We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elm Creek Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elm Creek Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Muenster B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

I'm terrified that many more good reviews will make Elm Creek Manor too popular to get a room there. But they do everything so well, they deserve the plaudits.

Elm Creek Manor gets all the details right. The room was luxurious yet comfy and relaxing. The guest care was perfect yet always unobtrusive. There are far more facilities than you'd expect for a B&B that accomodates 10 guests. Snacks and coffee/tea always available. The property is gated so your privacy is assured (important if you go from your room to the spa in a bath robe, as recommended). Somebody here has done a lot of thinking about how to make guests' stays perfect.

Five stars for sleep quality barely captures the essence. With a perfect bed, dead quiet surroundings, and just right climate control, we enjoyed10.5 hours of sleep. Normally about two nights' worth for me.

Of the room options I'd recommend the late checkout - 2pm. Very useful if you've slept well and don't feel much like getting a move-on next morning.

There really are only five rooms - three in the main house and two detached cottages, plus a spa on site. Hors d'oeuvres with the other guests an hour before dinner - all of which was enhanced by enjoyable conversation with the other guests. The five-course dinner was very good, not quite gourmet but very tasty, quite filling, and the wine flows throughout. The other guests were nice people and real world, no attitudes whatsoever.

From Dallas it's just over an hour's drive but feels a world away from everything. We've finally found our runaway-from-home.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

This place is fantastic. Great service, food and atmosphere. Everything was charming, and spotlessly cleaned. The owners and staff make you feel very welcome. Although it was only an hour away from home, it felt like a million miles away from the daily stress. This is the place to go if you're looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway with all of the modern amenities. We will be back in the Summer to enjoy the pool and outside activities.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skylar06v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

We spent one evening at the Elm Creek Manor. We enjoyed the peacefulness of the location. It is a great get away. Pefect to get away from the city life or just a nice quiet time to relax.
The owners Marcia and Brad were very kind. We originally made a reservation for a cottage and we were aware that it stated if you only stay one night you may be moved to a room if someone reserves the cottage for 2 or more nights. When making my reservation it showed that all of the other rooms were booked. Which made me believe that we would have the cottage. We were very excited to reserve a cottage because they each have their own jacuzzi.
When we arrived we were not put in a cottage but, into a room. We kind of understood because we had guessed that someone had made reservations for the cottage for more then 1 day. Once we were in our room we found out quickly that the tub that was in our room was not working properly either. We did let them know and they were very accomadating and gave us an extra hour for check out, Romantic Treasure hunt and a food tray prior to leaving.
I will say we were very disappointed to not have a cottage and kind of feel like the web page is somewhat not truthful. We weren't sure how we were put in a room if all the rooms showed booked when we booked the cottage. We were told that honeymooners were in the cottage we reserved...you usually make reservations months ahead of a wedding for your honeymoon. We made our reservations a week out. I'm not sure how that whole deal works...is it set up so that when you reserve the cottage you are not going to get it and they know you will be moved directly to a room?
Because of the cost of the room we were disappointed we did not recieve what we reserved and not everything was working properly in the room we were put in. Yes, they did provide extras to make up for it. So, they were very accomadating but, we still felt like we spent a great deal of money and did not receive what we had initially expected.
Brad and Marcia are very nice and were really kind to us. We recommend staying but, making sure your reservations are solid and book for more then one night to guarentee your reservation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacymsski2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

We spent our first wedding anniversary at the Manor and had a wonderful time. We arrived late, but the management was very quick to have adjusted our schedule as the acommodate our couples massage.

We were in a hurry to get to the spa building and actually wore the wrong robes (wife wore mine, and i somehow wore hers) which made for a nice memory...Massages were great and very relaxing. Afterwards we were greeted with some cheese and mulled wine and lemonade to relax even more.

We then toured the grounds with Brad (the owner) who was very welcoming. The 2 little guard dogs (Gentry & Roman) were not intrusive at all and only came out when my wife wanted to say hi to them.

The appetizer hour was very nice and a relaxing way to meet the other guests without it being too awkward. Everyone was from different stages of life, but we all had more in common than anticipated. Dinner was off the charts amazing. Everything, including the beef, and free range chicken is local and super fresh. Everyone was head over heels for each course.

The in-room tub was a blast (literally with the jets) and the outdoor hot tub was great as well. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the privacy of the Highlander suite and all of the Scottish relics.

Breakfast was delivered promptly as requested to our room where we once again were treated to some culinary delight. I had arranged for a romantic treasure hunt which was well worth it and a fun way to see the grounds and also take a walk down memory lane as each clue also has a question about you and your significant other.

We were sad to leave, but will definitely consider another visit in the near future as well as recommend it to anyone in the DFW area who is looking for an escape from the bright lights of the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natehops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

My husband and I travel extensively for business. Our 10th anniversary fell at a time we were both home for 3 days. I surprised my husband with a short getaway to the Manor. We were referred by friends and we were thrilled. We stayed two nights in the Austrian and love it!. The extensive grounds are so well groomed and lush. We had a massage in the beautiful spa and were amazed that a resort with only 6 rooms would have so many amenities. The place has such an exclusive feel. We have stayed at some of the top properties in the world and have never had servive to this level. We did a 5 course dinner one night and the fondue dinner the next. The chef is first rate. Wonderful infusions and flavors. Had to adfmit I loved the staff circulating with comp snacks and beverages by the pool. This is pampering! To conclude-the owners were so warm and genuine. They came in during the social hour one evening and told us some hilarious stories. We have since referred two other couples. Hats off to you Elm Creek!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acctgirl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

My husband surprised me a weekend night at this resort. He really did want it to be something special. However, I was disappointed that we paid around USD 300 a night for our stay here. I am fairly well traveled and I can safely say that there are far more picturesque and pretty places one can stay in for USD 300 a night. For one , the site is a little misleading to suggest that the property has 14 acres, maybe so but as a resident you have access to only about half a square km ! I also got a little cheezed off with the description - Luxury Resort Spa. It is a nice bed and breakfast but certainly no luxury resort Spa ! The pool is really small, the spa is a small space (though nicely done and kept) with three rooms , a nice sauna and a restroom. The view from the Spa is nice. The manor itself is beautifully decorated and kept and again is not a very large building. We had 2 other couples (also from Texas) with us who felt that it was so nice and relaxing but we were bored by the next day with literally nowhere else to walk around or do...If you are willing to pay an exorbitant price for a quaintly and well kept manor and a very hospitable host and just don't want to travel outside Texas then perhaps you will be ok with the place. Also, we read great reviews about the food and sadly it was nothing to write home about. Our dinner had a chicken dish which was really dry. Breakfast was nice though. The only reason I have still given it three stars is for the host Brad who is very well spoken and hospitable and for our room which was well kept and clean. But again for the price we paid we would definitely not be visiting the manor again.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pr905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muensterinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Creek Manor, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
It is a suspicious review. Our extremely high percentage of repeat guests & referrals tells the real story. We go out of our way prior to checkout to see if our guests stay met their expectations and ask for suggestions. The property is a private estate on 15 acres. We have many activities that incorporate at least 12 acres of the property. Guests are allowed access to the entire property. We have 6 guest rooms and provide a private spa building, a game room, an outdoor gaming area, a beautiful pool area, hot tubs and rolling hills with many pocket gardens. Our chef has received many accolades. Our spa staff and personnel are all trained in providing attention to detail and service. All this for 12 exclusive guests. We have many high profile guests that return over and over. We are priced well below or at any comparable property. Our guests comment that our website does not do the place justice. The owners prefer guests arrive and be thrilled rather than disappointed. A major film studio selected us and filmed us for 10 days as part of a fall series on bed and breakfasts in the USA. We constantly strive to hit perfection for you. Unfortunately, some times people have unfriendly motives for posting a mean review.
Susie,
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

The adventure was even better than the online reviews I read. The manor is decorated very nicely and was warm and inviting. Upon arrival we were given a tour of the facilities and welcomed with drinks and cookies. We were very impressed with the layout and European decorations. Our room was warmed up with our snack tray and drinks waiting for us. It made us feel like we were “at home”. There is a social hour with more snacks and drinks available in the library – we played some checkers and looked at all the decorations. Time for dinner – we opted for dinner in our cottage. Very good food. (you are not hungry here!) There are many options for relaxing or lounging or if you want, there are games (both outside and indoors), books, movies, a game room with pool table or spend your time at the beautiful pool or in the sauna! We spoke to Brad (one of the owners - super nice guy!) in the morning and got great recommendations for shopping and lunch in Muenster. We will be back...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnsonsinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muenster
7.2 mi away
Lindsay Inn
Lindsay Inn
#1 of 1 in Lindsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
12.5 mi away
Red River Inn & Suites
Red River Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Thackerville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
10.6 mi away
Super 8 Gainesville TX
Super 8 Gainesville TX
#3 of 12 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gainesville
Comfort Suites Gainesville
#4 of 12 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
10.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gainesville
12.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Creek Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Creek Manor

Property: Elm Creek Manor
Address: 2287 FM 2739, Muenster, TX 76252
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Muenster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Muenster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Award Winning Culinary Inn. The charm and sophistication of a European Manor home. Complete farm to table aspect. Owners produce and raise all of the food they serve to guests. Great romantic getaway, ladies group venue or any other celebration or a relaxing break. The rolling, heavily treed, grounds are beautiful and natural. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elm Creek Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Creek Manor Hotel Muenster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing