We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stinky Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Mission

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Mission
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mission
Katy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stinky Stay”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have stayed at this Motel 6 4 times prior to this visit and this was the most disappointing one of all. I was assigned a 3rd floor room, non-smoking, but the entire floor stunk up very very bad. I am currently pregnant and the smell made me feel very sick. The room itself did not smell, but I think it would have had we left the door opened longer. I did let the front desk clerk know that the hall smelled really bad and he was a little concerned that I was up there with my family and that I am pregnant. He just said that the south side of that floor is smoking and he was sorry that I wasn't put on a different floor. The room was just the same as my last visit 3 years prior. Same comforter too. The hotel could use a little update, but it was clean. The price is a little higher because of the area, but at a great location. I will come back and stay here again, but will be requesting the 1st or 2nd floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Like Deechee says: "some Motel 6's are better than others. This is definitely a better one." I totally agree. It is a nice and clean Motel 6. Nothing special but everything worked and there were no unpleasant surprises. 4 stars in category "budget motels".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanLBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

So, Motel 6 is about low-cost overnight stays. I get that. But this Motel 6 is 1-star, for sure. The towels are small and thin, and while they do provide small paper-wrapped soap, they do not provide shampoo or any other bathroom amenities. Nevertheless, the rooms were clean, the A/C was cold, and the shower was hot. Coffee served in the lobby all day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel is clean and ok for a one nights stay. Nothing great about the hotel. I am not sure if would staying here with my wife or family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Some Motel 6's are better than others. This is definitely a better one. Service is excellent. Alexis, the manager, is very knowledgeable about the area and went out of her way to deliver information regarding neighboring towns after I made an inquiry. I asked for a quiet room, I received a quiet room. The entire staff was friendly and accommodating. This is a newer Motel 6, standard decor, flat screen television, and most importantly, clean. Despite the busy weekend, the staff seemed to be on top of every last thing.
Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deechee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAM1984
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Stayed for one week. Normally don't choose Motel 6, but needed to watch my budget. This was a newer motel. Had two double beds that were pretty decent. Room was clean. We stayed on the first floor and it had laminate flooring instead of carpet which was nice. Bathroom had a nice tub shower combo with decent water pressure. Vanity had plenty of room for two adult women and all our stuff. Staff was friendly and they have a no noise sign posted at the check in desk. Seemed to work because I don't recall any noise past 10pm even on the weekends. I stayed here for nine nights all total. My only complaint was they only leave two large towels so we had to ask for more daily. But they didn't have a problem giving us more on request. There was one day our room was missed by housekeeping. But that could happen no matter where you stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RAM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mission
2.1 mi away
SureStay Hotel Mission
SureStay Hotel Mission
#4 of 9 in Mission
41 reviews
2.3 mi away
Studio 6 Mission
Studio 6 Mission
#6 of 9 in Mission
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Mission
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mission at West McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Mission

Property: Motel 6 Mission
Address: 1813 East Expressway 83,US-83 at Sharyland Road/FM-494 Exit, Mission, TX 78572
Location: United States > Texas > Mission
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mission
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Mission 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing