We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place...20 years ago”
Review of Villas on the Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montgomery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas on the Lake
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Montgomery
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great place...20 years ago”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Like most of the reviews, I have to agree that the rooms are a bit outdated and it shows. However, it does appear that they try to keep the rooms and property clean and maintained. There's just a point when something really needs to be replaced versus cleaned (i.e. The carpet). Overall, my family had a nice stay here. The location is quiet and close to lots of restaurants. The pools were clean and the rooms were spacious. I didn't see many other lodging options and the Lake Conroe area is far enough away from the busy city, but close enough to enjoy all of the amenities. Keep your expectations in check and you shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    7
    13
    20
See reviews for
28
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goldsboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We have stayed in many condos, some luxurious, some basic, but this has to be the worst ever. The living room furniture looked like it had been rescued from the junk heap. We would not sit on the chairs because they were so filthy. when we complained we were given extra sheets to put on them. The pools were ok but one had a lot of algae on the sides. We had driven all the way from NC to spend a week here and I can't begin to express our dissapointment

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Puterface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montgomery hotels

Newport News, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Well I was on this trip with my husband it was our birthday week and we wanted to spend it in the new city (HOUSTON) which we are going to be moving to in the next few months so why not use our timeshare to do so, well there was nothing in Houston so they said this was the closest so we chose it, on the website it looked okay nothing fancy, and modern which we both are use to but we said those were old pictures from like the late 1990's to early 2000 so the place should look a lot different by now. OH was we WRONG.. we reached the villas and we walked into the lobby to check in and from there I was already having that nervous feeling in my stomach, it was old and looked like a lobby to a old motel, so not the Marriotts or Hiltons, our room was not ready yet and we had to wait about 15 mins so once we got our keys we headed to the room, once we opened the door it looked like the pictures on the website, literally. But OLD>>> so we drop our bags and my husband and i started going over the list of everything that is in the kitchen (EVERYONE WHO DOES TIMESHARES KNOWS THE LIST...LOL CASUE IF ANYTHING IS MISSING OFF THAT LIST WHEN YOU CHECKOUT U WILL HAVE TO PAY FOR A REPLACEMENT AND SOMETHING THAT COST $1.00 CAN COST NOW $20.00) so my husband opens the refrigerator door and the dame handle completely come unattached. I was looked at him and said what did you do he says nothing just opening the fridge he looks at it and saw that this was something that a previous visitor did cause there was superglue residue from when they tried to fix it. We both just looked at each other and could not help it and laughed, then I tried to call the lobby to inform them so we won't be the ones blamed for it, the phones did not work had a dial tone but was not able to dial anything, the furniture here was horrible stains, on chairs and sofas, beds that was very uncomfortable, the linens was even horrible they smelled OLD, there was no WIFI no internet access now come on who has no internet access these days, but all in all there was some good things it was very spacious for me and my husband,was very quiet and peaceful great for relaxing, the area CONROE was a great place lots of stores one was WALMART as long as there is one I am good..lol and the lake is right there we did get to enjoy jet skiing for the first time that was so awesome so if you are looking for a modern and fancy and all the up to date living like we all are then this is not the place for you..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCCruz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Couldn't believe how badly it has been maintained. No shades on the tall windows, to tall for us to cover up with towels or something. As soon as the sun came up, it woke all of us up. Nasty rust looking stuff started coming into the water, bathrooms & kitchen sink the last 2 days of our stay. Old run down couch & chairs. We fought roaches & ants. We were ready to leave on a Sunday. There's a sign on the office window stating when they are open, which says they're open on Sunday. So we waited & waited, finally started making calls. Found out they are closed on Sundays. They should change their sign. But the staff is very friendly. It's a quiet place. Pool was nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TXDeetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We have been an RCI memebr since 1983, and have never stayed in a resort as poorly maintained as this one. The worst part is our unit has gotten wet and there was mold growing on the living room carpet. The water damage was so bad that a hole had developed in the first floor bedroom wall from rot. We left after one night. The only good news was that we called RCI the next morning and they found us a great unit 2 miles down the road.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safetybobann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

As an avid group of timeshare owners (Diamond Gold Elite) and travelers to numerous resorts over the years, this place was the worst resort we have stayed in. I honestly can't really think of a good thing except for the fact that the woman at the desk seemed very nice at check-in, but other than that wasn't around or couldn't do anything about any problems we brought up.

Cons
Asked for a crib and got a pack-n-play for my 22-month old son. Sleeping in a play pen is not ideal.
Five minutes after check-in there was no one at the desk, door was locked. (This happened on numerous occasions throughout the week to us and others that we spoke with)
Pot holders looked about 50 years old, that's how ratty and disgusting they were.
Furniture was worn, couch cushions flat as a pancake, who knows about the pull-out.
We wanted a 3 bedroom but were told they were full to capacity, yet there were never that many cars or people in the place.
Filthy, filthy pools and hot tubs!!!!!! Saw them cleaned once after and 80+ day when people were using them.
A/C did not work well. The filter looked like it had not been changed in years. No wonder it didn't work!
Playground had nails poking up through wood. DANGEROUS! One concern was addressed and fixed the day after my husband told the front office at least.
Only 6 towels for 5 people for a week and no mid-week cleaning and replacement like every other resort we have stayed at.
Dead bugs and cobwebs under the vanity in one bathroom.
One toilet did not work properly.
Every faucet dripped and one shower dripped.
Water for a shower was boiling hot or cold, no midrange adjustment.
One remote, three TVs. They did provide two more remotes when asked.
One TV kept cutting in and out like bad cell phone reception.
Heard from others that they charged for a basketball, deck of cards, etc. and it was non-refundable even after the equipment was returned.
No free internet! Doesn't everyone have that these days.
No free local calls, come on, really!!!
Had to punch in a gate code to enter, yet the exit was always open?!
Verticals in bedroom did not open, broken, no handle to turn or anything.
Sliding doors had no proper locks, only a bar to keep them from opening.
Didn't know about the deadbold until the day we left. Had to turn the handle up?! Never saw that before, but maybe that's just me.
Parking in the back by the sliding door, but used the key in front, walk around the building to open up and then use the slider.

All in all, I whole-heartedly agree with the other unfavorable reviews. At least it was a timeshare exchange so we did not pay for it directly. Anyone who pays for this place is crazy. Maybe Diamond (previously Sunterra) is not paying attention to this one and will be rid of it, sooner would be better than later. As a "Diamond" resort, it fails miserably!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieO1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Our unit was dirty and poorly maintained. The ice maker didn't work; the floor in the kitchen was torn up where someone had moved the refrigerator out; the bathrooms were dirty and we had to complain three times before anything was done; the gas fireplace didn't work; the furniture smelled and was worn. Finally on the third day of our stay housekeeping came in and cleaned the bathrooms. Their landscapers came in early one morning and started their equipment at about 7:30 - 8:00 a.m. They sprayed grass all over our car. The manager arrived late and left early. The only bright spot was the service staff that came in and tried to make some repairs. They honestly tried to fix the refrigerator and were able to repair the hot water that was spraying everywhere if turned on in the upstairs bathroom. I think their hands are tied when it comes to the funds to make repairs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosierTravels33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
3.1 mi away
Best Western Lake Conroe Inn
2.7 mi away
Super 8 Montgomery/ Lake Conroe
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Conroe - I-45 North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Conroe
8.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Conroe North
8.9 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Conroe
WoodSpring Suites Conroe
#246 of 516 in Houston
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas on the Lake

Property: Villas on the Lake
Address: 17578 Highway 105 W, Montgomery, TX 77356-5619
Location: United States > Texas > Montgomery
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Montgomery
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Villas On The Lake Hotel Montgomery
Hotel On The Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing