We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in America”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Midland
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in America”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying I was meant to stay in this hotel for a week while waiting to move into my new house, I checked out after 2 days.
Day 1 I tried to give it a chance but there is no helping this failing hotel.

Staff... Front desk staff were not helpful, they carried on with inappropriate personal conversations while they completely ignored the guests. They really didn't know what they were doing. The worst customer service ever.
Outside doors did not lock so anyone could come in and out at any time. Even being a male I did not feel safe in this hotel.

The morning of day 2 I woke up to a bug crawling on my bed and a strange mold smell in my room. I went to the desk and was told there are a lot of bugs in Texas and no answer for the smell. No apology or offer to change rooms.
I checked out there and then...
Nothing Grand about the Grand Texan

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard5586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    18
    16
    28
See reviews for
24
8
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is need of major updating. The size of the rooms were nice. Not very close to any decentddining establishments other than the restaurant onsite. The pool was nice other than people in it after hours. The bar is small but refreshing after a long day. The hotel and rooms had a weird smell too it.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool if you want peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crudehauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Midland hotels

Elk City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife found this hotel online, and liked the waterslide, for the kids.
Once we got there, the entry and the front looked wonderful. Once we drove around the side, it was a complete change from the front.
Once inside we realized it was an old Holiday Inn Holidome. The place was in pretty bad repair. Carpet rolls were covering quite a bit of the dome area, they were either repairing the back half of the hotel, or something, as it was taped off with plastic sheeting.

If they are in the process of remodeling them it may end up being very nice, but while we were there, no so much.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Coonbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Texan for 4 nights for a convention in May of 2013. This is the 3rd time that I stayed at a Gaylord hotel and had a great experience. My previous stays were in MD and FL. The Grand Texan was definitely a huge property. Although I have to say that I liked the FL one because of the alligators.

The staff at the Grand Texan was excellent, everyone was very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very impressed with the personal touch of every staff member. It's important to them to please the guest.

Free shuttle service to the airport..... When was the last time you experienced this? In door heated pool, gym, putt putt golf for the children and a tasty Margarita in the lounge!

Indian food option was cool and unexpected.Lunch buffet was great and I enjoyed a hot complimentary breakfeast every morning!

They are growing and upgrading this place and space every single day and they are taking pride in doing so.

I love all of it ! Wonderful happy service oriented people are getting to be a rare commodity today.

Can wait to get back to my home away from home.

Sincerely,
Satisfied Customer

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaLl40261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you like the smell of pine sol and Indian curry food mixed together, this is the place for you. The room I checked into was occupied by another guest. The second room the key would not open the door. I was finally able to get into the third room they gave. The next morning I get up and have ants crawling all over my pillow and nightstand. I will NEVER stay there again!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Room was beautiful. Service was slow. Food was decent. I had to go to Walmart and buy a pack and play for my 21 month old child to sleep in. Most hotels have a crib or p&p for infants. Pool was nice. Room (suite) was clean & a great price compared to regular hotel rooms in town.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomAnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Midland hotels
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Midland
Wyndham Garden Midland
#31 of 45 in Midland
261 reviews
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Midland
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Midland
4.0 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#17 of 45 in Midland
17 reviews
1.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 4300 W Wall St, Midland, TX 79703-7722
Location: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In addition to a complimentary water park, Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center features a waterslide and an indoor pool. Dining is available at one of the hotel's 2 restaurants. A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. A computer station is located on site and wireless Internet access is complimentary. Business-related amenities at this 3-star property consist of a 24-hour business center and meeting rooms. Event facilities measuring 21969 square feet (2041 square meters) include conference space. This family-friendly hotel also offers a children's pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness center. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary to guests (available 24 hours). Complimentary self parking is available on site. A total renovation of this property was completed in 2014. Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center Midland
Clarion Midland
Midland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing