We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“J. McKinney's”

J. McKinney's at the Hotel Fredonia
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hospital Street
Description: J. McKinney's, the hotel's restaurant, is named for Jack McKinney, co-founder of McKinney Drilling. Mr. McKinney was world renowned for developing equipment used to construct drilled and belled pier foundations. It is that same innovation and creativity we bring to the food we serve in our restaurant. --- From hearty breakfasts to candlelit dinners, J. McKinney's has many dining options to please every taste and budget. Our executive culinary staff can prepare a meal for almost any dietary need upon request. Enjoy mouth-watering certified Texas Raised Aberdeen Beef filet in the intimate setting of our restaurant, or share some crab cake sliders with friends while listening to jazz on the patio. We also offer a full room service menu, so you can experience our restaurant without having to leave the comfort of your hotel room. At J. McKinney's, we take pride in our cuisine and service, and strive for our patrons to have a wonderful and unique dining experience.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“J. McKinney's”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have been eating @ J. McKinneys for a couple of years now. We find it to be wonderful - great food, great waiters/waitresses, friendly hostesses. Back some years ago, the food was not good and they were constantly out of things (like flour to make pancakes!) but in the past couple of years they have, evidently, hired a new chef and his food is really excellent. The ambiance here is terrific.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 413Duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok, but bit over priced”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was very nice looking in decor, however the prices were very high for the food being served. The food was decent, but not outstanding. Overall a bit over rated.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, great staff”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Love this place! The food, in general, is servicable but the people really make the difference. Waitstaff is accomodating, fun and very professional which is in contrast to the somewhat reserved surroundings of the restaurant. Tip: They often have live music at the hotel bar and seating for the show may be crowded. You may want to check with J. McKinney's and see if they are crowded. Often they are not and you can sit at one of the tables near the pool area order drinks and listen to the music without the crowds being a facor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bmg1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“More Like "Pretty Good"”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Based on the pics, I assumed it was a nicer place, however, guess that doesn't apply to outdoor eating. The menu is limited, especially in the area of fish that isn't fried. I guess that is just par for being a typical southern restaurant. Disappointing that there were no oysters, and the appetizer in place was a stuffed tomato with cheese and bacon-not well done, tomato skin was tough, skimpy on the cheese, bacon was burnt hard. I ordered the carbonara ($15), and the bacon and tomatoes in this dish were of the same quality. Wine list also leaves much to be desired, about 4 white wines by the glass ($7). They do have the standard desserts, though they are not on the menu.
Pros: Service was attentive, and helpful, prompt. The food arrived almost suspiciously fast, wonder if it was kept under a warmer. The "Jazz Trio" was playing that night, and turned out to be a foursome. It was a bit loud at times (though you won't be able to hear it inside), but very nice overall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DanStac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“still lovely”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been here a few times lately. The room remains pretty and quiet. The service is hit or miss. Sometimes the waiter disappear for long periods of time. The food could be better. The bread is wonderful. I will keep returning here because I love this hotel and I enjoy the dining atmosphere. It's quiet, you can carry on a conversation and the view of the garden is lovely. Sometimes the food is better than others. There's a tendency for things to be a bit "overcooked" or maybe a bit tired (like they've been precooked). You can sit on the patio, too, but that's a more lively experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corsicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. McKinney's at the Hotel Fredonia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing