We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Midland at this time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Midland
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Midland
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
608 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Avoid Midland at this time”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Midland, Texas is experienced another boom because of the high oil prices. This La Quinta along with many other Midland motels are taking advantage of the situation with high prices and a poorly maintained motel. I am a bit shocked that La Quinta still allows this motel to be branded under their name with the terrible conditions here.

This motel will not survive under the current management when the oil boom is over.

The good side was that my room was very clean and everything worked well.

The bad side

Pool walls covered in mustard algae. Disgusting!!!! All outside trash cans overflowing with trash on sidewalks. Parking lot never cleaned. Several of the staircases have police tape blocking their use because they are not safe to use.
Upon check in it took the clerk between 10 and 15 minutes to check the person arriving before me into a room. (she was having difficulty finding him a king size smoking room, finally gave him a non smoking room and told him it would be ok to smoke in it because she thought someone had smoked in it before) The redeeming thing she did was apologize to me for having to wait so long. That did help me give this motel a better evaluation.
The breakfast would have been acceptable if they had not run out of food. The waffle batter dispenser ran out and there was still 45 minutes left in the service.

Customers will remember their experience here and avoid this motel in the future. Midland has had booms and busts relating to the oil business. This dump will never survive a "bust". The current owners must be laughing all the way to the bank with the ridiculous rates they are charging and not maintaining this property.
Avoid Midland by stopping 100 miles away where the prices are less than half and the properties are being maintained.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 104 (king non smoking). I have no complaint on this room. Clean and everything wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangojohnDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    39
    38
    61
See reviews for
40
20
21
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The pool is disgusting. Poor kids wouldn't even touch pool. General hotel looks run down, unkept. Definitely regretting this one. I've stayed at La Quinta's before but this is more like a cheap dirty motel except it wasn't that cheap. I'm very disappointed. Hoping that we can change hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Midland hotels

Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Let's start with Safety:
I agree with rdwarrior_12, stair case is taped off with broken steps missing. Huge safety concern if a fire related issue was to occur. Hotel is not taking action to fix this safety hazard. Would recommend not staying on second floor.

Cleaning:
Hotel is not clean on the outside or inside. House keepers do a good job tiding up the room. There is only one so much can do to maintain a room due to worn out dressers, chairs, bed, bathroom, etc. Only item up-to-date is the LCD screen TV.

Maintenance:
My hotel room door does not open, I have to forcefully open and close the door. In the bathroom the tub is constantly running. Last but not least, only half of my lights work in the hotel room.

Overall:
I really don't feel like this hotel is worth $170+ a night to stay here. They should have updated their rooms before they started charging this much due to the oil boom in Midland/Odessa Texas. If they are charging $170+ a night they should take a portion of that money and repair the stair case mentioned about in the "Safety" report. I really feel like this hotel is in it for the money and not for it's customers. I will ONLY stay here again if this is the ONLY La Quinta I can get a room at. Thanks for reading my report, hope it helps out.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the first floor closet to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Lots of bagged trash stored under the stairs and in the hallways.

Two set of stair cases "roped off" with tape due to steps broken in half or missing step- no concrete rebar visible. Does not look llke action is being taken to address these issues.

This is a safety hazard in the event that an evacuation is required due to fire, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdwarrior_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stay at a different motel each week and this motel is without a doubt the worst overpriced motel i have ever stayed at !!I would not stay here for free !The breakfast was a joke one kind of cereal? The employees made me feel like i was keeping them from taking a break ! Nasty mould in the bathroom in room # 235

Room Tip: stay at a different motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Took extra notification to change the sheets, Did not acknowledge that I should not be charged State Tax, even though I presented the proper form at time of arrival. My bill clearly indicates a State employee. I tried to have bill corrected via phone that Friday, & then Saturday when mgr. would be there. I tried to reason with desk person but he refused to give me proper full names so I could present my situation since this person was no help only abrasive and brash. I decided not to continue and will take other measures.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank andrewkP5659YN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Midland hotels
4.7 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#27 of 45 in Midland
63 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Midland
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Midland North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#17 of 45 in Midland
17 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#28 of 45 in Midland
28 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Midland
Wyndham Garden Midland
#31 of 45 in Midland
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Midland

Property: La Quinta Inn Midland
Address: 4130 W Wall St, Midland, TX 79703-7718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Midland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Midland
Midland La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing