We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bargain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Szechuan Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Szechuan Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Had the 2 for $19.99 meal which includes an appetizer, soup, entree, and dessert for 2. Great value and decent food :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jobro912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Szechuan Restaurant Nacogdoches Texas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had one meal at the Szechuan Chinese Restaurant in Nacogdoches. We had a party of six and the meal was okay but not outstanding. The wait staff was obviously from Stephen F. Austin University and not particularly well trained in service techniques.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Qedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best table service Chinese in East TX”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Szechuan is the best table service Chinese in East TX. Pepper Steak is the best I have had anywhere. I used to live in Houston. Worth the trip to Nach from Lufkin

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jbrink4801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“I keep gong back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

They start with good quality ingredients. Try the Heart Healthy selections.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank billferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food in a great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We eat here two to three times a year, and have always found the food to be very enjoyable. My favorite is the egg drop soup and sweet and sour shrimp. The servers are efficient and friendly.

The restaurant is very large and well-appointed, tastefully decorated, and they offer fine classical music in the background. The prices are a little high, but to my mind well worth it.

I noted some of the negative comments, and it seems that they are talking about an entirely different establishment. Maybe the came on a bad day??

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluemax1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing