We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet Barbecue”
Review of Pappy's Bar BQ

Pappy's Bar BQ
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Monahans
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Buffet Barbecue”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We ate here for lunch on a week-day trip after leaving the Midland-Odessa Airport. Usually, a buffet is not appealing to me, but Pappy's was so good that I wanted to return as we headed back from our trip but Monahans was not on the return itinerary.
Three of us selected the smoked sliced brisket sandwich. The brisket was also available as a chopped sandwich. We selected different side items. The remaining friend ordered the bq plate with brisket and chicken. Everything was very tasty!
Pappy's service was fast and friendly as it was a buffet. The prices were reasonable for this type of restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12345gran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Served cafeteria style, this is nice stop for lunch. Brisket was tender and hot while the hot links were not very spicy. The sides (especially the potato salad and jalapeño beans) were excellent. Lots of locals eat here. Just good local barbecue.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good and Tender”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very good Bar b q meat was very tender all the food was fresh and hot and reasonably priced would eat here aain if I ever came back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LEAVENONAJETPLANE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

was very good barbeque sandwich and fixings friendly service easy to find from the motel. Was excellent value for the money

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank se w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Out in West Texas”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pappy's BBQ is a nice stop for the traveler, I have begun to make it one of my stops when traveling on that section of I-20.Something different from the chains of fast foods.The chopped sandwich is delicious. The meat is moist and tasty. In fact, I've eaten it without the sauce. The sauce is good, not overly spicy. The service has been good. Monahans is located at the intersection of Texas State Highway 18 and Interstate Highway 20 in northeast Ward County, 36 miles southwest of Odessa. Pappy's is on 1901 S. Stockton, next to the local McDonalds. Look for the signs, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sophisticatedtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy's Bar BQ also viewed

 

Been to Pappy's Bar BQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing