We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service, good atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Carreta

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Carreta
Ranked #62 of 100 Restaurants in Nacogdoches
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Winnsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

The staff was very friendly and attenitive. The food was good. I had the cheese enchildas and they were good. Would eat here again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granite Falls, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good authentic Mexiacan food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Good service and good Mexican food in a rustic atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Wingman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Good food, good service, good price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

The atmosphere was pretty cool. Our server was excellent! My only complaint is that the servings were so big that I couldn't finish! The taco soup was different but good. The taco had chicken, onions and cheese sauce. It was delish!! I want to come back when I can stay and have a drink! Oh, the sopapia was warm and yummy!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really great Mexican Food. My favorite place to go.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Of the several Mexican Restuarants in Nacogdoches, this is by far my favorite.
I go as often as possible. I love thier Enchiladas Verde, Tacos and Tamales.
Thier sauces are superior, not that chili & cheese stuff you get served in other Mexican Restuarants.
On the downside this is also a favorite of local college kids who can get noisy. But you can simply ask for another table a little further away from the one table who is disturbing your peace.
Again, thier dishes are quite tasty and weel made. A great place to eat.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TejanaNortheastTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“OK – maybe…”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

The atmosphere and service La Carreta would get 4 + stars alone. The bare concrete floors and rustic setting with the murals, etc. were good. Our waiter was very nice and helpful. Our service was very good.
If I were to rate the food alone, they would get a low 3 or 2 stars.
The best I can describe it was average. The salsa was pretty good and did have a fresh taste. My tortilla soup was pretty good but the taco that came with it needed some help. The queso had a strange taste. My wife’s burrito was not tasty and the rice was actually cold.
Perhaps the local community may prefer a less-spicy version of Tex-Mex than Houston. If that is the case, I would understand the difference. I learned my lesson on that several years back when eating Mexican food in the Midwest (never again). I have actually had better flavor from a regional chain restaurant in Houston than what we experienced at La Carreta.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJtraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta also viewed

 

Been to La Carreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing