We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not "Real" Mexican”

La Bodega Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #114 of 287 Restaurants in Midland
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Midland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Not "Real" Mexican”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Chile rellenos with raisins, sauce that tastes like crushed tomatoes just poured poured from a can, paper-like chips, stifling cigarette smoke wafting from the upstairs bar. I do not intend to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillM551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    15
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would be great if they could serve hot food!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I've eaten here maybe a dozen times over the years and would more often except they always bring plates with luke-warm food. Hellllooooo....Mexican food is supposed to be served hot! So hot that servers handle with towels and warn you the plates are hot to touch. Perhaps they should invest a little in a microwave oven instead of a plant or two- just to bring the finished dishes up to temp..

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatMidlandTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cold food and poor service”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten here several times and every time our food comes out cold. I would also have to say the the flavor is lacking as well. I generally can not get a refill on my drink until the food comes out or they bring the check. For what you get I feel it is a bit over priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Came here with some coworkers and enjoyed everything. The Quesadillas were good and the service was great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tackbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

bad service, food not warm, too over priced for portions & not very clean restaurant. employees act like guests owe them something for coming. food ok once U finally get the food!

Helpful?
Thank BeverlyRains-Negrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodega Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Bodega Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing