We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful in January”
Review of Comal River

Comal River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A two-mile river (the world's shortest) that offers sites for family picnics and gatherings.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful in January”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Scenery was gorgeous even in January. We rode up and down the banks taking pictures and watching people fish. Because it was winter, we didn't go for a swim or canoe ride. For us, the relaxation of just watching the water was enough. It was beautiful even for Texas. I bragged about it when we returned home.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    98
    29
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TEXAS, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Slow but cristal clear”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Is small but perfect if you have small kids and young teens I feel very safe! And did not lost them !
Have a few rapids were people help us to go trough , temperature of the water was cold but with the texas heat it felt good.
Is slow , but the water was so clear we saw a lot of fish and turtles
Some young looked having a good time drunks but for the maor part families and not loud or crazy college kids

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MARINELA1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comal River Tubing”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Buy a tube for yourself, $10-$15 and use it over and over. Get in the river across from the golf course just down from the Wurstfest grounds. Float down thru the tube chute get out and repeat as many times as you want. Then float on down to the last takeout about 45 min. to an hour. Walk up the stairs to the street and walk back to where you started, 1/2 mi walk at the most. A great free time. The hardest part is parking but during the week not so much. We went to tube not drink so the can ban is OK with us.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank hornetsc360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Refreshing!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A must see/do on any trip to New Braunfels! Yes it does get crowded in the summer with everyone tubing, but it is so refreshing. The water is a constant 72 degrees year-round and in the summer months it helps with the scorching temperatures. It is also nice to stroll along and see the wildlife.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as fun as it used to be with the can ban”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Before the can ban we would go to all the time to the Comal River. Now you can only have non-disposable containers and small coolers. It makes it harder to stay hydrated. I will stick to the Guadalupe River where there is no can ban!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kitkat681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comal River also viewed

 

Been to Comal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing