We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly dim poor excuse for a rodeway inn”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
The Hills TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“smelly dim poor excuse for a rodeway inn”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

1 non smoking room stunk of old smoke
The beds had no mattress covers, and were lumpy and bouncy as well. pubes in shower on walls and on toilet, coffeemaker looked moldy. The TV microwave and fridge wire all plugged into an extent ion cord meant for a lamp or two.
Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyTheHillsTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    13
    10
    33
See reviews for
19
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Last year this is the very last place i would have stayed but they have really cleaned the place up. However the beds are hard pillows are flat we got what we paid for. However they have a little breakfast worthTexas shaped waffles that just made my day. Biggest complaint is that i stayed two days one week apart and the priced went up or they over charged me the second time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had nice stay. quite comfortable, everything worked fine, its in one of good location, everything is nearby.good value coz other hotels were charging more than 200 bucks,,,, one of the thing i would prefer if they have Bar on site,,,

Room Tip: ask for courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike55857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are old and dirty with dead bugs.
The pool was dirty too. We were so hot that my husband had to clean it before we went in. We wouldn't stay here again. Spend a little more and find a better place especially if you are traveling with kids. The front desk staff was nice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanEdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at Rodeway Inn Memorial Day weekend (May 2012). A friend said he'd stayed there before and it was decent. Obviously things had changed quite a bit. This was the single most nastiness place I've ever set foot in. The building was in major disrepair, the staff was not helpful and overcharged, the room was completely disgusting, the landscaping had gone wild and was full of weeds and trash, and there were random people "hanging out" around at odd hours. It just didn't feel like a safe place.

The carpet in our room was so filthy, I only walked on it with flip flops and not bare feet. The comforter and lamp shade had holes/burns in them, the chair was black from stains and the shower curtain rod was falling out of the wall.

I'm ok with "roughing it" and don't have to stay in a 5 star hotel. But this place was so competely repulsive, I had to write a review. We would have changed motels, but since it was a holiday weekend, everything was booked up solid. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G-Fergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganado, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I have been staying at Roadway for several years and can't complain about the rooms or the service but this last time I had my vehicle stolen. The security camera system is the pits. I also had some items taken from my room. I should have gotten a discount under the circumstances for an early check out just as a courtesy but did not.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyv62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I booked 3 rooms for family of 3. 1 Family stopped earlier and stayed more than 1 night and they were calling and complaining to me as soon as they walked into the door. They said, wow, this is the worst rodeway Inn they ever stayed at. They were expecting more. I told them the price was great and it covered breakfast, but I did wish that the quality will be a bit better than Motel 6 or Travelodge.
Anyway, we arrived late so it was dark. We got our room quickly and walked in. Our bed was uneven, 1 leg broke. But we did not want to make a fuss of it. I walked barefoot from the door to the restroom and when I looked at the bottom of my feet, it was pitch black! I was shocked. I immediately banned my kids to take off their shoes (we are asian). Then we tried our best to sleep, the bed was not comfy, very thin sheet and dirty looking blanket. It was a long night...
Breakfast we tried to make the best of it. We got milk, boiled eggs, coffee, we are easy to please. The dining room is as good as camping ground main dining place. My advice is, If you are not desperate, do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank swl1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
1.5 mi away
Ramada New Braunfels
Ramada New Braunfels
#14 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Braunfels
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Braunfels / San Antonio
Americas Best Value Inn - New Br...
#29 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Braunfels
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Bra...
#19 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#25 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1209 S State Highway 46, New Braunfels, TX 78130-2718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing