We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food And Service”
Review of The Big Sombrero

The Big Sombrero
Ranked #12 of 84 Restaurants in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Food And Service”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

From the Dirty Donkey to the Super Appetizer you just can't go wrong with this restaurant. Menu is large but not overwhelming like in most Mexican restaurants. The plate dishes are served with the standard rice and beans and substations are handled with ease.
Appetizer cheese sauces can be ordered with ground beef or even fajita meat for $1-1.50 extra and we'll worth it. Chicken and Shrimp Diablo are out of this world.
Everything is prepared fresh and made to order and one of the cleanest restaurants I have been in. Clean restaurant means a clean kitchen to me and the quality of the food shows it.
They are located on 105 West just pass the Walden Road intersection about 12 miles west of Conroe and about 3 miles before you get into Montgomery.

Helpful?
1 Thank tm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food - will be back”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Tried the place on a whim while in Conroe. Glad that we did. It is rather dark inside. We started with queso with ground meat. Very good. Their salsa is served warm which I really like. I had the tacos al carbon - the meat was very flavorful. My husband had chucked flautas which he said were also very good. The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the rice - I can deal with corn in Mexican rice, but theirs has grab beans and Lima beans... Odd... Definitely will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTravelerLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Guacamole”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Best guacamole made table side. Food is your normal tex mex. Went there one day after church hoping to have a mexican breakfast but it's not on the menu. Settled for the super appetizer which hubby and I split and it was plenty of food. Their salsa is served warm and very tasty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Margie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Tex-Mex in Montgomery, Texas!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Authentic Tex-Mex food served in a festive Mexican atmosphere. Great Margaritas and fabulous fajitas! We love this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingphyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food, HUGE Restaurant!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have been here several times and have each time tried something different from their menu. They make a great white queso! We order it every time we go. I have had the Dirty Donkey [one of their main/publicized dishes], Spinach Enchiladas, and Enchiladas Verdes. All were exceptionally delicious! The atmosphere is welcoming, we were always there for lunch. They have very bright and festive décor. From what I gathered, they are a HUGE hit at night, although I have never experience it.

Of all of the times I have been here, we have only received unsatisfactory service once. I was with four other friends and all of us had empty drinks, and after delivering our food, the waiter never came by again. This was actually at our first visit. But, the food was so good, we had to come back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maschalismos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Sombrero also viewed

 

Been to The Big Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing