We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to visit.”

Saint Francis Wolf Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ALL VISITS REQUIRE AN APPOINTMENT. Please contact the sanctuary for scheduling. Saint Francis Wolf Sanctuary is dedicated to rescuing and caring for non-releasable wolves and wolfdogs, providing them with a stable, loving, and exceptional home, with an abundance of loving and compassionate care. We provide all of our animals with regular, balanced, nutritious meals; exceptional veterinary care; safe and comfortable sources of shelter; frequent enrichment; and, when appropriate, human or canine companionship. We do not buy, sell, or breed any animals. We also support educating the public about issues involving wolves and wolfdogs, and dispelling the many myths that surround these frequently misunderstood animals. Through guided on-site tours, visits from ambassador wolfdogs, off-site presentations, and other outreach avenues, we provide accurate, engaging information about wolves and wolfdogs, conservation issues, and the downsides of exotic pets.
Montgomery, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to visit.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been there several times with children and without. It is a great work and awesome to visit. They are very informative and let you touch the wolf that they bring out. Girl Scouts and Boy Scouts use this for working on awards.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    17
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brenham, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Amazing Place, Kind Caregivers, and Beautiful Wolves/ Wolf Dogs"”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I took my mom and sister to visit this fall and was mesmerized by these beautiful animals. Jean is an amazing woman, and so are the volunteers/ caregivers at SFWS. One of the best surprises was being able to pet two of these creatures who kindly allowed us this opportunity. My heart is still bursting with joy thinking about this experience. My mom and sister also feel the same. Thanks SFWS for providing a safe and happy home for these beautiful creatures.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible creatrues”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

You need to make reservations, easy. The property is very well maintained. After hearing facts about the rescue of these wolves, we were able to pet a few chosen wolves. The owner is quite fascinating with her travels and experiences. These wolves are rescue only. No breeding is done. After you hear the stories, you want to make a donation so they are able to continued to be cared for. Any age would enjoy this rare opportunity.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CRAZYWILDRIDES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Special Sanctuary for Wolves”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have lived in the area for over a decade and never knew this place existed. What a special experience. The sanctuary is home to home to full bred wolves, some rescued from the wild, others from horrible domestic conditions. The handlers bring the very tame wolves out of their cages for an up close and personal viewing and petting! It was really incredible and a must see attractions for young kids to better understand and respect these creatures.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Captain Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Animal lovers delight”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Took my 9 yr old grand daughter for her birthday. Got there earlier than our tour. Enjoyed sitting on the bench and watching all the wolfs in their habitat. Just an incredible experience. They brought 3 of the wolfs out so you can meet them. My granddaughter was in Heaven! Rev. Le Fevre spoke with all of us about how this sanctuary came to be and was one of the most loving people I have ever met. She is such a compassionate human being. Reminded me of Jane Goodall. The education she gives in such a short amount of time will stay with you forever. The volunteers are awesome people. Only wished we lived closer and I would volunteer. If you love animals or have kids that do, this is a must. This was just so awesome, I can't say enought good things about this place.
Try to visit in the spring or fall. It is outdoors and it will get very hot during the summer months. They ask for donations but if you can't afford one, they will not turn you away. Port-a-potty is available but no "bathroom" facilities. This is adjacent to the home where Rev. Le Fevre lives, on her property.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Francis Wolf Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Saint Francis Wolf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing