We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grilled Crabs are tasty, but not cleaned very well”
Review of Sartin's Seafood

Sartin's Seafood
Ranked #1 of 56 Restaurants in Nederland
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grilled Crabs are tasty, but not cleaned very well”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Grilled Crabs were tasty, but not cleaned very well. Difficult to get waiter to understand that I didn't want everything deep fried on my plate.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IREngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    33
    4
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Stuffed Shrimp”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We visited Sartin's for the first time - the stuffed shrimp were great and the portion was enough to split for 2 adults. Not so keen on the Barbeque Crab Legs they advertise as there is not much meat in it. Restaurant is simple in layout and nothing fancy, but definitely would go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank queenie430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What's all the Hype about???”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband and I looked on line and asked some of the locals where to go for the best seafood. The first place we tried was Sartin's in Nederland. The Second place we tried was Larry's French Market, In Groves and the third place we tried was Baytown Seafood in Beaumont. We were not impressed with the service at Sartin's. My husband and I each decided to order 2 different seafood platters, both had the "FAMOUS BBQ CRABS" we had been hearing about. All I can say is. BIG DEAL. I'll admit, we are not experienced crab eaters...but thank GOD we has other things besides the BBQ Crabs, or we would have left hungry. A whole lotta work...very little reward. I'll take crawfish any day. We noticed that we only had one pair of "CRAB-CRUSHERS", and when we asked our waitress her reply was "they are all dirty right now." Hmmmmmm...think you could wash us a pair? Or we can just share or bite them with our teeth? The "grilled vegetables" were cold and the shrimp were just "o.k." My husband and I agreed we were not impressed and would not go back again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MariAnna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, TX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Everything is fried.”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The food at Sartin's is good but come prepared for most everything to be fried. I really liked their homemade cocktail and tarter sauces.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Romance23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They got the crabs!”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Best BBQ crabs and fried shrimp. Excellent service.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank wadeslou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sartin's Seafood also viewed

Nederland, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Arthur, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Arthur, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sartin's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing