We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Texas Bar-B-Que”
Review of Pappy's Bar BQ

Pappy's Bar BQ
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Monahans
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another Great Texas Bar-B-Que”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Everything I tried was great, I love the sliced brisket sandwich and have it any time I am passing by.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pizza_steve2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monahans, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stop by for fast and good BBQ and sides! Love that you can get smaller portions for the lighter eater!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cute building”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Right off the interstate this place is really cute and tempting to stop in. I don't know what happened to this place. When it first opened it was wonderful but once it went under new ownership it went down the toilet. The BBQ is gross, and I'm being gracious. It tasted almost rotten and the sides were all bland. If you go here, I recommend the water, from the tap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmericanEagleUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Best BBQ around”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Probably the best ribs we have ever had. Fall off the bone good. Brisket awesome!
The beans are also great. Nice interior. If you like Texas BBQ you will enjoy.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HotPocket505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Honest BBQ”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Don't let the exterior of Pappy's fool you. It's nondescript and close to I20, which usually doesn't signal good food. But you'd be wrong. This family-owned restaurant offers excellent sausage and brisket, along with ribs and various side dishes. Plastic plates and dinnerware, but it's BBQ; formality is not required. Decor is positively cowboy, with Roy Rogers greeting you as you enter. The restaurant is clean, the staff friendly and food good.
Neal

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puckerstoppled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy's Bar BQ also viewed

 

Been to Pappy's Bar BQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing