We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It's not a bad place but there are better places to stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Midland
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's not a bad place but there are better places to stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

The lobby is very nice rustic decor. It smelled like curry with the Indian restaurant there. I'm not a fan of the food or smell so that threw me off. The lady who checked us in was very nice and would joke around which I like. The rooms were small but newly redone. I was told that I ha a room that was part of there remodeling. It was fairly nice. The bed was new and a little soft. The wifi? Was worthless. Could not get logged in no matter how hard I tried. The lady who worked nights was of no help what so ever. The outside needs to be cleaned up. It's a older hotel they are doing work on. It wasn't bad but there are better places to stay. I prefer not to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Horsefly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Texan H, General Manager at Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We have contracted with a new WiFi vendor and the troubles you experienced no longer occur. As you stated, our property is in the midst of a complete renovation and refurbishment. We sincerely thank you for your feedback and hope that each time you are in the Midland area you choose to stay with us. Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Lillian Reed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    16
    10
    21
See reviews for
16
8
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I'm not a big review but I have to give credit! we were here a few years ago and not the best time. this year it was a complete 180 degree change. hey said a new owner toke over. they had big breakfast and a great pizza joint at night! evn thou my brother lost us the game, but the huge spiral waterslide in their pool made us forget all about it. the people were nice so I want them to know they were really nice.

Room Tip: Bring your swim shorts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked through Expedia to find when we arrived that the great expedia deal was in fact over 20% more than if we had booked directly with the hotel. Midland is in the middle of a boom so you can expect to pay way too much for way too little I think. The hotels in the area rely on the long term bookings to house company employees sent in and out of the city. I think that maybe the reason there is not the attention being paid to the upkeep and appearance of the building.

The staff were very helpful and accommodating but they were expected to wear outfits that were looking worn and shabby- maybe that was in keeping with the rest of the building.

Our first room was on the ground floor - the exterior looked pretty shabby- reminiscent of some small strip motel. It faced a large car dealership where there were frequent voices over the intercom drifitng across to the hotel. - the room had an off putting smell and as soon as the heat was turned off -it set off the smoke detector. They relocated us to another "executive" room. These rooms face in towards the middle of the buidling so there is no source of natural light (or air). The room was in much better condition.

The hotel is a large convention centre so at the time we stayed - it was almost empty -it felt abandoned and desolate and dark - as I suppose would most empty convention centres. It felt run down. There is limited choice of eating in the area if you are without a car as we were as we were flying out the next day. The Indian food menu was expensive but the pizzas were terrific.

All in all - given the prices of hotels in Midland -it is not a tourist destination nor are tourists the market that is being catered to.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first before completing check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoJandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Two years ago me and my husband came to midland for a family vaction or more like a family reunion and our family had put us up in this hotel well walking in i thought nice but once we got inside i was upset how could they do this to me put me up in a upscale roach hotel well the stay was not that great well two years later im in town for business and i could not find a hotel in midland to save my life well i thought about this hotel and i said to to hell with it im sleepy and i have a meeting at 8 in the morning i pull up and i had to do a double take it looked different as i walked in i seen smiling faces and a new look of the hotel completly so i said ok the lady lacey and tomika was wonderful very helpful and just all out the best made me feel welcome now i was put in one of their newly renovated room and when i walked in it was a big change from the old i said to myself WOW AMAMZING im just gonna say to the staff and owners at the hotel keep up the good work and good things will come cause they have turned that hotel from rags to riches.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room VERY NICE
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecos, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We too rented here for the convenience of the Convention Ctr being right next to this Hotel....WRONG CHOICE!!!! Upon arrival we walked in to check-in the the front desk clerk was RUDE!!!!! As we made our way to the room, the parking lot was trashy, side door entrance parking lot to hotel was dirty littered with trash , trail of white paint served as our guide to upstairs area. Keep in mind that construction and renovations are being made at this time but come on now this place is the dumps. I had reserved two rooms with a weeks worth in advance with a communication door come to find out when the other party arrived they were NOT given the room next to mine but 4 doors done. So your requests are not honored. Now to the A/C situation they have none!!!!! no matter how low you set the freaking thermostat and I put it down to 60 you will not get any cold air. An oscilating fan was provided in the room but dang thing made more noise that what it was blowing air and mind you that it had the front part of the fan taken off nowhere to be found so the blade was exposed and I had children. There is a sense of security though.......NOT!!!! something was going down on the floor beneath us because the front dest clerk was walking up to a room with 2 police officers, how I'd wish I'd reveiwed this HO-tel before renting here.....So we go to check-out again we are greeted with another clerk this one was worse by far....never were we greeted by this extention, fake hair clerk or thanked for our business. AGAING PEOPLE DO THE RESEARCH BEFORE DON'T RENT HERE THIS HOTEL TRULY SUCKS!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Midland hotels

Houston, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

An associate and I came here for business. We had poor luck with previous hotels in Midland but this place looked different and was more expensive. It WASN'T any different than the rest of this town! They have wheel barrows around most exits which are used as trashcans. The rooms won't go below 73F no matter what you turn your thermostat to. The televisions flicker and are vintage 1990. The only part worse than the hotel, trash, and rooms, is the staff, all of whom act like you owe them something.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We just had a family reunion here because they were going to have all the rooms renovated before our stay. Construction was still ongoing during our stay and not all rooms were ready. My room had blood spots on the box mattress fringe. Several of our group were requesting room changes due to various broken ac/tv/shower issues or smelly sheets. The hotel staff were obviously not used to such "picky" customers. We had a group discount at $75 per room but this place normally rents out at $140 per night. Stay far far away. You'd have a nicer experience sleeping in your car

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxrain007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Midland hotels
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Midland
Wyndham Garden Midland
#20 of 45 in Midland
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Midland
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Midland
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Midland
Staybridge Suites Midland
#12 of 45 in Midland
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 4300 W Wall St, Midland, TX 79703-7722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Grand Texan Hotel and Convention Center is the largest hotel in Midland, Texas. With the Midland International Airport less than 6 miles from the hotel, and a free hotel Airport Shuttle, the Grand Texan Hotel makes it easy for you to get around. The Grand Texan Hotel in Midland offers leisure and business travelers a wide variety of guestroom and hotel amenities. During your stay, take advantage of the following amenities: Newly Renovated Rooms with 40-inch Flat Screen TVs On-Site Restaurant and Bar Free Hot Breakfast Indoor Pool & Hot Tub Complimentary Airport Shuttle Service Over 40,000 sq. ft. Meeting and Banquet Space Business Center with Free Fax and Copy Free Wi-Fi Internet Mini Golf, Table Tennis, and Billiards Free Wall Street Journal Pet-Friendly Fitness Room Truck and Bus Parking Available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center Midland
Clarion Midland
Midland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing