We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place...”

Lake Mineral Wells State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A park best known for its rock climbing.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A wonderful place...”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I grew up going to this lake before it was a state park. It has always been a great place to go and still is. The best place in the state for rock climbing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    30
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
604 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“Close to the DFW metroplex”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I like this state park because of its relative closeness to DFW metroplex. About 90 minutes from Dallas. It is quite and not near as crowded as Cedar Hill State Park. I have seen more wildlife here than most other state parks. The campsites, restrooms etc are about average as far as Texas state parks are concerned.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tangojohnDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This Ain't Dallas”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a nice hike through the big rocks along one side of the lake to a point called Penitentiary Hollow. These are huge rocks like the big glacial things you see in New England. We didn't have any problems with the trail on the way in, but we missed a turn in the trail on the way back and had to GPS our way back to the parking. It's not really marked, so if you aren't a slightly experienced hiker or have little kids with you, take the phone. We're going back next week to hike the other side which was closed while we were there due to recent rains.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YouRememberUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Wells, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Something for everyone. Fishing, hiking, biking, camping. The kids had a great time catching perch. The park interpreter has spider walks and other events. Don't miss Penitentary Hollow.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Swimming, biking, hiking, climbing or kayaking this park has it all. We stayed here in a motorhome and found the staff friendly along with a very clean park. I will say it was hot in July and we will come back in October! The trails are great! If you are a rock climber they have a great area designated for climbing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sbri09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Mineral Wells State Park also viewed

 

Been to Lake Mineral Wells State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing