We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Nijiya Sushi Bar & Grill
Ranked #19 of 100 Restaurants in Nacogdoches
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Overall, I really like there habachi chicken and soup. There food is great quality, amazing service, and quick waiters and watresses. It is my ratings 5 stars.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hooked !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have eaten here several times and I'm hooked. The food is fresh and never disappointing. My favorites are the Shrimp Tempura Roll and Hibachi Chicken ! Also dimly lit romantic atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
310 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“it's okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The food isn't bad and it was surprisingly fresh. The room decor was depressing and the service wasn't very good. They have closed the hibachi room in the back and I have no idea why. It was a fun place to gather. The waiter didn't know anything about the menu or what the difference was between sushi and rolls. Overall, it's nice to have a Japanese restaurant in town. However, like most places here, the service isn't very good. Also my clothes smelled like grease when I left the restaurant. I assume there's a problem with ventilation where they fry the tempura. I will probably go back but I won't rush back. A little more care in serving the food and creating an atmosphere that's not dark and depressing would make the place better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corsicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quite good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

For a sushi restaurant in east Texas, it is surprisingly good. My wife and I shared the the Sushi and Sashimi entree, plus a bowl of miso soup each and one serving of the seaweed salad. The latter was excellent. The miso soup was OK, but could have been warmer. Nothing special flavor-wise. The Sushi/Sashimi was very good but was not as flavorful as we have had elsewhere. It did appear to be very fresh and the serving was generous. Overall a decent meal, but not outstanding. We ate at this place (lunch) in 2012 and both my wife and I agree that it seemed to be better then. We would certainly eat here again. The service was just OK.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The food does not disappoint.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here several times and have had a variety of dishes. The food is always fresh and flavorful. Food comes from the kitchen quickly but the wait staff is slow to refill drinks and bring the check. They just look understaffed some of the time. I will continue to eat here frequently.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mccarthyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nijiya Sushi Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Nijiya Sushi Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing