We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected”

Wrangler Steak House Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Navasota
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Buffet
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More than expected”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Drove out to The Wrangler Steakhouse from Kingwood, Texas for an early Father's Day meal with a friend. We heard about the restaurant from a friend in Conroe, Texas. Believe me, the dining experience was A+. Our waiter, Aaron, was very pleasant and knowledgeable. My friend and I both ordered 12 oz ribeyes, medium well, and vegetable sides. Complementary rolls were heavenly. Steaks were seasoned well, no steak sauce needed. Overall dinner and dessert was moderately priced, good value. The apple cobbler was outrageous! Big enough to serve four people and just like Mom used to make! After dinner, we meandered into the rear bar for a beer and a game of pool. The barmaid, Megan, was very friendly and accomodating. If you are in the Navasota/College Station area, do yourself a favor, stop in at The Wranger Steakhouse. You will be glad you did.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A10146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Navasota, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“home away from home”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

we are regulars at the Wrangler usually for lunch buffet. The food is like Mom's home cooking, we really enjoy it every time

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank c m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navasota, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great daily buffet and a la carte menu - Wrangler Steakhouse, Navasota”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Friday favorite - the best fried and grilled catfish ever!! There is always a great selection of vegetables, and a small selection of desserts. Excellent steaks cooked to order, well stocked bar and friendly service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hortiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Service was Good. The Food was ok.”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Based on previous reviews, I ordered the chicken friend steak. I was pretty disappointed with the taste. The meat was thin and didn't have much taste. The chip and queso were a different story. The chips were incredible and the queso was very good and creamy.

I must say, the service was very good. We were seated quickly and our order was placed promplty. When the server brought out my husband's chicken fried steak, she told us that she asked the cook to cook him another piece because the piece she brought him was small. It looks like they have a pretty good buffet. Most of the people that came in after us, ordered off the buffet, so it must be pretty good.

The peach cobbler was very, very good. It is huge, so be prepared to share.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashleyw889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dated Decor but classic good-home classics”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The interior of this restaurant was from the 70s, but it was comfortable nonetheless. I was interested in reading my book, the server was fine with letting me pace my meal as needed. I ordered an appetizer - fried pickles. Very tasty, but the ranch dressing provided as a dipping sauce could have been dressed up a bit, it was straight out of Hidden Valley bottle. I ordered the 8oz filet, mashed potatoes, and green beans. The filet was tender but fattier than I was used to - still it was cooked to a perfect bloody rare. The green beens were like my grandma used to make - sautéed with pork :). Yummy yeast rolls rounded out the meal. I had two glasses of wine and was left too full for the cobbler (it was tempting). All for 35$ - a deal. I doubt I will be back in the area, but if I am I will gladly return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stryker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrangler Steak House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wrangler Steak House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing