We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good price”

Herschel's Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Rogersville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good price”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I ordered a crispy chicken salad and...WOW....I could not eat it all! It was a little distance from the hotel, but it was a nice drive to and from, and I got to see downtown Mt. Pleasant...a very quant town!
While sitting and visiting with friends who drove down to meet me, from Oklahoma, a young man, employee of the restaurant, brought us each a small cup of chocolate/vanilla swirl soft serve ice cream....free of charge! How thoughtful! It was SO hot outside, and it was the perfect topper for our meal. The price for the salad was comparable to a place such as Applebee's, and the size of the salad was at least as big as one you'd get from Applebee's, if not larger! Very tasty. The place doesn't look like much from the outside, but then, some of the best restaurants I've been in, in my travels, have been some of the most run-down looking places. Look at the parking lots....if they're full....the food is good, regardless of what the outside looks like!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BWilder13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    15
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

The food is good, friendly service, decent priced and good size meal. Family place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coryography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, solid place to eat either in Mt. Pleasant or Pittsburg Tx.”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We've eaten at the Herschel's in both towns, and I really can't tell the difference in the food.

Herschel's is a good solid home-town type of restaurant. It's not haute cuisine, but it's not bad, either. Think of it as a step above the usual fast-food places. It has the kind of food kids like: hamburgers, chicken strips, tacos, a burrito plate, a chicken friend steak, ice cream, and often some daily vegetables or a special. Kids also get a coupon for the "world's smallest ice cream cone." (yes, they have some pretty good larger-sized desserts, too.) It's a good family-type place: no alcohol and the clientele's conversation and the atmosphere is usually child-friendly. You don't have to worry about taking your family here.

Both locations are attractive and seem clean, and the staff is usually pleasant. You order at the counter, they cook the food, and bring it to you when it's ready.

We've never gotten bad food there: the food has always been the correct temperature and properly cooked. The items are pretty standard, so you know you're going usually get a meal that you'll enjoy eating (as much as you enjoy eating something from Sonic or Dairy Queen) and enjoy time spent in a safe environment with your family.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caprina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than DQ”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

A little pricey for 'fast food' but it's a better alternative to the big chains.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank rocketsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“we like it”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

good food good service and plenty to eat. everything we've eaten there has been good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveler-pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herschel's Restaurant also viewed

Mount Pleasant, TX
Mount Pleasant, TX
 
Mount Pleasant, TX
 

Been to Herschel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing