We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value hotel, perfect stop over”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really good value hotel, perfect stop over”
Reviewed March 7, 2009

We were not expecting much from this hotel as we only paid $70 and it was booked at the last minute as a stop over on our trip across the USA. We were surrprised at how new and clean the hotel was. The room was huge (but with very thin walls) and the sheets, towels etc all new and clean. Breakfast was included and it was your usual chain hotel fare but the service was good and we felt welcome. There is a pool too which looked nice but we did not try it. The hotel was a 10 minute drive to Gruene Dance Hall (which was the reason for our visit) and there are number of dining options nearby. Fine hotel for a stopover if you get a good rate.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kynetongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    70
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
101
83
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
270 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We needed a quick one-night stop after shopping the San Marcos outlet malls (15 minutes north on I35) before then heading out of Texas on flights from San Antonio the next day. This would be a "plastic hotel" night, after a full week in B&Bs.

We were able to book the Sleep Inn & Suites from the Internet for $74.95 for a king "suite". This gave us a spacious room with king bed, sofa and living area, microwave/fridge, and desk, as well as a flat-screen TV with cable. Coffee maker in the bathroom. Overall, lots of space to spread out our luggage and get packed up!

Check in was easy and friendly. The woman at the desk was gracious and charming and helpful.

Room was hot upon arrival, but that was easily fixed with the [quiet] AC. Everything was clean and shiny and new -- the hotel is young, and there's little wear and tear. Rooms are fairly quiet, but the arrival of a quarreling family at midnight did disturb us for a bit. That is more a function of their bad manners than the hotel's construction, though (people, argue in your own room, or a stairwell...not in front of other guests' doorways!). Bathrooms are large and bright.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing, though lots of food was available. Free Continental Breakfast never is all that good, in my experience, and at least the option to make ones own Texas-shaped waffles was there -- though the lady working the room was obnoxious and notably unhelpful (people had a hard time figuring out the waffle iron, and she was always too busy talking to help). Hard-boiled eggs, though not my personal fave, were at least a source of protein! Some fruit and juices available along with the usual selection of sweet bread products, toasts, and cereals.

There is a small fitness centre on the 3rd floor with some cardio equipment. Also, outdoor pool and hot tub are on the grounds.

Overall, good value for the money, in a convenient location beside the Interstate, just 30 minutes from the SA Airport. Lots of restaurants nearby, from cheap to fine dining. This is a property with nice big rooms, plenty of parking, and friendly front desk staff -- making this a great economical option for quick stays in transit.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McMarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

This hotel is extremely nice.
The lobby area is nicely decorated, and the rooms as well. The place is new, so naturally everything was in great shape. The room had a high ceiling so it made the room appear very big. The beds were nice and comfortable. The flat screen tv was great also. I especially like the fact that it picked up HD channels (I hate watching regular analog channels on HD tvs--the picture is just horrible. So it was a treat to have HD channels to watch). The bathroom had a nice country, big enough so that my wife could sprawl out all of her cosmetics but still left me with space to put my things on it--that was very nice.
Now the cleaniless part. Remember the place is new, so everything was in tip-top condition. The cleaniless was top-notch. The housekeeping did an excellent job of cleaning our room daily. I couldn't find a single thing that I could say was left unclean. I was thoroughly impressed.
The breakfast was good too. Definitely up to standards compared to other hotels. The best part was the breakfast host. She was an absolute delight! I have never seen anyone do their job with such enthusiasm. In fact, she was humming while she was keeping the breakfast area clean. This absolutely made my day!
All in all, one of the nice hotel stays I have ever had. New place, clean, excellent staff. What more could you ask for?!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Staff
  • Disliked — Loved everything!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TAmemtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We really did expect more from this experience. Granted, the hotel is new. The beds are okay, the rooms are a bit small, but that is fine.
The front of the countertop in the bathroom had fallen off and was bare wood and the AC unit did not work at all. The weather was nice, so that was not a huge deal.
It really bothered me that the front desk attendant was way less than friendly. I really felt she hates her job. I did notice that she was there for the duration of the night and I am sure that is a bummer.

Don't take it out on the guests.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — grumpy front desk
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank photopotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We spent the day at Schiltterbahn so by the time we checked in everyone was tired. The hotel room was nice, comfy and clean. The mattress and pillows were just right, "slept like a baby". We stayed in a king suite with sofabed, I also used a roll away bed to accomodate a party of 5. The room was a little snug but manageable. The breakfast was good, the kids really liked the Texas shaped waffle. I'm glad they served hard boiled eggs at least there was some protein ( minus the yolk). Overall the stay was great! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, everything is still new since it's only 6-7 months old--that was a plus!

  • Liked — Very clean, comfy bed
  • Disliked — more choices for breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jaam1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel July 31, 2008. we had a pleasant experience. The motel is new and the staff was friendly and accomodating. The king room was a good size with a flat screen tv. Bed was very comfortable and noise was minimal. Spa and pool were nice. Breakfast selection could have been better; but was more than adequate.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank arrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humble tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

It's a new hotel, so what can I say? Everything is new and we had a nice stay. It's affordable and family oriented. Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vickster32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#8 of 32 in New Braunfels
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 32 in New Braunfels
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#3 of 32 in New Braunfels
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 1477 North I-35, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Braunfels
#2 Spa Hotel in New Braunfels
#6 Family Hotel in New Braunfels
#7 Business Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Gold Award Winning Sleep Inn & Suites of New Braunfels, TX. Located on IH-35, our hotel is located just minutes from Schlitterbahn Water Park, Gruene Hall, and shopping at the Prime, Tanger, and Premium Outlet Malls in nearby San Marcos. You will also find our hotel conveniently located near the Comal and Guadalupe Rivers, Natural Bridge Caverns and Wildlife Ranch, and Canyon Lake. Experience top San Antonio attractions such as the Alamo, the Riverwalk, Sea World, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas within a short drive from our hotel. Our 100% smoke-free property features family friendly amenities like an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, complimentary Morning Medley® HOT breakfast, free Internet access, and spacious guestrooms and suites that let you stretch out and relax. Our modern guestrooms and suites feature useful amenities such as a spacious work desk, refrigerators, microwaves, and LCD TV. Stay connected with our free WIFI or business center, or take a retreat from your busy work day in our fitness center. Dream Better Here® at the Sleep Inn & Suites in New Braunfels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn New Braunfels
New Braunfels Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing