We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid even if not a holiday weekend!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Montgomery
Houston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid even if not a holiday weekend!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

I see I'm not the only one that endured a bad weekend. I simply want others to know this place is not for couples. The adult pool is anything but. Kids will be there splashing and destroying your overpriced drink that melted long ago in the heat since there is no shade whatsoever!!! Your car is parked nearby, no worries. It's a dirt lot that will coat your car in a dust and mud film, and when you get it back you might just even have a bumper that's been blemished like ours was!! Overpriced breakfast is accompanied by dirty tables that will leave you scrambling for silverware and coffee all the same. They are quick to bring you the bill though, possibly before you've even sat down at the phantom clean table you've been searching for!
You'll pay top dollar btw! Then you'll pay more in the form of a 'resort fee', that's because there is a pool they allow you to use, and you'll prob want to use it. That's right, a fee for the pool, and the towels that they will come along and take from you while you are in the pool cause 'they are running low!' Your read that one right too, you leave the pool you have hidden in since there is no shade only to find that they have come along and taken the towels you had everything wrapped in to protect it from the brutal sun because 'management' told them to collect any towel that someone wasn't laying on!! Remember, these are services that you are paying extra for!!! But this is a 4 diamond resort that they have continued to tell each and every person who reviewed this place.
Do yourself a favor, avoid this place. Poorly staffed, poorly managed, and waaaayyy overpriced!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEdwards32, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Thank you so much for visiting us over your holiday weekend and for taking the time to share your feedback about La Torretta. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please know we take your comments very seriously, as we strive to make everyone's stay a pleasant experience. Your feedback is valued for the continued success of the resort and will help us to improve in all areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    333
    235
    163
    109
See reviews for
540
266
16
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Went on Memorial Day weekend and the hotel was terribly understaffed. Waited an hour for dinner at the poolside restaurant and when it came it was cold, didn't have any linens for the sofa bed or enough towels (waited an hour for those to be delivered), t.v. went dead and waited over an hour for maintenance. There are no refrigerators in the rooms, so you're stuck eating at the resort, which is very expensive. Our car was valet parked so we didn't know where it was and we couldn't get out to eat easily. One of the biggest problems was no shade at the pools. I think I counted 8 umbrellas and a couple of "tents." If you want any shade, you have to get the pool early to snag the umbrellas or sit under the trees.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkyintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Went up for Memorial Day weekend with 3 kids, ages 13-14. Stayed in a golf villa.

Pros - Villa was very nice. 2 bedrooms with living area. 3 flat screens. Bathrooms were very large. The fitness center was nice, large with raquetball, cardio and weights and free.

Cons - Heated pools in May? The 1 adult pool was heated! It was 95F outside! It spills down into the another pool making that one warm too. The only pool that was cool was the splash pool with the slides. Whose stupid idea was that? The lazy river was ok. No shade at all near the pools. You'd think they'd have umbrellas, something to cover, but only maybe 3-4 tables with umbrellas. Pool activities were all geared for the younger kids, not teens. All in all, the pool area was no where near as nice, shady and fun as ones like Hyatt Hill Country or those type of resorts. In fact I would not even call this a true resort, more of a little kids water park.

The Edge, which is supposedly a teen hangout, was ok, but they charge $20 per kid per day and not near worth it. All the XBOX games were outdated. Our kids got bored quick.

Tennis courts and putt-putt looked nice, but way too hot for us and didn't see anyone out there all weekend. Oh, and they charge for tennis raquets.

They advertise a "beach" where kids can swim in the lake. Don't. It's filled with oil from the jetskis they rent there. The rental guy told me it gets this way a lot. Might explain why we saw maybe a handful of kids swimming there all weekend.

We asked for a small fridge and were told it was $25/day. I got them down to $25 for both days but still, that's usually free. I also got them to drop the $15/day resort fee. Seems like almost everything you do here besides the pools you get charged for. Even charge for kayaks - those are free other places we went.

Food - we ate at the buffet one night. It was ok, but $20 for adults seemed steep and food was just ok, nothing special.

Did not try the spa.

Overall, we won't be going back. Over $300 a night way too much for this place.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mikea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montgomery hotels

Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

We were blessed to go during a time when there were not very many guests in the hotel. The staff referred to it as "the calm before the storm." We had excellent service as at times we were the only family in the pool or dining. You may want to ask ahead of time how many are expected and if there is a large conference there. The rooms accomodate 4 max. I asked for a roll a way bed and was declined due to fire safety. So if you have 4, you need to ask for the king size bed as it will come with the pull out couch. The room with the double bed comes with no pull out couch. The breakfast buffet at Prime was fantastic! Ask for a kids menu when you eat as it was not always provided and had good size portions. I took two 13 year olds and they loved all of it. It is large so familiarize yourself with the property, restaurant hours, etc. Spa services are pricey so get on the email loop to get emails of specials. King size bed was sooo comfy and the rooms and bathroom was beautiful, clean and smelled good. Nothing to do indoors if it rains.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

The service at this hotel was the best I have ever received as an event planner. Everyone worked to help make our conference great . From the valets up to the management, no matter who I asked for help, they always took care of my request. The rooms were awesome, and the details were all taken care of seamleesly. I encourage everyone to take advantage of this best kept secret on Lake Conroe!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpardee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

I took my family (wife and two kids) along with my mom and dad to the Mother’s Day Brunch at La Torretta, and it was fantastic. The service was great, the food was great (there was a huge variety of food), the atmosphere was great and the price was great. We are looking forward to coming back next year. Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TxMike80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

We visited the ren fest in Nov 09 and this was the closest nice hotel. One of the reasons we picked Del Lago was b/c it claimed to have stuff to do at night. Sushi bar, Piano bar, and a sports bar. I called ahead of time to see what those places were about and the lady on the phone acted as if all operated as normal. I arranged for family that lives close to come watch the kiddos so my hubby and I could go check out Del Lago at night. Well, the only thing that was going on was the piano bar and the piano player was gone by 10:30! He was really good BTW. When I went to the desk to see why everything was closed, I was told they were in the middle of being bought out and the new owner is renovating. The breakfast buffet is $20 and so not worth that so I would recommend either packing a cooler (there is no fridge space) or holding off til you get into town. It is about 20 min to the ren fest and we always have fun there. My hubby was able to get in a round of golf and said the course was really bad for what they charge. Also, we were supposed to get a credit with our package and only received 1/2 of what was promised so double check your bill! We will only be back if there is a killer deal.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildblu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lake Conroe Inn
18.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
3.9 mi away
Super 8 Montgomery/ Lake Conroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Conroe - I-45 North
9.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Conroe Near The WoodlandsR
18.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa

Property: La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa
Address: 600 La Torretta Blvd, Lake Conroe, Montgomery, TX 77356-5309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as the perfect retreat for a team building experience or a family getaway, La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa is a resort destination located on beautiful Lake Conroe an easy hour north of downtown Houston that provides the ideal setting for highly productive business functions, extraordinary social gatherings, rejuvenating family vacations, and romantic couples getaways. La Torretta is an easy getaway – a place to go for a great meal, a workout, a round of golf, or for some pampering at the Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torretta Lake Resort And Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas Hotel Montgomery
La Torretta Del Lago Hotel
La Torretta Del Lago Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing