We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clear Springs - good!”

Clear Springs Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Nacogdoches
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nested in the middle of the Piney Woods of East Texas, this Clear Springs location occupies what once was the first refrigerated warehouse West of the Mississippi River. Located next to a busy rail yard, this warehouse was ideal for getting food and supplies to people all over Texas and the United States. Stop in and see history on the walls and enjoy the Best Fried Catfish in Texas as voted by Texas Highways Magazine.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clear Springs - good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have frequented this restaurant several times and always enjoy our time there, and the food. Good waitstaff. (By the way, this review was already over 50 characters and they made me type more just to submit the review!)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 413Duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    112
    29
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Clear Springs was recommended to us and it didn't disappoint. The food was good esp the fried pickles. some of the best we've had. Enjoyed our dinner and will come back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lchamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Catfish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here one night. Great catfish, great margaritas and a pleasant atmosphere. Our waiter was great as well. Great place to eat and drink!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great catfish and casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our family ate dinner at the Clear Springs Cafe while visiting relatives in town. We went on a Monday night and were seated immediately. The place was quite busy but our waitress was friendly and efficient and overall it was a pleasant dining experience. We have previously dined at Auntie Pastas (on the other side of the building) and in general I thought the food there was better than Clear Springs. However, several people in our group had a craving for fried catfish and we were told this was the best in town- everyone agreed it was delicious! We also tried the onion rings- which they claim are the best in the universe- they were good but I don't think they were the best I have eaten. The kids enjoyed their burgers but the fish tacos were a bit disappointing. The atmosphere is casual and family friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fromthebluffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clear Springs in Nac”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and son ate here on a Friday night. It was packed. We barely found a parking spot. We waited in the bar till a table was ready and didn't even finish one beer before they called us. Sirloin steak was what my son and I ordered - my wife had the fried catfish. The fried pickles are some of the best I've had. Our waitress was very courteous and knew what she was doing. There was a table next to us with 25 people and their was at least one of the waitstaff there at all time. I think our bill was less than $70 including the 3 beers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clear Springs Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Clear Springs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing