We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned and run ”
Review of Kickin Ash BBQ

Kickin Ash BBQ
Ranked #50 of 84 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family owned and run ”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The food here is pretty good (when they don't run out of it). I've ordered to go orders and both times they've messed up the order. So take your chances.

Helpful?
Thank Kristie9901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gotta Get The Pulled Pork!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you stop in here you must try the pulled pork sandwich on grilled toast. To. Die. For! I've been here several times and always get this so I can't recommend other items on the menu - yet. Good hometown folks own the restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Bar-B-Que”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have not had bar-b-que this good in a while. The meat was so tender and lean in my sliced beef sandwich. I also had the macaroni and cheese, spicy beans, and banana pudding. They were all great! If I know anybody will be traveling through Montgomery I will make sure they stop at Kickin Ash!

I would gave this place 4 stars instead of 5 because of the service. Our waitress was very attentive but it took her forever to take our orders and then get stuff out. There seemed to be no urgency at all. Everyone usually moves slow in small towns, so maybe that is just the way they work.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella-Berella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredericksburg,va
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We got there at 7:15pm and it became apparent once the waitress came over that they were out of almost everything. Had ribs(just ok, probably had been sitting there for awhile) and brisket(tasty but dry). But there were very few sides.Our fault for just not leaving. Won't be back. Disappointed because I had read on this site all the good reviews. If you run out of food, just shut down early. Nothing special about this Montgomery instution at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saledmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Montgomery BBQ”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This little family run business was a great discovery for us. About a dozen motorcyclists on a day ride converted, and we got seated and served efficiently. The BBQ was above average. My wife and I tired the beef brisket sandwich and pulled pork sandwich. Flavorful, moist, tender. The spicy pinto beans were great. Only open Fri-sun, but definitely a good place to end an outing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kickin Ash BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Kickin Ash BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing