We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as before. Pot of tea $3.99!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vintage Garden Tea House - CLOSED

The Vintage Garden Tea House
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Houston
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not as good as before. Pot of tea $3.99!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Disappointed with our lunch this time. We had lunch once again and found that the chicken salad sandwich on honey wheat oatmeal bread was not as good as we had before. I ordered a pot of tea and got to chose the kind I wanted which was an English Breakfast Tea by Twinings. A nice tea but not terribly expensive if you buy it in the store. When I got the bill, I was SHOCKED to find they charged me $3.99 for a pot of hot water with a single tea bag in it. Between that and the mediocre sandwich, we will not be going back. Had to track down the waitress as she brought the wrong amount of change for my friend's bill. Brought the dollars but not the coins. Duh.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ljhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Victorian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent! Tea is fabulous! Prices are high but food is great! Service is good! Very quaint! Great place for a shower! Bridal shower!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful lunch and tea. The quality and variety of the menu were quite unexpected for this quaint little town. Loved, loved, loved our lunch and tea.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TXSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had lunch there today with a friend. It was a little pricey compared to other restaurants although I think all will be raising prices soon. We each had iced tea at $1.99 a glass. We ordered the chicken salad sandwich on 'fresh baked honey wheat oatmeal bread'. Not sure about that. Seemed like a store bought loaf to me. The chicken salad was made with shredded chicken, apples, grapes and pecans. It came with a side of broccoli salad or house salad. The house salad was mixed greens with a couple of tiny carrot slices and grape tomato slices and a few pecans. My friend said the broccoli salad was good. There was a lot of filling in the sandwich. I would have preferred less inside with a smaller price. Cost $9.99 for the sandwich. We shared a walnut fudge pie which was homemade at a cost of $4.99 (high for what it was) and there was a 99 cent charge for some ice cream on top.
The restaurant is open Tuesday through Saturday from 11:00 am to 3:00 pm. There were several tables filled at 1:00 pm when we arrived but virtually empty by 2:30 when we left.
Service was okay. We had to ask twice to get a straw for our tea but the waitress was pleasant enough.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank txlady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Tx
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What Happen To The Garden?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went to the Vintage Garden Tea House several weeks ago. Because of our hot summers here in Texas we weren't expecting the garden to be blooming with flowers. However we were
expecting the garden to be well taken care of - it wasn't. We loved the tea house. It was warm
and inviting and we loved the decor - vintage furniture and china. The lunch was very good. We enjoyed the quiche and salad with homemade dressing and for dessert we had the apricot bread
pudding with ice cream. Wonderful! The service was excellent! We will revisit this tea house sometime in the future - hope the garden looks better next time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tex1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vintage Garden Tea House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing