We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable clean room good location”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Affordable clean room good location”
Reviewed November 8, 2004

My husband and I just got back from staying at the Roadway Inn for Wurstfest. The room was a plain "vanilla" hotel room, the sheets were clean, as were the towels. We didn't experience any police activity or loud music, but we did visit during slow season. The ceiling needed to be dusted, but that is not a huge deal to us.

The location of the hotel was a bonus to us, right of 35 there was a McDonalds right next door, a Wendy's and a Skillet restaurant. If we take kids next time, those will really come in handy. The hotel had a small continental breakfast with juice, cereal and milk, waffles and muffins. The staff was nice, and since I booked online I didn't have any issues with being charged twice. The hotel has wireless internet but we didn't use it. The fridge in the room did come in handy, the bath tub had jets but it was still a standard sized tub, not a garden tub.

If you are looking for a unique boutique type hotel, this isn't the place for you. If you like fancy, probably not either. We were looking for an affordable, clean, vanilla room, and this one fit the bill. We would stay there again. I didn't see Wurstfest on the attractions list, but it was worth the visit.

Helpful?
5 Thank Mrs_Funsize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    14
    10
    33
See reviews for
20
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 19, 2004

I thought they have a great pool and Free breakfast and nice gameroom for kids. The hotel could be updated a little but considering the fact it seems to have been there a while it was clean the staff was very friendly and helpfull. I too noticed the police there and was little concered however I spoke with the officer and he siad that believe it or not the cops are called out to all resort and hotels in this area more often than you would think. THe problem is Visitors that come to the area! I did ralize that was the case as I stayed through the weekend! I give this staff and community in that case hands down for the behavior they put up with!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 18, 2004

We requested a non smoking room, and when we arrived, we received an awful smelling smoking room. The sheets had holes in them, hair was all in the bathroom, one of the lamp cords were cut, no clock, no hair dryer, no iron and the air conditioner did not work properly. We requested a room change and received a non smoking room. The room had a better smell, but everything else was comparable. When we requested a iron and a hair dryer, we were told they did not provide hair dryers and did not have any more irons to give out. The room did not have a coffee maker and we were told they had no coffee makers either. The staff members were rude, the breakfast was horrible, and housekeeping was minimal. Each night we stayed in New Braunfels, the local law enforcement were seen in the parking lot attempting to contain the chaos in the pool, lobby, rooms, parking lot, etc. We checked out and opted to stay some where else. I am still trying to correct the charges to my credit card. Next time I will pay a few dollars more and stay at another location.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 14, 2004

What a DUMP!! This is the worst place I have ever stayed. They repair nothing. We tripped over the king size bed frames on a queen size bed. The bathtub did not drain. The doors (we had 2 rooms)
had been jimmied top and bottom. There was no
chain lock on one door. One table was disassembled with the hardware laying on the pedestal. We had one towel and one washcloth per room. Our reservations clearly stated three people to a room. The rooms STUNK.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 18, 2004

This place was very nasty... it smelled awful and apparently is known to the locals to be a popular hang-out for the seedy types. I did not feel safe here and as far as I'm concerned, the price was definitely not worth it.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2004

It isn't the nicest place but worth the price. It is a good place for kids. They have a nice breakfast and convenient location. The kids loved the gameroom.

Helpful?
4 Thank Sherrydb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 10, 2004

I cannot even imagine the filth I had to deal with. The young lady working the front desk was very undertrained, rude, vulgar. I have never heard of a place renting exact same rooms at different rates, just because one is upstairs and the other one is downstairs. I could not even stand in the room for a minute. After arguing with the deskclerk for a good 30 minutes, I finally got my refund back. Instead I went next door to the Motel 6. I received a fresh, clean, cheaper room with a professional attitude. I will definitely not stay at Rodeway Inn during my next visit to Schlitterbahn.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Braunfels / San Antonio
Americas Best Value Inn - New Br...
#27 of 33 in New Braunfels
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada New Braunfels
Ramada New Braunfels
#16 of 33 in New Braunfels
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 33 in New Braunfels
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Braunfels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Braunfels
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Bra...
#19 of 33 in New Braunfels
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1209 S State Highway 46, New Braunfels, TX 78130-2718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing