We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old german town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kloesel's Steakhouse

Kloesel's Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Moulton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“old german town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

its not fancy, but they cook like grandpa did 60 years ago,, probably. you cant go wrong. good food, great price, and nostalgic on all levels.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rodwilliamsmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best in Lavaca County - Consistently!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I have lived in this area for 12 years and have dined at every Restaraunt that has popped up from here to Victoria. Kloesel's continues to be consistently great in steaks, seafood, soups, etc., and the only place I am happy to recommend to my customers! I could not survive without a weekly infusion of one of their delicious filet mignons! Beverly Sanders, Owner - Antiques, Art & Beer

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallettsville, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The steaks, particularly the prime rib is some of the best I've ever had, and I've had it all over the states. Sides, especially the haricot verts (green beans) are fresh and super tasty. The service is prompt and friendly. Yes, you will pay about $25.00 for a 12oz. cut of prime rib, but it's worth every cent and beats big city prices by a long shot!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GC50MH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

It's impossible I think to get bad food at Kloesels. And if you get there on the nights that Harvey Kloesel cooks, you are bound for a meal to remember. He's just a great grill cook. I love the fact that you get BOTH soup (homemade I might add) and salad. And with that they deliver great toasted bread! No need to order appetizers, but they have great ones! For the last several years I have ordered a rib eye. That's my favorite cut and Harvey cooks it just like I like it. Recently I have gone back to ordering the grilled chicken breast with Provolone cheese and grilled mushrooms. I ask him to "lightly" grill it. It is juicy and mouthwatering. My the time I have eaten my soup and salad I might have a little left to take home...which I love to do. They have tasty desserts too if you leave room. During the week they have a lunch special. It's a real middle of the day treat so stop by if your in their neighborhood. They do have a bar and some seating outside for that. They do take reservations. They have a pretty big menu with other grilled items, fish, pasta, oysters, etc. They are $$-$$$ priced depending on what you order. They consistently have good wait staff also. That's important. You can sign up and get $10 off your meal during your birthday month! They are easy to find in a big yellow house like building next to the railroad tracks. I do not think you will be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rtmidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good but not a Destination”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you find yourself driving through Central Texas and in the small farming community of Moulton then Kloesel's is a nice place to stop. Daily lunch specials and open direct from 11:00 til 9. The plate lunch we had of Chicken Fried Steak, Mashed potatoes, mixed vegetables, gravy, salad, dessert and bread at $8.99 was a bargain. This is not a restaurant to drive hours to have a gourmet country meal, but it was certainly good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kloesel's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Kloesel's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing