We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room. Crappy service. Dirty Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Montgomery
Seabrook, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great room. Crappy service. Dirty Pool”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Great room. Nasty pool. Very out dated water fixtures and plaster and pool equipment. The water felt dirty and lots of debris floating in nasty lazy river. Alot of trash around the pool and lazy river. There was even a dirty diaper on a chair that nobody cared to pickup. We sat there for about three hrs one day and was never asked by a waiter or waitress for drinks even though several were working the pool. We never personally had food on site but was told by several other guests that the food was very bad in several of the Restraunt's on site. If you like a 10.00 grilled cheese that tasted two days old was a comment I heard. Basically this place is owned by a bank due to a bankruptcy according to google. My assumption is the bank is running the resort with a bare minimum staff. If you plan to play golf, play next store at Walden. The torretta course looked like it wasn't very well manicured and was very dry as opposed to walden which still looked very green. Like many other posted , location has awesome potential with better management.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cavjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear cavjock,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. I wanted to express my sincere apology for the lapses in service that you encountered during your stay. We take cleanliness and service very seriously and I have made sure that our senior management team is following up on your complaints. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again so that we may show you the service we are capable of. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Jaimi Fore, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    353
    248
    167
    119
See reviews for
584
275
16
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was an older, yet still nice resort that offers several activities. They did a superb job accomodating my entire business group. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. Rooms are nice although they do not have refrigerators in the suites. The view from my 16th floor room was awesome. I do recommend this location to other.

Room Tip: Water views are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyTexBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The new owners have spent so much money remodeling and have missed the mark. This is one of the best locations on Lake Conroe. Yet, they have removed what previously was one of the best marinas on the lake. They have removed all fridges and other family friendly items. In an effort to be "fancy" the restaurants have dress codes (I couldn't get into any of them with the lake / vacation clothes I brought). It's all valet parking which is very inconvenient when traveling with children and all of their luggage.
The staff is very friendly, and mostly local folks who are constantly apologizing for these inconveniences.
If you're interested in golf (the golf course is not kept up at all), boating or any water sport, or a family friendly environment, this is not the place.
If you're looking for a "fancy" place that just happens to be on a lake, this might just work for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottTAMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our family weekend at the resort. Excellent location, fantastic food and beverage venues and the hotel was very clean. The staff were friendly and eager to please. Kudos to the leadership at the hotel for putting together such a dedicated team. Can't wait to return again for a staycation.

Room Tip: Try the Sushi- you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houhn_gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Ahant,
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent visit. I am delighted to read that you were so pleased with your entire experience with us from the food and beverage to the service. We strive to make your stay the best it can be and I am so happy that we were a success! I hope that we have the opportunity to have you back again with us very soon.

In hospitality,
Jaimi Fore, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The resort has obviously undergone extensive remodeling and has some very pleasant aspects. We stayed in a 2 bedroom Golf cottage and it was finished to a high standard, but could have done with a little more optionality regarding self catering (e.g. Microwave, cook-top, refrigerator, etc.). A refrigerator can be requested, but even that doesn't guarantee receiving one, especially when the resort is very busy. The Lakeside cottages are closer to the main body of the resort and may be more pleasant locations in the evening with a lake view. The resort amenities are a little more limited than the larger resorts further west, but it is more conveniently located for those living in Houston. We ate at the Lakeside restaurant and were very impressed with the quality of both the food and service at the quoted prices. We would return to the resort, even for as little as one night, but would be looking for potential discounts due to the relatively high price point.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Simon P,
Thank you for your comments. I am so glad that you were able to experience our brand new restaurant Lakeside during your stay, and am so happy t o read that you were so impressed with the service and quality of food that you received. I am glad that you intend to visit us again, as this is what we daily strive for. Please, let me know if I can get you anything during your future stay with us.

Sincerely,
Jaimi Fore, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I read several negative reviews before we visited this resort. Most dealt with poor service. We just got back from a 3 day stay during the busy July 4th holiday and it seems that La Torretta has made a comeback. The service was excellent from the time we arrived to the time we departed. We did have a problem with the room we were put in as the reservation agent said that we would have a view of the water, but we were given a 1st floor room looking out at the parking area. When I brought this to the staff's attention, we were given rooms on the 6th floor that looked directly out on the water. The room was beautiful, especially the bathroom! The bed was very comfortable and we got a great nights sleep. We enjoyed the waterpark, but were a little disappointed when the waterpark restaurant ran out of food early July 4 evening. However, they seemed to have this fixed the next day. One negative to the hotel is that there is not a refrigerator in the room, so bring your ice chest. We did get to watch 4 or 5 fireworks shows from our balcony. Overall, I give the hotel a 4 out of 5 rating.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room as high in the tower as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Patrick H,
I enjoyed reading about the stay that you had during the 4th of July weekend. I am so glad that you had such a great time and that you enjoyed the service you received. I do hope that you will be able to come back again to stay with us again soon and thank you so much for your review.

Sincerely,
Jaimi Fore, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Went for a quick getaway with family. Live in Houston so like the convenience. When we arrived I was not aware they were remodeling the lobby so wasn't sure where to check in. Arrived a little early but we were allowed to utilize the pool until our room was ready. They were nice enough to call us to let us know when our room was ready and it did not take that long.

We were really there for the pool activities because that is what my kids like. Pools are nice. Slides fun but no lifeguards or monitors so you need to make sure you are watching out for your kids. Lazy river small but heated so that is a nice treat. Nice poolside menu so able to enjoy standard pool menu and drinks. They did not have any small tables near pool chairs which would have been nice. There are not a lot of shaded areas or umbrellas available and they should really reconsider this in the summer Texas heat. I have to agree with other reviews that they really need to work on the landscape and lawn manicure. When you are in the lazy river you are looking at a lot of weeds! The beach area did not look like other artificial hotel beaches. Not really kept up and no chairs or anything in that part if you wanted to sit down and let kids play in sand. They do s'mores in the evening which kids always enjoy.

Rooms are nice and the suite set up is ideal for families. The room had a balcony but no chairs to sit out and enjoy the view. If I am going to pay extra for a lake view room then I would like to have the option to sit outside on the balcony and enjoy. Other little things about the room that keep me from rating higher are there were only 2 sets of towels yet we booked the room stating there were going to be 4.

Family Dining options (not including Coco bay by the pool) are not that great in my opinion. The main dining room only had a buffet option for dinner and we really did not want BBQ. They recommended we try Energie which is the sushi restaurant and told us we could order off the menu there. We went there and even though the place was empty we had hard time getting seated and when we did we were seated at a wobbly table that was dirty. We decided the fact that both the restaurants were pretty empty on a Saturday night that there were probably better options outside the hotel. We ended up going to Five Guys and had great burgers. There are lots of chains and dining options on HWY105. We did eat the breakfast buffet prior to leaving. Food was good but had to find someone to take our drink order. The carpet was extremely dirty with food and hard for me to imagine that was all from breakfast that morning. It is also strange that the restaurants are in the conference center area and not in the main hotel.

The one thing I will say is even though the staff seemed stretched thin they were all extremely friendly and helpful. I would come back again but I think there are a few things management needs to work on to make this a top notch resort.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
4.3 mi away
Best Western Lake Conroe Inn
3.9 mi away
Super 8 Montgomery/ Lake Conroe
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Conroe - I-45 North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Conroe Near The WoodlandsR
9.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Conroe
9.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Conroe
WoodSpring Suites Conroe
#250 of 510 in Houston
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa

Property: La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa
Address: 600 La Torretta Blvd, Lake Conroe, Montgomery, TX 77356-5309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as the perfect retreat for a team building experience or a family getaway, La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa is an escape destination located on beautiful Lake Conroe an easy hour north of downtown Houston that provides the ideal setting for highly productive business functions, extraordinary social gatherings, rejuvenating family vacations, and romantic couples getaways. La Torretta is an easy getaway – a place to go for a great meal, a workout, a round of golf, or for some pampering at the Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torretta Lake Resort And Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas Hotel Montgomery
La Torretta Del Lago Hotel
La Torretta Del Lago Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing