We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Midland
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Texan for 4 nights for a convention in May of 2013. This is the 3rd time that I stayed at a Gaylord hotel and had a great experience. My previous stays were in MD and FL. The Grand Texan was definitely a huge property. Although I have to say that I liked the FL one because of the alligators.

The staff at the Grand Texan was excellent, everyone was very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very impressed with the personal touch of every staff member. It's important to them to please the guest.

Free shuttle service to the airport..... When was the last time you experienced this? In door heated pool, gym, putt putt golf for the children and a tasty Margarita in the lounge!

Indian food option was cool and unexpected.Lunch buffet was great and I enjoyed a hot complimentary breakfeast every morning!

They are growing and upgrading this place and space every single day and they are taking pride in doing so.

I love all of it ! Wonderful happy service oriented people are getting to be a rare commodity today.

Can wait to get back to my home away from home.

Sincerely,
Satisfied Customer

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaLl40261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you like the smell of pine sol and Indian curry food mixed together, this is the place for you. The room I checked into was occupied by another guest. The second room the key would not open the door. I was finally able to get into the third room they gave. The next morning I get up and have ants crawling all over my pillow and nightstand. I will NEVER stay there again!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Room was beautiful. Service was slow. Food was decent. I had to go to Walmart and buy a pack and play for my 21 month old child to sleep in. Most hotels have a crib or p&p for infants. Pool was nice. Room (suite) was clean & a great price compared to regular hotel rooms in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomAnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A colleague and I stayed here last night. This was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. I received a "newly remodled room" which was a room with exterior doors facing a junkyard. The room had a very sour smell that burned your nose as you enter. Luckilly housekeeping came by and said she was running late and would freshen up the place. She sprayed windex on the floor to make the room smell better and left. The sheets had blood and a bunch of food and aluminum foil on them. I didnt eat at the indian restraunt. Luckilly i survived the night but dont recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Texan H, General Manager at Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

I'm terribly sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at our hotel. Please be assured that this is not characteristic of our hotel, and I want to personally apologize for this experience. If possible, please email me directly at lillianreed4200@gmail.com so I can research this issue and solve this problem to your satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Lillian Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Recently traveled to Midland to look over a college campus for possible transfer to the college, I stayed at the Grand Texan, The hotel has a new General Manager very pleasant and professional man, very concerned about me the customer and made it very clear that the hotel was going through some remodeling phases to improve the quality of the hotel for the valued guest. The hotel has an excellent exercise room, and a large pool with an indoor slide, exciting for the younger guest's staying at the hotel. The hotel offers an original eating enviroment with classic original indian cuisine as well as an excellent pizza night. I would recommend this hotel moderately priced and a caring staff to serve the guests needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that are not located in the remodel area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Texan H, General Manager at Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Charles,
I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center. It is our ultimate goal that you are 100% satisfied with every aspect of your stay with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and the positive attitude of our staff. I greatly appreciate you taking a moment to rate our property on TripAdvisor! We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Lillian Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Mouse motel behind the TV stand. Dirty bathroom. Way overpriced!!!!!!!!! We were traveling on Spring Break and had no options. Next time I'll sleep in the car at a truck stop!! Management was completely unconcerned.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Texan H, General Manager at Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Carolyn,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. I do not want you to think that the management of this facility is in any way unconcerned about your stay, it is quite the opposite. Please email me directly at lillianreed4200@gmail.com so we may discuss this matter further and come to an amicable resolution. Again, thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
Lillian Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Midland hotels
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Midland Center
5.3 mi away
Plaza Inn Midland
Plaza Inn Midland
#30 of 46 in Midland
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Midland
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Midland
Residence Inn Midland
#13 of 46 in Midland
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Midland
Wyndham Garden Midland
#33 of 46 in Midland
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 4300 W Wall St, Midland, TX 79703-7722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Midland
Price Range: $103 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In addition to a complimentary water park, Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center features a waterslide and an indoor pool. Dining is available at one of the hotel's 2 restaurants. A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. A computer station is located on site and wireless Internet access is complimentary. Business-related amenities at this 3-star property consist of a 24-hour business center and meeting rooms. Event facilities measuring 21969 square feet (2041 square meters) include conference space. This family-friendly hotel also offers a children's pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness center. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary to guests (available 24 hours). Complimentary self parking is available on site. A total renovation of this property was completed in 2014. Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center Midland
Clarion Midland
Midland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing