We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Exhibits”

Monahans Sandhills State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Monahans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nearly 4,000 acres of sand dunes with activities including "surfing", camping, hiking, picnicking and bird and wildlife watching.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
148 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Exhibits”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Amazing place in that it's got great history. The visitor's center has terrific explanations and displays all about the sand dunes which we found very helpful. The ranger on duty at the time was extremely knowledgeable about the sand dunes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lastrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    50
    15
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lots and Lots of sand”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I give it 4 stars but only because it is what it says it is, a bunch of sand hills. Right on the highway in the middle of Texas so it’s convenient if you need to stay somewhere for a night on the way to your destination. Easy to find and not crowded, campsites are level and have a covered picnic table, although if there is any wind at all you won’t be able to cook or eat outside because of the blowing sand that is more like dust. We walked all over this place and never saw anything but sand hills. There were a lot of families camped in groups so it looks like a good destination for family get togethers. Bathrooms and showers were adequate, park was nice and quiet the night we stayed there, like I said lots of kids playing and riding their bikes and I must say they were some of the most respectful well-mannered kids I have run across in a long time. I’ll probably try and visit some other parks when I’m in the area again but if the need arose I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again, if only for a place to sleep.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great For All Ages”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I (age 23) went with my boyfriend and father, and all three of us had a great time walking around on the dunes. I would highly suggest going this time of year. It was 60 degrees outside, and it felt fantastic! We got there at 3:05, and they stop renting the discs to slide on at 3:00, so we weren't able to do that. The cost of admission is $3 a person, and it cost $2.13 to rent a disc for 2 hours, plus extra for any time after. Discs must be returned by 4:00.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monahans, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sand!!!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I love this place!! If the heat gets to you, go later in the day and its cool. The discs are fun. Its a great place to go with your family for a fun day.

Helpful?
1 Thank BriS0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Play like a kid”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

You must rent a disc & slide around the dunes. It was so funny even on a cold rainy day. Take the time to look around at the headquarters, some cool stuff in there. Prepare to get sandy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monahans Sandhills State Park also viewed

 

Been to Monahans Sandhills State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing