rental window and watched like a hawk until we got in the river. I have never been to a campsite that charges per person as well. Even with my sister at a campsite with her family they wanted us to pay per person in order to stay in there and talk to them. Also this company doesn't believe in free water or air. It cost 1 dollar for 6 mins of water to take a shower in. The facility that houses the showers are no where nice enough for them to charge people to take a shower in. In the end it just wasn't worth dealing with the staff. We had to wait for an hour for my sister and her family to get ready for the float and we had to do it while under survielance.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aafisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Braunfels
4.3 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
27 reviews
9.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
7.5 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 33 in New Braunfels
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Ramada New Braunfels
Ramada New Braunfels
#16 of 33 in New Braunfels
353 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
#26 of 30 in New Braunfels
39 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
#1 of 33 in New Braunfels
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy L and L Campground and Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy L and L Campground and Store

Property: Lazy L and L Campground and Store
Address: 11699 River Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-2115
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Specialty Lodging in New Braunfels
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lazy l And l Campground And Store Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing