We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Monahans
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Monahans
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“nice place but overpriced”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Because of a family situation I stayed in Monahans, at this comfortable hotel, for two mid-week nights in July of 2011. It is an all non-smoking newer facility. The rooms are large, well decorated and clean. They have a coffee maker, a microwave and a refrigerator. The bathrooms are also nice. Each room has an iron and ironing board. The included breakfast has a large variety of choices including waffles, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, eggs, etc. The staff, while not overly friendly, are at least pleasant. The hotel has free wifi in the rooms and a small business center off the lobby with one computer. Though I did not use it the indoor pool looked nice too.

There are very few genuine negatives about this property. The television reception was not good – the rooms have HD television but do not have HD signals. The parking lot is very close to the street, so much so that your view of northbound oncoming traffic is dangerously blocked when exiting from the street on the north side of the property. The hotel has a punitive cancellation policy; if you cancel less than 72 hours of your reservation date you are charged in full. In fairness to them they do explain this over the phone but if your plans changed for some reason you will be out of luck. It was also not the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in.

Overall, however, this is a very nice place. But, it is very expensive, even for the quality of the hotel. We were given the “senior” discount – with taxes our rate for two nights in the middle of the week was almost $300 per room. Comparing the rates of other hotels in Monahans you will find high costs almost everywhere. According to the staff the hotel frequently is 100% occupied; the parking lot was packed both nights we were there. Oil field workers stay here in large numbers. If I owned this hotel and if I could keep it full at this rate I would; I understand that business is business.

Nevertheless if you are traveling down I-20 and can stay a few miles to the east you will find a large number of options in either Odessa or Midland. Because of the competition in those much larger cities you have a greater chance of finding a comparable place for a little, or even a lot, less money. In either of those cities you will also find a much larger variety of places to eat. If, however, like our family, you find that you have to stay in Monahans for some reason and if cost is not important to you, you will like this hotel. Otherwise, I would not stay in this property again.

Room Tip: As the hotel was 100% occupied the night we were there the hotel was not able to honor our requests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oksooner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
8
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Campo, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I have been staying at this motel off and on for the last 9 months. The desk clerks are always friendly and helpful. They have been really easy to work with when my schedule requires a change in my reserved stay. I prefer the bedding in Comfort Inn over the next best motel in Monahans. I highly recommend staying at the Monahans Comfort Inn whether just a passing by stay or an extended stay.

Room Tip: I request the top floor in all motels.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sunsetones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Worst Hotel in Choice hotel chain I have ever stayed at. Price was in excess of $130 with tax, in a town of limited services and restaurants. Night I stayed, both Hi speed internet and satelite TV service were down (entire night), and was not informed of outage at check in. Save yourself at least $50 and drive to Midland-Odessa, Odessa Comfort Inn and Suites has all the same amenities + indoor pool...you can also use the money you saved at a real restaurant instead of a Dairy Queen.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TXC21, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Monahans, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your dissatisfaction. There is never an excuse for providing a valued guest, such as you, with anything less than a perfect experience. During the date of your stay our provider experienced a service outage that affected the internet and cable services. This affected the entire Monahans area. Everyone with this provider experienced this. I hope you can understand that this issue was not under the hotel's control and we kept in constant communication with not only the internet/cable provider, but all of our guests.

We hope that if you return to Monahans you come back to visit us again to see that this is not a normal occurrence and you can enjoy every aspect of your stay. Thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monahans hotels

Ozona, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2010

I work for oil field service company. I along with my crew have stayed at this hotel on a weekly basis for 1 to 2 nights a week for 3 months now. They have plenty of parking for big rig trucks right next to they hotel with no worries. Fitness room actually has weights and it has a mini-golf course to play around in.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone working around the area or passing through town.

The rooms are always clean, the breakfast is great (way better than huddle house), plus the staff is very friendly and professional.

Thanks again for great stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simoncudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We are Choice Hotel VIP members, we stay at Comfort Inns across the United States, we know what to expect. The first room they put us in had papers with writings on them and toys left in the desk and under the ottoman. We were moved to another room. This one had an elephant above us. We asked to move again and they accomodated us. We then put on our swimsuits to go enjoy the indoor pool and hot tub. My daughter jumped in the pool, came up saying something she shouldn't have, and scrambled out immiediately because it was FRIGID! My mother and I got in the hot tub and it was lukewarm. When we asked about how to turn the temperature up, we were told that it was 95 degrees (yes, lower than body temp.) and that there was no way to raise the temperature. We went back to our room, changed, called Best Western to see if they had a hot hot tub and we left Comfort Inn. At 2:33 a.m. and again at 4:53 a.m. our phone rang in our Best Western hotel room. As NO ONE knew where we were and we have cell phones, and the front desk told us that it was a man asking for my mother by name, we figured it had to be Comfort Inn trying to find where we'd gone to for our three-night stay. This was confirmed when a Comfort Inn staff person called our room, asked for my mother by name, and asked her to come back to finish our stay. When my mother asked how she knew to contact us at Best Western, she said she had been handed a note to call us and do damage control! Again, we've stayed at literally 18 Comfort Inns this summer with all of our traveling across this country and we only had one other bad experience, and nowhere near as absolutely horrible as this experienece in Monahans. Please do NOT go to this hotel. You WILL regret it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasScopist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2010

The staff was helpful and caring. The rooms looked like they came out of a travel magazine (Beautiful). The Decorators know a thing or two about fashion and style. There was a pool, hot tub, bussiness center, minature golf, a work out room. The breakfast was supurb. Biscuts and gravy, bacon, sausage, eggs, ceareal, begels, and much more I will stay with them any chance I get. You are the best place I have stayed. Thank you for making my stay above and beyond and be sure to thank the staff for their help and attention.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Tx
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Beautiful, classy new hotel. Rooms were large and beds were plush. Great bathroom with lots of storage areas. Flat screen TV's. Frig and microwave. Beautiful, cozy beakfast area with full breakfast; i.e., fresh scrambled eggs, bacon, and biscuits, plus the usual cold cereal and sweet muffins, and yogurt which we hadn't seen at other hotels, bagels, and fresh fruit. Would highly recommend this hotel. The staff was friendly and personable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BossMan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monahans hotels
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn and Suites by Wyndham Monahans
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#5 of 8 in Monahans
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Monahans Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Monahans
0.4 mi away
Texan Inn
Texan Inn
#1 of 2 in Monahans
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Monahans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Monahans

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Monahans
Address: 2200 S Stockton Ave, Monahans, TX 79756-7517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Monahans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Monahans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Monahans 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located near many local points of interest. Area businesses and attractions, including the Grandfalls Community Center, the Ward County Convention Center, Sandhills State Park and Ward Memorial Hospital are minutes from this Monahans, TX hotel. There are an array of recreational areas, golf courses, basketball courts and a bowling alley nearby. Many entertainment venues and shopping centers can be found in the surrounding area. Several restaurants are located within one mile of the hotel; some are within walking distance. This hotel also offers convenient access to local events including rodeos, vintage car shows, 4-H Club competitions and the annual Butterfield Overland Wagon Festival. As a guest of this Monahans, TX hotel, you can enjoy features like: Free breakfast with hot waffles, Free wired and wireless Internet access, Indoor pool with spa, Exercise room, Indoor miniature golf course. This Texas hotel provides business travelers with additional conveniences including an on-site meeting room, and access to copy and fax service. All well-appointed and inviting guest rooms provide at-home features like flat-screen televisions, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers, spacious work desks, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO and The Movie Channel. Select rooms also have sofa sleepers and whirlpool bathtubs. Connecting rooms can be requested. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises and ample parking is provided.At the brand new Comfort Inn & Suites hotel, both business and leisure travelers can enjoy countless amenities and great personal service. Make a reservation with us today and we'll make your stay in Texas memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Monahans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing