We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Montgomery
Spring, Texas
1 review
“Always a good time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have been coming here for three years... We have a great time hanging by the pool. We was with another family and between both familes we had seven children. They had the time of their life! The breakfast was fantatic and the staff was very friendly! I really wanted to stay another day but had to go home!! We will be back soon! I read the reviews from Lesliestotts...Really?? The place is full of kids?? Really..It is a family resort! He or she is definatly wrong..I will assure you!! Thanks again for anther great time!!
CKramer and Family!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    305
    211
    156
    102
See reviews for
511
248
16
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in the lake villas and wow. Clean, nice and plenty to do. We played golf, rented wave runners and visited the spa. I have visited hundreds of spas all over the country and this one is fantastic. Great inventive service offerings and talented polite staff. Pool areas are great for kids. Water slides and a lazy river appeal to all ages. Room service is very good. Have the crab cake. Overall, food in Prime was not great at dinner but all other food was good and we ate most meals at the hotel or room service. Note there are no microwaves or fridges, which can be tough for kiddos so bring an ice chest. They bring bagged ice for free. Definitely give this place a try and upgrade to a lake villa if your budget allows! Super holiday weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F3atherpillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Do not get fooled by the pictures. The photographer must be really good, maybe you should hire him for Your wedding. Service is the worst. The pool is old and full of kids. If you need to leave the property, good luck. Valet is awful. Best part was when I checked out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lesliestotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We used a Groupon to stay two nights. The facility is great, especially if you have kids. Miniature golf, waterpark with slide. Friendly to children. Our room (suite, really) was very posh and in great condition. The whole resort complex is huge and palace-like. View of the lake from our room was fantastic. The swimming pool is beautiful and we really enjoyed ourselves there. There's a separate pool restricted to adults only if you need or want it. All the staff -- from the check in to the waitstaff to the concierge -- were extremely friendly and welcoming to us. The acted like they'd just finished a courtesy course or something. We went in the middle of the week to avoid crowds, and had the place virtually to ourselves. I gather that the resort is in the middle of remodeling, and some areas are under construction. We definitely plan on going back any time we need a mini-vacation.

Room Tip: For view, ask for suite facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank towhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent a Monday night here after finding a good deal on Groupon. The rooms were serviceable, but the whole resort (rooms, dining area, hallways) seem to be infested with some kind of fruit fly.

The water park is fantastic, with a splash park, lazy river, waterslides, and several spas/adult pools. Give the Coco Cafe a pass. The food is resort priced, and decent quality. The onion buns are excellent, but the food itself is greasy. One night we could substitute fruit for French fries, and the next day we were told that was no longer an option. After specifically asking for the Jalpeno bacon on the Brisket Burgers, all three we ordered were missing the bacon. Also, a piña colada we ordered was sour and lacking pineapple juice and other sweeteners. For both instances we had to return to the cafe and ask what was going on. They were gracious to properly mix the drink, but said it would be 30 mins (at least) for the bacon. Given the price we paid for the food, would have expected better service. While poolside dining is nice, I'd recommend piling into the car and running out to Subway or ordering pizza back to the room - food is just as good and service will be much better.

Service in the Prime restrauant was much better (then again, we were the only customers in the restrauant at the time...)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryanyeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Purchased a Groupon voucher for a one-night stay with breakfast to use with my children and a girlfriend and her kids as a fun "end-of-summer" treat while our husbands were travelling. Since we are in Houston, the resort is only about an hour and a half's drive from home, which is nice. The resort setting is lovely, and very nicely-landscaped grounds. I'm personally not a fan of the required valet parking, but clearly the layout of the place does not allow for easy self-parking. Check-in was a breeze, and in fact, the friendly staff allowed us to check-in at noon. That was nice, as we were anxious to begin using the resort's amenities! We had a king tower suite, which was very clean and spacious, with a king bed and bath in a separate bedroom, and a living room with a sleeper sofa with sleek modern furnishings. With two flat screen TVs, kids could enjoy their shows either on the comfy bed or the living area. (The large glass shower impressed my kids!) We all really enjoyed the resort's water park. With an "infinity" pool, a large lap pool, a pool for two big slides, a lazy river, kids play area and splash park, the kids all had something to do...which allowed us Moms to enjoy our adult beverages that were brought to us pool-side by our friendly waiter! :) Other big hits was the evening fire pit with "smores" followed by the dive-in movie. Our voucher included buffet breakfast at "Prime" which was quite good (of course, my kids LOVE an endless buffet!). The kids took advantage of the miniature golf course a couple of times too. All in all, a great stay - we hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: See if you can get a tower suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbornste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for your glowing review of La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take the "end-of-summer treat" you were looking for. We hope that we will have the pleasure of having you back year after year to enjoy a nice staycation with your families. Thank you again for the wonderful review that our staff will be delighted to hear.

Sincerely,
Jaimi Fore, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on our mini-tour of the Texas hill country. As they say...first impressions last longest and I must say our first impression was...terrible. We went across the street to check-in as the front lobby is being remodeled and met the rudest check in staff person I have encountered in a while. Her name is Amanda and she definitely needs to be taken through some customer service training. I will not go through our conversation but needless to say it left a bitter taste in my mouth. Thankfully her colleague (whose name I can't recall) came to her rescue (see how easy it is to remember horrible service)...Anyway, the reason I gave the place 3 stars is because all the other staffers were pleasant-kudos to Valet and the kids club staff. However it is evident that there is lack of managerial oversight. It is a good property with lot's great amenities - pools, restaurants, etc but management needs a handle on customer service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SafariTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear valued guest,
On behalf of La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, I would like to apologize for your experience during your stay. We were surprised to hear your comments regarding our employee, who is one of our best. We strive to go above and beyond our guest's expectations by providing quality customer service and I am very sorry that this was not your experience. Thank you again for your review and for bringing this to our attention, I can assure you that it will not happen again.

Sincerely,
Jaimi Fore, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lake Conroe Inn
18.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
19.0 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
#6 of 19 in The Woodlands
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Conroe
3.9 mi away
Super 8 Montgomery/ Lake Conroe
9.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Conroe Near The WoodlandsR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa

Property: La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa
Address: 600 La Torretta Blvd, Lake Conroe, Montgomery, TX 77356-5309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as the perfect retreat for a team building experience or a family getaway, La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa is a resort destination located on beautiful Lake Conroe an easy hour north of downtown Houston that provides the ideal setting for highly productive business functions, extraordinary social gatherings, rejuvenating family vacations, and romantic couples getaways. La Torretta is an easy getaway – a place to go for a great meal, a workout, a round of golf, or for some pampering at the Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas Hotel Montgomery
La Torretta Lake Resort And Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas
La Torretta Del Lago Hotel
La Torretta Del Lago Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing