We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good - not great ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mesquite Pit

Mesquite Pit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty Good - not great ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Appetizers (Chicken Fried Bacon, Armadillo Eggs, Fried Pickles) were very good.

Ribs were mushy and over cooked. I would describe them as sloppy and without flavor. Falling off the bone is over cooked, and these had cooked even more. Corkscrew BBQ in The Woodlands has spoiled me, I guess.

Shredded beef was a bit sweet and needed more flavor.

The fries could definitely improve, maybe seasoned fries like the Rib Shack in Lawton.

Burgers and chicken strips were also good, and the banana pudding was excellent. Cheesecake was blah.

Clean bathrooms and overall nice friendly atmosphere. Good service,

Ate 20 JAN 2014 at 5PM.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGMONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    61
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great for small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Not a whole lot in choice of nice places to eat in Mineral Wells but if you are ever in this little town trust me go to the Mesquite Pit you won't be disappointed. Our waitress was very busy as was the entire restaurant but she was very good and made sure we had everything that we could possibly need. Our food arrived in good time. We had their fillet mignon and it was mouthwatering, almost tender enough to cut with your fork. I also had a salad with their house dressing that was wonderfully good. Well definitely eat here again if ever in Mineral Wells.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, IA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

OK BBQ, price reasonable, service good. Ribs tender and light smoke, shrimp ample portion and good flavor.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank IowaCzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Restaurant in Central Texas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was in Mineral Wells to go Axis Deer hunting at a friends high-fenced ranch...after a day of hunting, he suggested that we go to this restaurant and the food was great!...we walked in our camo clothes and felt right at home with the local folks...plenty of families enjoying dinner on a Saturday night...the menu was typical steakhouse, but it was prepared well and just like it was ordered...more food to eat than I could consume, which is saying something fro me!...if in town, check out this restaurant if you're a meat lover!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I eat here because we get a 10% off with our Best Western key card. That being said, we keep coming back. The food is always excellent, the service great, and the restaurant is always very clean and comfortable.

Any time we are in mineral wells, we try to stop here.

Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesquite Pit also viewed

 
Mineral Wells, TX
 

Been to Mesquite Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing